This is the "Home" page of the "Caregiving" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Caregiving   Tags: alzheimers, cancer, caregiver, caregiving, chronically ill  

Resources to assist those who are assisting others. Browse the resources below or check your Delaware Public Library shelves in the following areas: 362, 649.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.de.us/caregiving Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Licensed Resources

Read newspapers, journals, electronic books and more on the topics of Caregiving, Alzheimer's Disease, Cancer, Autism, Dementia, Chronic Illness, Kinship Caregiving and more.

  • Academic Search Complete
    A Delaware Library Card number and PIN are needed to access this resource.
    An exhaustive collection of scientific publications in a wide variety of disciplines.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    A Delaware Library Card number and PIN are needed to access this resource. Designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
  • Consumer Reports Best Buy Drugs
    Best Buy Drugs is a public education project. It will help you talk to your doctor about prescription drugs, and find the most effective and safe drugs that also give you the best value for your health care dollar.
  • Masterfile Premier
    A Delaware Library Card number and PIN are needed to access this resource.
    Provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest.
  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
  • Newspaper Source
    Includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing nearly 31 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 677,000 television and radio news transcripts.

Ask a Librarian

 

 

Events

News & Updates

  • The Affordable Care Act: Provisions that Will Help Caregivers
    Several provisions in the new health care law, the Affordable Care Act, will result, directly or
    indirectly, in more help for caregivers and more information being made available for them to make good choices about the care of their loved ones. This brief outlines some of the programs that will be created or improved under the health care law
  • Affordable Care Act LibGuide
    This libguide can help consumers find information to understand the new health care options.

Delaware Resources

  • Choose Health Delaware
    Choose Health Delaware is the free Official State Program to help you understand health insurance reform and the Health Insurance Marketplace.
  • DE Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities
    Caregiver Info and Support
  • Delaware Library Access Services
    Delaware Library Access Services provides books in Braille and audio books in accessible formats for the blind and physically handicapped residents of Delaware. Anyone who is unable to read or use standard printed materials as a result of temporary or permanent visual or physical limitations or reading disabilities may receive service. This includes not only blindness and visual impairment but also paralysis, missing arms or hands, lack of muscle coordination or prolonged weakness.
  • DE Birth to Three Early Intervention System
    Birth to Three is a statewide, comprehensive, coordinated, multidisciplinary, interagency system that provides early intervention services and supports for infants and toddlers with disabilities and developmental delays and their families.
  • Child Development Watch
    Child Development Watch is the statewide early intervention program for children ages birth to 3. The program's mission is to enhance the development of infants and toddlers with disabilities or developmental delays and to enhance the capacity of their families to meet the needs of their young children.
  • Intergenerational Programs
    From DE Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities, information for grandparents and relative caregivers who are raising others' children.
  • Caring for Your Loved One With Alzheimer's Disease or Related Dementias
    From Christiana Care Health System. This guide was created for people in Delaware who are caring for a loved one who suffers from Alzheimer's disease or a related dementia.
  • Delaware End-of-Life Coalition
    Their mission is to strengthen collaboration between the public and professional communities of Delaware regarding end-of-life-issues.
  • Family & Caregiver Support Resources in Delaware
    Connecting Wounded Warriors, Service Members, Veterans, Their Families and Caregivers with Those Who Support Them.
  • Delaware Universal Design Coalition
    Universal Design creates a more comforable, safe and user friendly environment for those of all ages and abilities.

  • Delaware Aging and Disability Resource Center (ADRC)
    A one-stop access point for information and services for older persons and adults with physical disabilities throughout the State.

  • Delaware Prescription Assistance Program
    The goal of the Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP) is to help pay for prescription medications for elderly and/or disabled individuals who cannot afford the full cost of filling their doctor's prescriptions.

New e-Books in the Delaware Library Catalog

  • 100 Simple Things You Can Do to Prevent Alzheimer's and Age-Related Memory Loss
    After best-selling author Jean Carper discovered that she had the major susceptibility gene for Alzheimer's, she was determined to find all the latest scientific evidence on how to escape it. She discovered 100 surprisingly simple scientifically tested ways to radically cut the odds of Alzheimer's, memory decline, and other forms of dementia. Did you know that vitamin B 12 helps keep your brain from shrinking? Apple juice mimics a common Alzheimer's drug? Surfing the internet strengthens aging brain cells? Exercise is like Miracle-Gro for your brain? Even a few preventive actions could dramatically change your future. 100 Simple Things You Can Do to Prevent Alzheimer's will change the way you look at Alzheimer's and provide exciting new answers from the frontiers of brain research to help keep you and your family free of this heartbreaking disease.
  • The 36-Hour Day A Family Guide to Caring for People Who Have Alzheimer Disease, Related Dementias, and Memory Loss
    Originally published in 1981, The 36-Hour Day was the first book of its kind. Thirty years later, with dozens of other books on the market, it remains the definitive guide for people caring for someone with dementia. Now in a new and updated edition, this best-selling book features thoroughly revised chapters on the causes of dementia, managing the early stages of dementia, the prevention of dementia, and finding appropriate living arrangements for the person who has dementia when home care is no longer an option.
  • Alzheimer's Will I Be Next?
    "In watching my mother's descent into the worsening dementia that so vividly characterizes Alzheimer's disease, I have witnessed the horrendous transmutations of mind and body which inevitably happen when this affliction strikes.

    "I believe there is a worthwhile purpose in sharing this vision of a wretched truth. Perhaps it will offer a measure of comfort to those who must find their own ways of endurance as they watch someone they love make this same sorrowful one-way journey into the ever-deepening shadows of AD."
  • Alzheimer's and Other Dementias Answers at Your Fingertips
    Based on real questions asked by people with Alzheimer's and their carers, this book distils the wisdom and the experience of many people who have lived through the difficulties that dementia brings. It is packed with practical tips and honest, common-sense answers to help make sense of this most destructive mental condition.
  • Alzheimer's For Dummies
    An estimated 4 million people are living with Alzheimer's Disease (AD) in America today, with approximately 370,000 new cases diagnosed every year. AD patients live anywhere from 5 to 20 years after their diagnosis; and their inability to care for themselves grows more dramatic as the disease progresses, creating profound implications for their families and healthcare providers. Its impact on families during the caregiving years is overwhelming.
    If you have a family member or close friend who's suffering from Alzheimer's Disease and you're looking for current, useful information, then Alzheimer's For Dummies is for you. This reference guide also is helpful if you
  • Creating Moments of Joy for the Person with Alzheimer's or Dementia A Journal for Caregivers
    This book offers many ways to create moments of joy. No matter what the environment or situation is, this book will be a positive tool on a daily basis. This book breaks down the learning process into five sections. Within those five sections are smaller steps. At the end of each step is a place to journal thoughts, ideas, solutions and treasures. With this journal, many moments of joy will be created.
  • Dr. Ruth's Guide for the Alzheimer's Caregiver
    The tactics and resources presented in this book build confidence in the caregiver and provide health-guided advice on how to avoid burnout, seek support from family and friends, resolve family disputes, maintain a loving relationship with a spouse or parent with Alzheimer's, manage behavior, and make the home a safe environment. Keeping the best interests of everyone involved in mind, the guide also details how to coordinate effectively with doctors, facilities, and other care providers.
  • The Everything Health Guide to Alzheimer's Disease A Reassuring, Informative Guide for Families and Caregivers
    With more than 5 million Americans living with Alzheimer's disease, families and caregivers of Alzheimer's patients need guidance and support more than ever before. This guide offers an overview of the medical, legal, and practical questions and decisions caregivers and families of Alzheimer's patients face.
  • Healing Your Grieving Heart When Someone You Care About Has Alzheimer's 100 Practical Ideas for Families, Friends, and Caregivers
    Navigating the challenging journey that families and friends of Alzheimer's patients must endure, this heartfelt guide reveals how their struggle is as complex and drawn out as the illness itself. Confronting their natural but difficult process of grieving and mourning, the study covers the inevitable feelings of shock, sadness, anger, guilt, and relief, illustrating the initial reactions people commonly feel from the moment of the dementia's onset. Healthy and productive ways to acknowledge and express these feelings are suggested along with 100 tips and activities that fulfill the emotional, spiritual, cognitive, physical, and social needs of those who care about someone afflicted with this debilitating disease. Special consideration is also shown for caregivers, whose grief is often complicated by the demanding physical attention that patients require.
  • Learning to Speak Alzheimer's A Groundbreaking Approach for Everyone Dealing with the Disease
    Offers a practical approach to the emotional well-being of both patients and caregivers that emphasizes relating to patients in their own reality. Her accessible and comprehensive method, which she calls habilitation, works to enhance communication between carepartners and patients and has proven successful with thousands of people living with dementia.
  • Living Your Best with Early-Stage Alzheimer's
    Provides a thorough, practical guide on coping with the diagnosis, managing symptoms, finding meaningful activity, planning for the future, maintaining important relationships, participating in research, and much more. This book is a working guide to help the person with Alzheimer's feel empowered to move forward in life in light of this challenging diagnosis.
  • A Look Inside Alzheimer's I Know Who I am Today, but What about Tomorrow?
    A Look Inside Alzheimer's is a captivating read for friends, families and loved ones affected by this mind-robbing disease. Individuals with early-stage Alzheimer's disease will take comfort in the voice of a fellow traveler experiencing similar challenges, frustrations, and triumphs. Family and professional caregivers will be enlightened by this book and gain a better understanding of this unfathomable world and how best to care for someone living in it.
  • What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About(TM) Alzheimer's Disease The Complete Guide to Preventing, Treating, and Coping with Memory Loss
    The director of the New York Memory and Healthy Aging Services offers sound advice for patients and caregivers facing Alzheimer's disease. This guide covers prevention, treatment, and coping with memory loss and examines the symptoms and stages of Alzheimer's.
  • When Someone You Love Has Alzheimer's What You Must Know, What You Can Do, and What You Should Expect: A Dell Caregiving Guide
    Provides caregivers with compassionate strategies for dealing with the challenges related to Alzheimer's, from memory loss and behavior problems to maintaining quality of life and taking important legal steps.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip