Skip to Main Content

Department of Health and Social Services Library

The DHSS Library has a dozen databases to help you use evidence-based practice in your daily work. Attend one or all of our database introductions to ensure you are getting the most out of what we offer. Each month, we focus on a new database. The introduction is scheduled for 30 minutes, with 15 minutes for the lesson and 15 minutes for questions if needed. To register for a database introduction, please email dhsslibrary@delaware.govIf you cannot attend the live session, watch the tutorial videos linked below as these cover the same content.

About

All sessions are held from 12 to 12:30 pm on Teams. 

Upcoming Sessions

Database Dates Description

Health Affairs

 

Watch Tutorial

June 12 Health Affairs is the leading journal of health policy thought and research. It explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres.

JAMA

 

Watch Tutorial

July 10 JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association) Network provides seamless access to the original research, reviews, and opinions shaping the future of medicine. Read current issues as well as the archive indexes of the following publications: JAMA, JAMA Internal Medicine, JAMA Pediatrics, and JAMA Psychiatry.

MEDLINE Complete

 

Watch Tutorial

August 7 MEDLINE® Complete is the premiere source for top-tier medical journals. In addition to the exceptional quality of the full-text journals found in MEDLINE Complete, users have access to an extensive scope of subject matter including biomedicine, pre-clinical science, behavioral sciences, health policy developments, life sciences, and much more.

NEJM

 

Watch Tutorial

September 10 Take advantage of our institutional subscription to The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM), the most essential, trusted, and influential source of significant new medical knowledge and clinical best practices in the world. Each weekly issue includes original research, reviews, topical articles, commentary and multimedia, such as clinical images, interactive cases, and procedural videos.

PsychiatryOnline

 

Watch Tutorial

October 10 PsychiatryOnline (POL) creates a one-stop resource for information on diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, the latest research, and breaking news from the field. From a single location, you can access all APA journals, Psychiatric News, the DSM Library, and bestselling textbooks, as well as APA Practice Guidelines, and continuing medical education.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

 

Watch Tutorial

November 6 Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo.

SAGE Journals

 

Watch Tutorial

December 3 SAGE Journals produces over 1,000 publications on topics including health sciences, life/biomedical sciences, materials sciences/engineering, and social sciences/humanities.

Social Work Reference Center & SocINDEX with Full Text

 

Watch Tutorial

January 8, 2025

Social Work Reference Center™ is an information resource for social workers and mental health professionals that covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity.

Social Work Reference Center also provides access to SocINDEX with Full TextThe database features full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

TDNet

 

Watch Tutorial

February 6 Use TDNet to search all of the library’s e-resources in one location. Create a free account to save searches, bookmark resources, and set up Table of Contents alerts.

General Tips & Tricks

 

Watch Tutorial

March 27 Advice for research using all of the library's resources.

Past Sessions

Database Dates Description

The BMJ

 

Watch Tutorial

February 8 The BMJ is one of the oldest medical journals in the world, with an initial publication date of 1840. Today, the journal covers research, education, current events, and major issues in the medical field. The BMJ organization also publishes more than 70 medical and allied science titles.

CINAHL Complete

 

Watch Tutorial

March 7 CINAHL® Complete, the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, provides fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.

eBook Medical Collection

 

Watch Tutorial

May 14 The eBook Medical Collection subscription was built specifically to support clinical professionals, researchers, and students of medical disciplines. Featured in the collection are over 2,000 recent titles covering general practice, various specialties, topics in nursing and allied health, and supporting sciences.