Crisis Management - 600 - Professional Development for Delaware Library Staff - LibGuides at Delaware Division of Libraries

Summary - WJ Competency Index

Crisis management is not listed as a separate competency in the Competency Index for the Library Field, but it is noted in the following:

Collection Competencies - Preservation (page 22)
Management Competencies - Laws, Policies & Procedures (pages 28 & 29)

Training Needs Assessment Rankings

Crisis management ranked #13 out of 51 self-identified urgent training needs. It ranked #24 out of 60 topics staff would like training in. 51% (56) of respondents indicated they would like training at the Beginner level, 29% (32) would like training at the Intermediate level, and 19% (21) would like training at the Advanced level.

Customer Service Standards

Safety - Provide a safe environment for staff and public, ensuring privacy, confidentiality, and physical well-being.

Courtesy - Treat everyone with kindness and respect.

Knowledge - Be aware of library policies, procedures, and resources.

Efficiency - Provide accurate and timely service with the best use of tangible and intangible resources.

DDL Contacts

Anne Hiller Clark

Coronavirus

Please see the Delaware Libraries: COVID-19 LibGuide for information about library program cancellations, as well as links to other COVID-19 sites for libraries and Delaware.

Delaware Libraries and Disaster Readiness

Disaster Recovery for Delaware
Exploring Potential Partnerships Among Emergency Managers, First Responders, Librarians and Others - Final report from February 2017 Disaster Summit

Delaware Resources

Delaware Emergency Management Agency/DEMA
The lead state agency for coordination of comprehensive emergency preparedness, training, response, recovery and mitigation services in order to save lives, protect Delaware's economic base and reduce the impact of emergencies.
Delaware Emergency Management Agency - Strategic Plan 2019-2022
Kent County Division of Emergency Management
New Castle County Office of Emergency Management
Charged with preparing New Castle County and the public to manage activities before, during, and after the impact of natural and technological disaster agents to protect lives and property within the county.
Sussex County Emergency Operations Center
Sussex County Emergency Operations Plan (SEOP)
Basic plan that details an overview of County
emergency preparedness, response, and recovery efforts.

Active Shooter - Resources

Active Shooter Resources
Training videos and online training resources
Active Shooter Event Quick Reference Guide
Active Shooter - How to Respond
Active Shooter Pocket Card
Active Shooter Poster

Bed Bug/Pests - Resources

Delaware Libraries Bed Bug Fact Sheet
Tri-County Termite & Pest Control, Inc.

2015 Bugs Without Borders Executive Summary
Bed Bugs
National Pesticde Information Center
Don’t Let the Bed Bugs Bite: Prevention and Treatment of Bed Bugs in Public Libraries
Instructor's slides for a PLA webinar that took place on October 28, 2015. Access to the archived version of the webinar itself is restricted to persons who had registered for it.
In Case of Bed Bugs (and Other Pests)
WebJunction - Information sheet

Infested by Brooke Borel
ISBN: 9780226041933
Publication Date: 2015-04-08

Managing Bed Bug Situations at the Library
PLA podcast
S.F. library: Don't worry about bedbugs
San Francisco Chronicle article
SOLUTIONS – BED BUGS IN LIBRARY CASE STUDIES
MuseumPests.net
Tips on Finding a Pest Management Professional
National Pest Management Association

The Truth About Bed Bugs
Massachusetts Library System - PowerPoint

The Truth About Bed Bugs
Massachusetts Library System - Presentation by Doreen Blades, President of US Eco Products Corporation
Wichita Public Libraries Bed Bug Awareness Training

Opioid Crisis

Call to Action: Public Libraries & the Opioid Crisis
OCLC
Report that provides options, ideas, and resources to support libraries as they determine a local response to the nationwide opioid crisis.
Delaware - OpiRescue Delaware App
Delaware Department of Health & Social Services, Division of Public Health
App with step-by-step instructions to reverse an opioid overdose and resources for family and friends.
Help Is Here
Delaware Dept. of Health & Social Services, Division of Public Health
Information on addiction - prevention, treatment, and recovery.
Cómo la naloxona salva vidas por sobredosis de opioides (National Library of Medicine)
U.S. National Library of Medicine, Mar 7, 2019
more...less...
La naloxona salva vidas. Este video explica cuándo se usa la naloxona, cómo se administra y cómo funciona. Haga clic en "VER MÁS" para obtener más información.

Los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud de los EE. UU. y el Instituto Nacional sobre el Abuso de Drogas están liderando el camino en la lucha contra la epidemia de opioides.

Más información en:
NIH HEAL Initiative (en inglés) https://www.nih.gov/research-training...

National Institute on Drug Abuse: Opioid Overdose Reversal with Naloxone (Narcan, Evzio)
https://www.drugabuse.gov/related-top...

MedlinePlus: Abuso y adicción de opioides https://medlineplus.gov/spanish/
opioidabuseandaddiction.html

VIDEO OUTLINE
0:20 ¿Qué es un opioide?
0:46 Introducción a la naloxona
1:10 Signos de una sobredosis de opioides
1:42 ¿Cómo se administra la naloxona?
2:17 ¿Cómo funciona la naloxona?
2:35 ¿Cómo afectan los opioides al cuerpo?
3:54 Síntomas de abstinencia de opioides
4:07 Tolerancia
4:24 Cómo la sobredosis de opioides puede causar la muerte
5:45 Investigación de la Iniciativa HEAL de NIH y NIDA
Drug Tourists’ Keep Overdosing at this Library: Here’s How Employees Are Saving Their Lives
by Cleve R. Wootson Jr., Washington Post, June 2, 2017
FindTreatment.gov (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration/SAMHSA)
Website to help connect those who are looking for substance abuse treatment with approximately 13,000 locations across the United States. Visitors can enter a ZIP Code to find nearby locations of state-licensed facilities, treatment options, payment and insurance information, and what to expect on the first call.
The Opiate Crisis: What Libraries Can Do (Infopeople - 1/15/18)
This webinar discusses the history and depth of the opiate problem in this country and how it has come to the attention of libraries and their staff. Dr. Steve Albrecht is a former San Diego Police Reserve Sergeant and a member of the California Narcotics Officers Association, trained in Drug Abuse Recognition (DAR) and Advanced DAR.

The Opiate Epidemic and Libraries
Slides from a presentation by Dr. Steve Albrecht (http://drstevealbrecht.com/) at ALA Midwinter 2018.

Opioid Abuse & Addiction (MedlinePlus)
Includes patient handouts and information specifically for children and teenagers.
Opioid Crisis: Library Needs and Responses (WebJunction/PLA)
Virtual town hall discussion about current library needs and possible responses to the nation's opioid crisis. The insights gleaned from this town hall will be shared to inform plans for future efforts. 9/2017
Public Libraries Respond to the Opioid Crisis with Their Communities (OCLC)
OCLC project that will identify, synthesize, and share knowledge and resources that will help public libraries and their community partners develop effective strategies and community-driven coalitions that work together to address the opioid epidemic in America.
Public Libraries Respond to the Opioid Crisis with Their Communities - Summary Report (OCLC)
Public Libraries Respond to the Opioid Crisis with Their Communities - Case Studies
Saving Lives in the Stacks: How Libraries Are Handling the Opioid Crisis
by Anne Ford, American Libraries, June 21, 2017

Online Learning

Navigating Civil Legal Issues of Natural Disasters
WebJunction
Self-paced, three course series that demonstrates how libraries can support the civil legal issues that community members encounter as a result of a natural disaster. These courses will equip library staff to recognize the civil legal issues of natural disasters and be prepared to provide information and resources that will guide patrons to positive outcomes.
Violence Prevention in the Public Library (ALA/PLA)
This on-demand webinar discusses violence risk factors in terms of both customers and employees and helps enhance situational awareness skills.

Additional Resources

The American Institute for Conservation - Collections Emergency Response Team (AIC-CERT)
For 24-hour assistance, call (202) 661-8068.
responds to the needs of cultural institutions during emergencies and disasters through coordinated efforts with first responders, state agencies, vendors and the public. Volunteers can provide advice and referrals by phone at the number above. Requests for onsite assistance will be forwarded by the volunteer to the AIC-CERT Coordinator and Project Director for response. Less urgent questions can also be answered by emailing info@conservation-us.org.

Disaster Recovery Center Transitioning to Community Recovery Center
FEMA - sample
FEMA Disaster Assistance Policy
For Disaster Recovery Center/DRC services and providers.

Heritage Preservation
Heritage Preservation is a mission-driven, independent, public policy organization dedicated to preserving the cultural, historic, and scientific heritage of the United States. By identifying risks, developing innovative programs, and providing broad public access to expert advice, Heritage Preservation assists the museums, libraries, archives, organizations, and individuals that care for our endangered heritage.
Hurricane Recovery Resources for Museums & Libraries (IMLS)
List of response and recovery resources useful during the salvage, assessment, and rebuilding process. The resources were prepared by federal agencies and private non-profit organizations with experience in disaster planning and response to help with the recovery process.
Library as Safe Haven: Disaster Planning, Response, and Recovery
A How-to-Do-It Manual for Librarians
ALA-Neal Schuman, 2014
Librarians as Information Responders (National Library of Medicine)
Transcript of presentation at the Medical Library Association annual meeting in 2018. Siobhan Champ-Blackwell from the Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) explains the role of librarians in disaster information management and details about training from the U.S. National Library of Medicine to become a disaster information management specialist.
Librarian’s Disaster Planning and Community Resiliency Guidebook and Workbook (NJ State Library)
Designed to help libraries be better prepared to accept the new mantle of responsibility being thrust on them as a safe haven in times of crises. These new resources will help make your library more resilient so that you can return to operations quickly. Also includes guidance on how libraries are key contributors to a resilient community and can help speed the recovery of their community.
LYRASIS Preservation Services
A source for libraries, archives, and other cultural heritage organizations to obtain the services, information, and expert assistance they need to manage their physical and digital collections. Classes, local training, consulting, and information resources are all provided to help institutions address the long-term management of and access to collections being purchased, licensed, digitized, and created at local institutions.
Do you have a Collections Emergency? If so, please call 800.999.8558
Northeast Document Conservation Center Resources
NEDCC staff members are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to provide telephone advice to institutions and individuals handling collection-related disasters. Information provided includes advice on drying wet collections and dealing with damage from fire, pests, and mold. This service does not normally include on-site assistance.
CALL (978) 470-1010

Partnership Opportunities Checklist
Getting Back to Normal (GB2N) - developed by Dan Wilson (webinar - 2016)
Pocket Response Plan (Council of State Archivists)
Template outlining Communications and Actions for the minutes and hours after an emergency occurs.
Ports in a Storm Worksheet
From Managerial Perspectives on the Role of Librarians in Disaster Response by Michal Linder-Zarankin (webinar - 2018)