Strategic Planning - 600 - Professional Development for Delaware Library Staff - LibGuides at Delaware Division of Libraries

Definition - WJ Competency Index

Collaborative and deliberate planning helps ensure that library services are responsive to community needs. Library leaders:

Design and implement an ongoing strategic planning process for the library.
Perform ongoing evaluation to gauge the success of the strategic plan.
Collaborate with IT to create and implement an ongoing technology planning process that integrates with the strategic plan.

The Competency Index for the Library Field includes Strategic Planning on pages 35 & 36.

Training Needs Assessment Rankings

Strategic Planning ranked #18 out of 51 self-identified urgent training needs. It ranked #26 out of 60 topics staff would like training in. 48% (51) of respondents indicated they would like training at the Beginner level, 21% (22) would like training at the Intermediate level, and 31% (33) would like training at the Advanced level.

Customer Service Standards

Safety - Provide a safe environment for staff and public, ensuring privacy, confidentiality, and physical well-being.

Courtesy - Treat everyone with kindness and respect.

Knowledge - Be aware of library policies, procedures, and resources.

Efficiency - Provide accurate and timely service with the best use of tangible and intangible resources.

DDL Contact

Katie McDonough

Online Learning

Strategic Planning in a Deeply Weird World: The Flexible Roadmap Field Guide Approach
WebJunction (March 2019)
An experiential learning tool that invites all staff to participate in the co-creation of meaningful outcomes and experiences for the community. Includes webinar recording and attachments and related resources and links.

Sample Strategic Plans

2016-2020 Long Range Plan
The data in this strategic plan is presented in a few ways, including pie charts and bar graphs.
Learn. Dream. Do.
Fort Worth Public Library – 2019-2021 (Texas)
Highly visualized, including photographs within the plan document and an accompanying video.
Strategic Plan 2017-2021
Buda Public Library - Texas
Highlights a straightforward approach that is well-organized and data driven.

Additional Resources

A Library Board’s Practical Guide To Strategic Planning
United for Libraries
Written from the library board’s perspective and includes information about how to complete an environmental scan and write vision and mission statements.
A Place in Library Land
Patrick Quattlebaum, CEO, Harmonic Design, April 2020
Strategic or Long Range Planning Resources (Texas State Library)
Includes information on the planning process and measuring outcomes and provides library examples and additional reading.
Why is a Strategic Plan Necessary for a Small Library?
Infopeople Weblog

Project Outcome

Integrating Project Outcome into Strategic Planning & Measuring Priority Areas (ALA/PLA)
Learn how other libraries are aligning their outcome measurement with strategic priorities, measuring their success in priority program areas, and the changes libraries are able to make using outcome data to improve programming and better meet community needs.
Outcome Measurement Made Easy (ALA/PLA)
Resources and tools to create surveys and analyze outcome data.

Selected Bibliography

Strategic Planning for Results by Sandra S. Nelson; Public Library Association Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780838935736
Publication Date: 2007-12-31
The PLA Results Series has long served to help public librarians envision, evaluate, and respond to community needs with distinctive programs and services. Building from this proven model, Strategic Planning for Results is the fully revised version of Planning for Results, the foundational book in this groundbreaking series. Sandra Nelson, senior editor of the Results Series, focuses on the essential steps to draft a results-driven, strategic planning process that libraries can complete over the course of four months, regardless of organizational structure or size. Reflecting on the current planning environment for public libraries, Nelson makes the case for strategic rather than long-term planning and includes a wealth of information about understanding and managing the change process to help staff Assess the change-readiness of the library and preparing staff to implement forthcoming changes Simplify data collection and decision-making processes through the use of 14 reproducible workforms Identify service priority options and reach agreement as a group Successfully present and communicate within their library Including the newly revised and adopted Public Library Service Responses, along with case studies, workforms, and tool kits, Strategic Planning for Results offers librarians a wealth of ideas to effectively meet changing community needs.

Professional Development for Delaware Library Staff: Strategic Planning - 600