This guide provides health and medical information on aging and elder care.
It is created and monitored by the DHSS Library.
DHSS Library databases and journals are only available for DHSS employees.
Books are available for anyone to check out with a Delaware library card.
Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.
 |
Health Affairs is the leading journal of health policy thought and research. It explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres. Browse for information on Age-Friendly Health, Aging & Health, and Elder Care. |
 |
Take advantage of our institutional subscription to The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM), the most essential, trusted, and influential source of significant new medical knowledge and clinical best practices in the world. Each weekly issue includes original research, reviews, topical articles, commentary and multimedia, such as clinical images, interactive cases, and procedural videos. Browse through the latest information on Geriatrics/Aging. |
***NOTE: Our electronic resources are available 24/7.***
Access our databases and journal collections using the TDNet Discovery Search box below or individually through the links on the Databases tab. Resources may only be accessed by DHSS employees.
Each database has hundreds of journals available in their collections.
Use this tool from TDNet to search ALL of the library's journals and eBooks in one place.
Please do not use the search box at the top right section of the page. It will not give you any results as this is a private guide.
Don't forget to Limit to Full Text on your search results to only see materials available to you via the library's subscriptions or open access journals.
Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by any Delaware Library cardholder.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pick up location.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
DHSS Library Book Collections
SELECTED GUIDES
Cultural Competence for Health Care
Designing Flyers and Presentations*
Disaster Planning and Recovery Nutrition*
Resources for Nurses*
Resources for Social Service Professionals*
*Guides with DHSS Library resources
Watch this brief video for general tips and tricks to make the most out of the DHSS Library's resources.
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog.
All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by anyone with a Delaware library card.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pickup location.
Check out our collection on Aging & Elder Care by clicking the icon to the left.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation by
The field of geriatric rehabilitation is constantly changing due to the discovery of new evidence-based evaluation and treatment strategies, as well as the continual support or refutation of older theories and practices. Now in itsFourth Edition, A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation has been updated to be at the forefront of these changes and includes free video content from MedBridge and a discount on a MedBridge subscription to geriatric rehabilitation courses offered by the authors. Drs. Jennifer M. Bottomley and Carole B. Lewis have compiled the plethora of available scientific research on geriatric populations and combined it with their years of actual clinical practice. Together this makes this text a complete evidence-based guide to the clinical care of geriatric patients and clients. The first part of A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition tackles applied gerontological concepts, providing the general knowledge base necessary for treating geriatric patients. Topics in this section include patient evaluation, an exploration of nutritional needs, and age-related changes in physiology and function, as well as many other foundational areas. In the second section, topics become more focused on patient care concepts like neurologic considerations, cardiopulmonary and cardiovascular considerations, and establishing community-based screening programs. In the final section, chapters center on administration and management, including important subjects such as attitudes, ethics, and legal topics, as well as consultation and research. New and updated in the Fourth Edition: Pearls section for succinct highlights of the content within each chapter The latest evidence-based practice interventions with complete references for further reading Updated graphics, pictures, and diagrams to illustrate the content Content summaries and streamlined text for enhanced readability Updated case studies to exemplify clinical decision-making Designed to provide valuable, real-life clinical knowledge, A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition gives physical therapists an evidence-based guide to the clinical aspects of rehabilitative care in older adult patients and clients.
Dementia: a Very Short Introduction by
As more of us live longer, the fear of an old age devastated by brain diseases like dementia is growing. Many people are already facing the challenges posed by these progressive and terminal conditions, whether in person or because they are caring for loved ones. Dementia is now the fifth mostcommon cause of death across the world. It is small wonder that understanding, preventing, and finally curing these illnesses is now a global priority.Recent advances in brain research have given scientists a better chance than ever of finding ways to help patients, carers, and clinicians dealing with dementia. Yet there is still no effective treatment. Why has progress been so slow? And what can we all do to reduce our chances of getting thedisease? In this Very Short Introduction Kathleen Taylor offers a guide to the science of dementia and brain ageing. Never forgetting the human costs of brain disorders - movingly illustrated throughout the book - she also discusses their costs to society. Clearly explaining the research, she setsout the main ideas which have driven dementia science, and the new contenders hoping to make a breakthrough. Taylor also looks at risk factors, and how to lower our chances of succumbing to dementia. Assessing current and potential treatments, including both drugs and other approaches, she explains,clearly and gently, what help is available for someone who is diagnosed with dementia, and how to boost the chances of living well with the condition.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice by
AJN Book of the Year 2016 First-Place Winner in Gerontological Nursing! "The evidence-based protocols are designed as a primary reference and are useful, substantive, and timely....The broader contributions of useful format and succinct review of the evidence make it likely that this text will continue to be the leading resource in nursing education and practice." --The Gerontologist "As a gerontological clinical educator/research nurse, I will often use this as a reference. The format and the content are good, and the explanations of how to best use the evidence simplify the process of sifting through mountains of information to figure the best practice." Score: 97, **** --Doody's The newest edition of this distinguished reference in geriatric nursing delivers updated guidelines, new illustrative case studies, and the latest evidence-based protocols developed by leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in each topic area. The sixth edition includes new approaches devoted to supporting LGBTQ+ elders, persons living with dementia and their families, and older adults living with HIV. New operational strategies provide guidance in using the electronic health record, implementing improved person-centered care approaches, and maintaining age-friendly atmospheres. Using evidence derived from all levels of care, this text offers developed guidelines for improving both quality and outcomes when caring for older adults in multiple disciplines, including interprofessional team members, long-term care and other staff educators, social workers, dietitians, and physicians. Chapters provide assessment and management principles, clinical interventions, specialty practice, and models of care. They consistently feature chapter objectives, annotated references, evidence ratings for each protocol, and resources for further investigation. Each protocol is embedded within the chapter content to provide context and detailed evidence. The protocols consistently include an overview, evidence-based assessment, intervention strategies, and a supporting case study with discussion. PowerPoint presentations and a test bank are available as instructor's resources.New Chapters: Informational Technology: Embedding CPGsOrganizational Approaches to Promote Person-Centered CareEnvironmental Approaches to Support Aging-Friendly CareHIV Prevention and Care for the Older AdultLGBTQ+ PerspectivesKey Features: Best practices for in-patient, in-home, and long-term care settingsCase studies with discussions in each chapter to illustrate application of clinical practice and related Nursing Standard of Practice ProtocolThe AGREE systematic method was used to evaluate each protocol and validate this book's contentInstructor's resources including PowerPoints and a Test BankPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices and computers
How Seniors Are Saving the World by
Articles appear frequently about individuals whose age is noted as a feature of their activism, but the activism of seniors as a growing and influential part of the population is not found in a book. The speed of change, the expansion of the senior demographic, the growth of citizen participation, and the constant visual images reminding us of these factors, tell us that it is time for a new book, with a new focus. Whatever one's political view, there is consensus in recognizing that we are living in a time of tremendous change, when traditionally trusted institutions and cultural mores are questioned and seriously challenged. It is a time when more and more individuals feel a need to do something, something about issues that concern them, something that makes them aware of the need for a sense of control in a world in chaos, something that makes them aware of their own strength, power, and the value of the wisdom that comes with age. In a time when social media make shallow "clicktivists" of so many, the people in our book are true activists. Their dedication crosses all societal lines - ethnic, political, religious, and socio-economic. Some have always considered themselves activists. Some find that this stage of life brings a new perspective that results in the need to do more than say. They tell us, in their own words the what, why, and meaning of their specific activism. Time, for them, holds opportunity even as aging brings a sense of urgency. Their passion and outlooks are fascinating and, in many ways, inspirational. For some, their activism provides one answer to the question, "Why am I (still) here?" and immediate reasons to get up in the morning.
Older Americans Information Resource, 2020/21 by
Older Americans Information Directory is an invaluable resource that offers up-to-date information on the prevalent social, health and financial issues facing older Americans in the 21st century, as well as recreational and educational opportunities to enrich their lives.
Graphic Medicine is a field that explores and supports the interaction between the medium of comics and the discourse of healthcare.
Aliceheimer's by
"Alice was always beautiful--Armenian immigrant beautiful, with thick, curly black hair, olive skin, and big dark eyes," writes Dana Walrath. Alice also has Alzheimer's, and while she can remember all the songs from The Music Man, she can no longer attend to the basics of caring for herself. Alice moves to live with her daughter, Dana, in Vermont, and the story begins. Aliceheimer's is a series of illustrated vignettes, daily glimpses into their world with Alzheimer's. Walrath's time with her mother was marked by humor and clarity: "With a community of help that included pirates, good neighbors, a cast of characters from space-time travel, and my dead father hovering in the branches of the maple trees that surround our Vermont farmhouse, Aliceheimer's let us write our own story daily--a story that, in turn, helps rewrite the dominant medical narrative of aging." In drawing Alice, Walrath literally enrobes her with cut-up pages from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. She weaves elements from Lewis Carroll's classic throughout her text, using evocative phrases from the novel to introduce the vignettes, such as "Disappearing Alice," "Missing Pieces," "Falling Slowly," "Curiouser and Curiouser," and "A Mad Tea Party." Walrath writes that creating this book allowed her not only to process her grief over her mother's dementia, but also "to remember the magic laughter of that time." Graphic medicine, she writes, "lets us better understand those who are hurting, feel their stories, and redraw and renegotiate those social boundaries. Most of all, it gives us a way to heal and to fly over the world as Alice does." In the end, Aliceheimer's is indeed strangely and utterly uplifting.
All the Answers by
A 2019 EISNER AWARD NOMINEE FOR BEST REALITY-BASED WORK A NPR BEST BOOK OF 2018 A VULTURE BEST COMIC OF 2018 A PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BEST BOOK OF 2018 A LIBRARY JOURNAL BEST BOOK OF 2018 A NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK OF 2018 WINNER OF THE PUBLISHERS WEEKLY 2018 GRAPHIC NOVEL CRITICS POLL In this moving graphic memoir, Eisner Award-winning writer and artist Michael Kupperman traces the life of his reclusive father--the once-world-famous Joel Kupperman, Quiz Kid. That his father is slipping into dementia--seems to embrace it, really--means that the past he would never talk about might be erased forever. Joel Kupperman became one of the most famous children in America during World War II as one of the young geniuses on the series Quiz Kids. With the uncanny ability to perform complex math problems in his head, Joel endeared himself to audiences across the country and became a national obsession. Following a childhood spent in the public eye, only to then fall victim to the same public's derision, Joel deliberately spent the remainder of his life removed from the world at large. With wit and heart, Michael Kupperman presents a fascinating account of mid-century radio and early television history, the pro-Jewish propaganda entertainment used to counteract anti-Semitism, and the early age of modern celebrity culture. All the Answers is both a powerful father-son story and an engaging portrayal of what identity came to mean at this turning point in American history, and shows how the biggest stages in the world can overcome even the greatest of players.
Menopause by
Like so many other issues surrounding women's reproductive health, menopause has been treated as a cultural taboo. On the rare occasions that menopausal and perimenopausal women are depicted in popular culture, they are stereotypically cast as the butt of demeaning jokes that encourage us to laugh at their deteriorating bodies and emotional volatility. The result is that women facing menopause often feel isolated and ashamed. In a spirit of community and support, this collection of comics presents a different view of menopause that enables those experiencing it to be seen and to feel empowered. Balancing levity with sincerity, these comics unapologetically depict menopause and all its attendant symptoms, from hot flashes and vaginal dryness to forgetfulness, social stigma, anxiety, and shame. Created from a variety of perspectives, they represent a range of life experiences, ages, gender identities, ethnicities, and health conditions. The common thread uniting these stories is the affirmation that, while we can and should laugh at ourselves, no one should be ashamed of menopause. The comics in this book encourage us to share our experiences and to support one another, and ourselves, through self-care and community. Featuring works by a host of pioneering and up-and-coming comics artists, Menopause is a perfect foil to the simplistic, cheap-joke approach society at large has taken to this much-derided women's health issue. Readers will revel in the sly humor and universal truths found here. The contributors include Lynda Barry, Maureen Burdock, Jennifer Camper, KC Councilor, MK Czerwiec, Leslie Ewing, Joyce Farmer, Ellen Forney, Ann M. Fox, Keet Geniza, Roberta Gregory, Teva Harrison, Rachael House, Leah Jones, Monica Lalanda, Cathy Leamy, Ajuan Mance, Jessica Moran, Mimi Pond, Sharon Rosenzweig, Joyce Schachter, Susan Merrill Squier, Emily Steinberg, Nicola Streeten, A. K. Summers, Kimiko Tobimatsu, Carol Tyler, Shelley L. Wall, and Dana Walrath.
My Degeneration by
How does one deal with a diagnosis of Parkinson's disease at the age of forty-three? My Degeneration, by former Anchorage Daily News staff cartoonist Peter Dunlap-Shohl, answers the question with humor and passion, recounting the author's attempt to come to grips with the "malicious whimsy" of this chronic, progressive, and disabling disease. This graphic novel tracks Dunlap-Shohl's journey through depression, the worsening symptoms of the disease, the juggling of medications and their side effects, the impact on relations with family and community, and the raft of mental and physical changes wrought by the malady. My Degeneration examines the current state of Parkinson's care, including doctor/patient relations and the repercussions of a disease that, among other things, impairs movement, can rob patients of their ability to speak or write, degrades sufferers' ability to deal with complexity, and interferes with the sense of balance. Readers learn what it's like to undergo a dramatic, demanding, and audacious bit of high-tech brain surgery that can mysteriously restore much of a patient's control over symptoms. But My Degeneration is more than a Parkinson's memoir. Dunlap-Shohl gives the person newly diagnosed with Parkinson's disease the information necessary to cope with it on a day-to-day basis. He chronicles the changes that life with the disease can bring to the way one sees the world and the way one is seen by the wider community. Dunlap-Shohl imparts a realistic basis for hope--hope not only to carry on, but to enjoy a decent quality of life.
Wrinkles by
Retired bank manager Emilio, suffering from Alzheimer's, is taken to an assisted living home by his son. He befriends his roommate Miguel, an overconfident ladies' man. Together, they employ clever tricks to keep the doctors from noticing Emilio's ongoing deterioration -- and keep him from being transferred to the dreaded confinement of the top floor of the facility. ("Better to die than to end up there." Their determination to stay active as individuals and maintain their dignity culminates in an adventurous escape.
