Cataloging - 000 - CORE - Professional Development for Delaware Library Staff - LibGuides at Delaware Division of Libraries

Definition - WJ Competency Index

The efforts of catalogers enable users to locate what they need in the library collections. As the world of information evolved from physical materials occupying physical places to digital resources in a multiplicity of formats, catalogers have adapted with richer metadata sets, linking repositories and institutions, and delivering resources in-person and remotely. Cataloging staff:

Catalog all types of library materials according to relevant bibliographic control standards.
Manage the catalog to ensure that library users have optimal access to the collection.

The Competency Index for the Library Field includes Cataloging on pages 15 & 16.

Training Needs Assessment Rankings

Cataloging was identified as a CORE training need in the Training Needs Assessment. It ranked #8 out of 51 self-identified urgent training needs. It ranked #2 out of 60 topics staff would like training in. 49% (78) of respondents indicated they would like training at the Beginner level, 29% (47) would like training at the Intermediate level, and 21% (34) would like training at the Advanced level.

Customer Service Standards

Knowledge - Be aware of library policies, procedures, and resources.

Efficiency - Provide accurate and timely service with the best use of tangible and intangible resources.

DDL Contact

Michelle Hughes

Library of Things

Library of Things Cataloging Standards working document
Cataloging standards for library of things items. Document developed by the LOT working group, and reviewed at 10/27/21 statewide Cataloging meeting.

GMD

GMD values
Last update 6/4/21

Cataloging Manual

Delaware Library Consortium Cataloging Manual: Standards & Guidelines
Adopted in 2007 by the Delaware Library Consortium (DLC) Statewide Catalogers Group. This revision of the Cataloging Manual’s Standards and Guidelines is based on decisions made by the DLC Cataloging Executive Committee 2007-2012. Reviewed, updated and edited by the Cataloging Manual Subcommittee October 2012.

Selected Bibliography

Online Learning

The Accidental Cataloger: Tips & Tools to Help You Use the Rules (Nebrasksa Library Commission)
Learn about free tools to innovate your cataloging process, make your life easier, and get your library's materials cataloged and in the hands of your patrons.
Cataloger's Learning Workshop/CLW (Library of Congress)
Training resources related to the organization and classification of bibliographic information, including Library of Congress Subject Headings, RDA, and BIBFRAME.
Introduction to Cataloging for Non-Catalogers (WebJunction)
Aimed at library staff new to cataloging. Provides an introduction to the purpose, importance and varieties of catalogs. It also provides a basic orientation to standard cataloging activities.
Understanding MARC (Library of Congress)
What a MARC record is, why it's important, and MARC 21 reference materials.