Delaware Libraries Staff Academy
https://my.nicheacademy.com/delawarelibrariesstaffacademy
Tutorials created specifically for Delaware library staff in the areas of Customer Service, the Dewey/Maslow Framework, Cataloging, Circulation, Collection Development, Programming & Partnerships, and Reference (more to come).
Click on a Category on the right hand side of the Academy screen to select a tutorial you would like to take (Customer Service & Dewey/Maslow are prerequisites for the rest of the tutorials). The first time you select a tutorial, you will be prompted to create an account. Once your account has been created, you should be able to access all of the tutorials.
When you complete a tutorial, you will be able to download a Certificate of Completion.
If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for other tutorials, please email profdev@lib.de.us.
After materials are selected, they are acquired and processed. The goal is to provide responsive and proactive service to users through timely and efficient processing. Acquisitions staff:
The Competency Index for the Library Field includes Acquisition & Processing on pages 14 & 15.
START HERE!
School librarians should develop policies to guide collection maintenance and weeding to ensure that materials and resources are available to students and staff and also to more efficiently manage the collection. These policies should include guidance on repair, replacement, and removal of materials. Weeding of the collection should also be guided by clear policies to determine when items should be removed and if they should be replaced with newer, updated content. Conducting regular inventories of the collection is also an essential component of collection maintenance and weeding.
Collection maintenance and weeding policies should also specify who repairs materials and is responsible for weeding and inventory. Policies should provide guidance about disposal of weeded items.
Annually, the school librarian will conduct an inventory of the school library collection and equipment. The inventory can be used to determine losses and remove damaged or worn materials which can then be considered for replacement. The inventory can also be used to deselect and remove materials that are no longer relevant to the curriculum or of interest to students. Additionally, school librarians should develop a collection maintenance plan that includes systematic inspection of materials that would result in weeding outdated, damaged, or irrelevant materials from the collection.
Library Journal's Online Courses
These are on-demand and self-paced online courses. Upon registration, you will typically have 6 months to complete the course. If you would like to see if the Delaware Division of Libraries can sponsor you to take a course, please email profdev@lib.de.us.
Creating a Culture of Reading in Your School Libraries
Teaching Research to Secondary Students
Promoting Literacy Through Manga
Teaching AI Literacy in Schools
Teen Services: Building Relationships, Programs, and Engagement available starting Sept 22
School Libraries 101 available starting Oct 1
Demonstrating the Impact of Libraries available starting Oct 8
Ethical AI Research Skills for Students available starting Oct 15
AI Tools for School Libraries available starting Nov 17
LiFT: Library Foundational Training - Collection Management Series
Developed by WebJunction & the Idaho Commission for Libraries
These 1-hr self-paced courses focus on the fundamentals of collection management. You will need to create a free account on WebJunction to take these courses. Please note, these were developed for public libraries, but much of the information will still be applicable to school libraries.
Introduction to Library Collections
Introduction to Collection Policies
