LibGuides: Department of Health and Social Services Library: What Resource Should I Choose?

What Resource Should I Choose?

Resources with an asterisk (*) are provided to DHSS employees by the DHSS Library. They are not accessible to the public.

I NEED:	EXAMPLE:	RESOURCES TO CONSIDER:
The definition for a medical term	What does akathisia mean?	MedlinePlus encyclopedia
Point-of-care resources or a practice guideline	What’s the latest on the management of panic disorder? What’s the best method of pain control in children?	Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)* (select Evidence-Based Care Sheets in the top navigation) PsychiatryOnline* PubMed Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO)*
Background information	What’s the difference between depression and bipolar disorder? I have a new patient with sickle cell anemia; I need an overview of this condition.	Books & eBooks from DHSS Library & Delaware Libraries CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)* (select Evidence-Based Care Sheets in the top navigation) eBook Medical Collection (EBSCO)* Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO)*
An answer to a narrower, focused clinical question	In a 70-year-old woman with primary insomnia and a previous adverse reaction to hypnotics, can cognitive behavior therapy improve sleep quality and duration? In a toddler with croup, do glucocorticoids reduce symptoms better than standard supportive care?	The BMJ* CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)* JAMA* MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO)* NEJM* PsychiatryOnline* Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection (EBSCO)* PubMed (Clinical Queries: select Clinical Queries under “Find") SAGE Journals* SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)*
Drug information	What is the pediatric dosage of erythromycin for strep throat? What drugs have been approved by the FDA for the treatment of Alzheimer’s?	MedlinePlus – Drugs, Herbs and Supplements National Library of Medicine Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO)*
Evidence-based information about alternative therapies	Is melatonin safe and effective for treating insomnia? Does music therapy help surgical patients heal faster?	CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)* MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO)* PubMed National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Information to share with patients	Where can I find some nutrition information for my newly-diagnosed patient with diabetes?	Ethnomed Health.gov JAMA* (Patient Pages) MedlinePlus Easy-to-Read Health Materials MedlinePlus Health Information in Multiple Languages PsychiatryOnline* (Patient Education) Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO)* (Patient Education)
Print and eBooks	Where do I find a book about culturally competent care?	Books & eBooks from DHSS Library & Delaware Libraries eBook Medical Collection (EBSCO)* PsychiatryOnline* SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)*
Clinical trials	Where can I find clinical trials on occupational asthma?	ClinicalTrials.gov MedlinePlus (choose Clinical Trial as Publication Type) PubMed (choose Clinical Trial as Article Type in search results)
Healthcare administration, evaluation, or quality assurance resources	What framework should I use to measure the quality-adjusted cost of care? What methods should I consider when measuring long-term systems change? Where can I read health policy briefs?	Health Affairs*
Health information for pediatrics	What is the association of labor induction with autism spectrum disorder?	BMJ Paediatrics Open JAMA* SAGE Journals*
A calculator, rule, table, lab result, procedure, or test	How can I calculate a patient’s diabetes risk score? Where can I find a decision tree to use for smoking cessation and intervention?	CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)* Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO)*
Continuing education/professional development	Where can I get free continuing education (CE) credits? Where can I take a free course on using Microsoft Office products?	Continuing Education LibGuide (courtesy of DHSS Library and Delaware Libraries) CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)* Quick Lesson CEU JAMA* (create a free account to access 10 CME tokens courtesy of DHSS Library) PsychiatryOnline* (APA Learning Center) Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO)*
Systematic Reviews	Where can I find a literature review that collects and critically analyzes multiple research studies on a topic?	CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)* (choose Systematic Review as Publication Type on Advanced Search Page) PubMed Clinical Queries
Recommended resources on a topic	Where do I find websites, journals, books, etc. on a topic?	DHSS Library Subject Guides LibGuides from Delaware Libraries PubMed Special Queries
Tutorials on using databases and search strategies	Where do I find information on how to navigate the library's databases?	Database tutorials - linked on the Databases and Journals subpages

Search Our Resources

***NOTE: Our electronic resources are available 24/7.***

Access our databases and journal collections using the TDNet Discovery Search box below or individually through the links on the Databases tab. Resources may only be accessed by DHSS employees.

Each database has hundreds of journals available in their collections.
Use this tool from TDNet to search ALL of the library's journals and eBooks in one place.

Please do not use the search box at the top right section of the page. It will not give you any results as this is a private guide.

Don't forget to Limit to Full Text on your search results to only see materials available to you via the library's subscriptions or open access journals.

Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.

The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by any Delaware Library cardholder.

You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pick up location.

You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.

DHSS Library Book Collections