This guide provides resources with a specific focus on nursing.
It is created and monitored by the DHSS Library.
DHSS Library databases and journals are only available to DHSS employees.
Free online resources are available to the public
and books are available for anyone to check out with a Delaware library card.
Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.
 |
CINAHL® Complete, the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, provides fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules. |
 |
MEDLINE® Complete is the premiere source for top-tier medical journals. In addition to the exceptional quality of the full-text journals found in MEDLINE Complete, users have access to an extensive scope of subject matter including biomedicine, pre-clinical science, behavioral sciences, health policy developments, life sciences, and much more. |
 |
SAGE Journals produces over 1,000 publications on topics including health sciences, life/biomedical sciences, materials sciences/engineering, and social sciences/humanities. Browse Nursing journals. |
***NOTE: Our electronic resources are available 24/7.***
Access our databases and journal collections using the TDNet Discovery Search box below or individually through the links on the Databases tab. Resources may only be accessed by DHSS employees.
Each database has hundreds of journals available in their collections.
Use this tool from TDNet to search ALL of the library's journals and eBooks in one place.
Please do not use the search box at the top right section of the page. It will not give you any results as this is a private guide.
Don't forget to Limit to Full Text on your search results to only see materials available to you via the library's subscriptions or open access journals.
Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by any Delaware Library cardholder.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pick up location.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
DHSS Library Book Collections
SELECTED GUIDES
Cultural Competence for Health Care
Designing Flyers and Presentations*
Disaster Planning and Recovery Nutrition*
Resources for Nurses*
Resources for Social Service Professionals*
*Guides with DHSS Library resources
Watch this brief video for general tips and tricks to make the most out of the DHSS Library's resources.
Provided by Delaware Libraries. To access this database, you will need a Delaware Library card.
Think you have a card? Email the DHSS Library and we can look up your account!
Need a library card? Email us to get one!
Career Center
Get access to FREE practice tests, ebooks, and prep tutorials on any of the following:
- NCLEX-RN preparation
- Nursing School Entrance tests
- Nursing assistant/nurse aide certification
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by anyone with a Delaware library card.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pickup location.
Check out our collection on Nursing by clicking the icon to the left.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
Concept-Based Clinical Nursing Skills by
Are you looking for a new way of learning skills? Do you want to learn how to problem solve and think conceptually? Stein and Hollen's Concept-Based Clinical Nursing Skills: Fundamental to Advanced covers over 250 nursing skills in an innovative concept-based format with excellent illustrations, concise rationales, and current evidence. Unlike any other text, Stein and Hollen incorporate an overarching framework of seven critical concepts - accuracy, client-centered care, infection control, safety, communication, evaluation, and health maintenance - to drive home the importance of these key themes in performing nursing skills. Each section balances need-to-know narrative with step-by-step skills, and every chapter includes a detailed case study with a concept map to help you apply knowledge and use clinical judgement in clinical situations involving nursing skills. Over 250 step-by-step nursing skills with over 900 photos and illustrations. Language and concepts reflect those used on the NCLEX. Concept-based approach to skills education pairs well with the Giddens framework. Accuracy, Client-Centered Care, Infection Control, Safety, Communication, Evaluation, and Health Maintenance are reinforced throughout as Critical Concepts to skills performance. Case studies with concept maps depict patients with problems that might be experienced in the clinical setting and are followed by a series of critical thinking questions with every chapter. Application of the QSEN competencies: A question that challenges you to apply a QSEN competency is provided within the critical thinking questions of each case study. Lessons from the Evidence boxes highlight and summarize current research that can contribute to evidence-based clinical practice; Lessons from the Courtroom boxes summarize actual court cases related to the skills in the chapter in order to help you understand legal implications; and Lessons from Experience boxes use a storytelling format to share the experiences of more experienced nurses with students. Application of the nursing process: Nursing diagnoses that include specific examples of client outcomes and nursing interventions are presented within each section of the chapters. Uses an easy-to-understand, conversational writing style. Organized to present fundamental skills first, then intermediate acute care skills, and finally advanced skills often performed in critical care. Critical concepts align with the quality and safety framework of the QSEN competencies. Emphasis on safety and client centered care. Expect the Unexpected boxes use a storytelling format to present unexpected situations that could occur and explore appropriate responses to them. Home Care, Lifespan, and Cultural Considerations provided in each chapter. Performing an Assessment chapter details physical assessment skills. Evolve site for students features skills video clips, skills checklists for all skills, and NCLEX-style review questions.
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by
The go-to guide to evidence-based practice in nursing for more than a decade, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 5th Edition, presents the latest perspectives on research-backed nursing practice in an engaging, user-friendly approach that has made this the bestselling resource of its kind. AJN award-winning authors Bernadette Melnyk and Ellen Fineout-Overholt combine straightforward, conversational storytelling, inspiring quotes, and engaging case studies to make evidence-based practice accessible for students at any level of familiarity. With real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter, this revised and reimagined 5th Edition gives students the confidence to meet today's clinical challenges and ensure the most effective patient outcomes for years to come. New to this edition: NEW! Reimagined coverage and a new chapter on applying implementation science to clinical practice settings familiarize students with the latest evidence and emerging implementation and evaluation tools. UPDATED! Content throughout empowers you to more effectively teach evidence-based practice principles in academic and clinical settings. UPDATED! Making EPB Real case studies reinforce clinical application through real-world examples.
Innovative Strategies in Teaching Nursing by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. This innovative text delivers more than 40 evidence-based teaching strategies that educators can use to engage nursing students and enhance their learning in a variety of teaching environments. It provides a wealth of new teaching designs both novice and experienced faculty can use to inspire and motivate learners in the classroom through simulation, online, and in community or hospital settings. Strategies developed by leading clinical nursing and health educators characterize nursing education as a dynamic and highly specialized field that stems from meaningful interactions between learners and educators. For ease of comparison, each practical teaching strategy is organized in a consistent format to include student-centered competencies and nursing education accreditation standards. The text also provides a template and a step-by-step guide on how to customize the strategies to fit the needs of learners and educators. The designs include an emphasis on applications of technologically enhanced innovations in nursing education, interdisciplinary collaboration, and the use of the humanities and art. This text answers the ongoing call for interprofessional education necessary to prepare the next generation of expert nurses in the rapidly changing environment of healthcare.Key Features: Evidence-based research used in the development of each teaching strategyGroundbreaking practices in a variety of environments will challenge the discipline and spark additional innovations throughout nursingEach chapter provides optimal learning outcomes and teaching objectives, preparation resources, modules of implementation, methods to evaluate the effectiveness of each strategy, outlined limitations, and accreditation standardsInstructor's Manual includedPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for more than 35 years! Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including 35 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for 35 new FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Updates on drug therapies provide the most current information.
Professional Issues in Nursing by
Professional Issues in Nursing: Challenges and Opportunities, 5th Edition Carol J. Huston, RN, MSN, MPA, DPA, FAAN Prepare for the realities of today's nursing practice. Gain a professional edge in the nursing workplace with expert insight across a variety of contemporary and enduring issues you'll encounter on the job. Comprehensively updated and reflecting the latest evidence-based perspectives, Professional Issues in Nursing: Challenges and Opportunities , 5th Edition , prepares you to confidently manage timely workplace considerations, workforce issues, legal and ethical concerns, nursing education challenges, and issues related to professional power and furthering the nursing profession. New! Chapters on healthcare reform and the ethical issues associated with emerging technologies equip you for today's ever-changing nursing practice. Updated! Workplace Violence chapter helps you ensure civility and a healthy workplace environment. Updated! Cutting-edge content throughout the text familiarizes you with emerging trends in healthcare and nursing education. New! Full-color design makes challenging content approachable and engaging. Discussion Points encourage critical reflection for individual study or group discussions. Consider This features challenge you to form your own assessments of important practice considerations. Research Fuels the Controversy profiles reinforce your analytical capabilities with current, evidence-based research. Conclusions focus your retention on the most important chapter content. For Additional Discussion topics facilitate valuable group review opportunities.
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by anyone with a Delaware library card.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pickup location.
Check out our Graphic Medicine Collection by clicking the icon to the left.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
The Bad Doctor by
Meet Dr. Iwan James: cyclist, doctor, would-be lover, former heavy metal fan, and, above all, human being. Weighed down by his responsibilities--from diagnosing personality disorders to deciding who can hold a gun license--he doubts his ability to make decisions about the lives of others when he may need more than a little help himself. Cartoonist and doctor Ian Williams introduces us to Iwan's troubled life as all humanity, it seems, passes through his surgery doors.
Bless This Mess by
Our neighbors on other planets look with puzzlement at the United States, located on the beautiful planet Earth. Despite amazing knowledge, discovery, and skill, healthcare delivery in this country is expensive, episodic, not customer-friendly, and much better for citizens with lots of money than those with less. Can this country find the resolve to embrace change, learn from other planets (or at least other countries and industries on this planet), and create an optimistic future for an ideal delivery system? In a picture story that embraces disruption and transformation, this journey through time and space offers a humorous exploration of the weaknesses of the American healthcare delivery system. Bless This Mess asks how we might re-imagine how we teach, how we care, and how we put an end to health disparities ... and get us closer to the holy grail of a believable understandable bill! The challenge is ours. Will we take it?
The Lady Doctor by
Lois Pritchard, a general practitioner at the Welsh Llangandida Health Centre and part-time staff at her local Genitourinary Medicine (GUM) clinic, is a forty-year-old, divorced, sarcastic smoker who by her own admission is "not very good with relationships." But when her estranged mother makes a dramatic reappearance demanding a liver transplant, Lois has to examine her loyalties and confront some hard decisions both in and out of the surgery room. This hilarious, warts-and-all follow-up to Ian Williams's graphic novel The Bad Doctor is an entertainingly realistic look at rural medicine and the unique personalities it attracts, from patients with genital tattoos of cartoon characters to doctors who find creative ways to color on either side of the ethical lines. Via a cast of relatable and sometimes shocking characters, Williams explores the politics and pitfalls of a small-town practice, the frustration of dealing with demanding and misguided patients, the double standards facing female medical practitioners, and current medical issues such as clinic privatization and hardening government attitudes towards drugs and addiction, all with his wonderfully sly sense of humor. The Lady Doctor shows that life and work in the medical field can be anything but clinical, and that even the most talented of professionals have wildly unexpected bad days. Fans of Graphic Medicine will cheer this new saga from a trailblazer of the genre, as will medical professionals and comics readers of all stripes.
Taking Turns by
In 1994, at the height of the AIDS epidemic in the United States, MK Czerwiec took her first nursing job, at Illinois Masonic Medical Center in Chicago, as part of the caregiving staff of HIV/AIDS Care Unit 371. Taking Turns pulls back the curtain on life in the ward. A shining example of excellence in the treatment and care of patients, Unit 371 was a community for thousands of patients and families affected by HIV and AIDS and the people who cared for them. This graphic novel combines Czerwiec's memories with the oral histories of patients, family members, and staff. It depicts life and death in the ward, the ways the unit affected and informed those who passed through it, and how many look back on their time there today. Czerwiec joined Unit 371 at a pivotal time in the history of AIDS: deaths from the syndrome in the Midwest peaked in 1995 and then dropped drastically in the following years, with the release of antiretroviral protease inhibitors. This positive turn of events led to a decline in patient populations and, ultimately, to the closure of Unit 371. Czerwiec's restrained, inviting drawing style and carefully considered narrative examine individual, institutional, and community responses to the AIDS epidemic--as well as the role that art can play in the grieving process. Deeply personal yet made up of many voices, this history of daily life in a unique AIDS care unit is an open, honest look at suffering, grief, and hope among a community of medical professionals and patients at the heart of the epidemic.
Welcome to Nursing HELLo, a Graphic Memoir by
What happens when all the jobs for movie star have been filled? The next best thing is to become a nurse and that is exactly what Joel Craig did. Follow this RN's rocky rise into nursing. If you are a nurse, nursing student, want to be a nurse or will be going into the hospital anytime soon, check out this story. Joel writes about the things that nurses think but never dare to say out loud.
