Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Definition - WJ Competency Index
A library’s collection of materials is never static. Collection development librarians not only select and deselect materials for the collection, but also develop and implement policies and procedures and ensure that staff are trained on their proper execution. Collection development staff:
- Build and maintain a collection of resources in many formats based on a determination of community needs.
- Establish and apply selection and evaluation criteria to build a collection of high-quality and relevant resources.
- Research and design systems and services to provide optimal access to resources.
- Understand and establish collection development policies and procedures.
- Ensure that the collection is current, useful, and in good condition.
The Competency Index for the Library Field includes Collection Development/Management on pages 16-18.
Training Needs Assessment Rankings
Collection Development/Management was identified as a CORE training need in the Training Needs Assessment. It ranked #10 out of 51 self-identified urgent training needs. It also ranked #10 out of 60 topics staff would like training in. 42% (55) of respondents indicated they would like training at the Beginner level, 25% (33) would like training at the Intermediate level, and 32% (42) would like training at the Advanced level.
- As part of Collection Development/Management, 129 respondents indicated they would like training in collectionHQ. 53% (69) indicated they would like training at the Beginner level, 25% (32) would like training at the Intermediate level, and 22% (28) would like training at the Advanced level.
Customer Service Standards
Courtesy - Treat everyone with kindness and respect.
Knowledge - Be aware of library policies, procedures, and resources.
Efficiency - Provide accurate and timely service with the best use of tangible and intangible resources.
ABLE Collection Development Sequence (Idaho Commission for Libraries)
Collection Development Training for Arizona Public Libraries
Practical training in how to perform collection development activities in public libraries, including helpful Internet sites, lists of books and articles for further reading, and definitions of key terms. Intended primarily for library staff working in small and rural public libraries.
Fundamentals of Collection Development & Management (ALA)
A 4-week course that addresses the basic components of collection development and management.
Problematic Award-Winning Texts: Daniel Boone, the Newbury Award, and Children's Librarianship
According to Melanie D. Koss and Kathleen A. Paciga, "Newbery Medal winners rarely go out of print... since its inception, only one book is currently out of print, Daniel Boone by James Daugherty (1939), due to extreme racism and perpetuation of stereotypes" (2020).* But after 100 years, are all the Newbery titles still relevant to today's young readers? Should librarians continue to keep Newbery award-winners as part of their collection, no matter how old they are? What do we do with Doctor Dolittle?
collectionHQ Best Practices can be found on the DLC Consortium site, under Professional Development/Collections and Public Services/Collections.
Seven Answers to Seven Weeding Questions (WebJunction)
Holly Hibner, Adult Services Coordinator, and Mary Kelly, Adult Services Librarian, from the Plymouth (MI) District Library explore this topic by answering seven weeding questions posed by participants in the Small Libraries Create Smart Spaces project.
Weeding the Library Collection
Discover why weeding is an integral part of collection development and learn the techniques of weeding, develop policies, and avoid common pitfalls.
Collection Management Basics by
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Now thoroughly revised for today's 21st-century library environment, this title provides a complete update of the classic Developing Library and Information Center Collections—the standard text and authority on collection development for all types of libraries and library school students since 1979.
Fundamentals of Collection Development and Management by
Publication Date: 2014-02-24
The ever-evolving field of collection development and management affects all parts of the library. Taking a contemporary approach, this comprehensive guide is organized to enable students, instructors, and practitioners to understand the basic and theoretical concepts of collection development and how they apply to libraries of all types. Expert librarian Peggy Johnson offers tips for organizing and staffing, conceiving policy and creating budgets, and developing, marketing, and evaluating collections.
Organizations to Send Book Donations