This guide provides health and medical information on stress management and stress relief.
It is created and monitored by the DHSS Library.
How do you cope with stress? There are many ways, but some are more effective that others.
This stress scale was created largely on the basis of results compiled by clinicians and researchers who tried to identify how people effectively cope with stress. It is an educational tool, designed to help inform you of the most effective and healthy ways to cope.
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by anyone with a Delaware library card.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pickup location.
Check out our collection on Mindfulness & Self-Care by clicking the icon to the left.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
Mindfulness by
How does mindfulness promote psychological well-being? What are its core mechanisms? What value do contemplative practices add to approaches that are already effective? From leading meditation teacher Christina Feldman and distinguished psychologist Willem Kuyken, this book provides a uniquely integrative perspective on mindfulness and its applications. The authors explore mindfulness from its roots in Buddhist psychology to its role in contemporary psychological science. In-depth case examples illustrate how and why mindfulness training can help people move from distress and suffering to resilience and flourishing. Readers are guided to consider mindfulness not only conceptually, but also experientially, through their own journey of mindfulness practice.
Mindfulness @ Work by
By applying the principles of mindfulness to our working lives, we can become aware of our habitual negative thoughts and behaviors and learn to recognize and manage the warning signs of stress, which is an all-too-common part of modern life. The rise of digital media means that many people never really "switch off" from work and the culture of presenteeism means many people spend more time at work than ever before. Many people spend a lot of time either ruminating on previous problems or worrying about future work-related issues. Mindfulness expert Anna Black's simple but effective practices will help you to perform well, minimize stress, and be more productive at work. Anna's suggestions are applicable to both office-based workers and those who work from home and she covers a range of topics including working mindfully with others, paying mindful attention in meetings, and using meditation to cope with stressful situations.
Practicing Mindfulness by
Calm the mind and begin the path to finding peace with these simple mindfulness meditations Mindfulness is an evidence-based method for reducing stress and anxiety, enhancing resilience, and maintaining mental well-being. Even short meditations can turn a bad day around, ground us in the present moment, and help us approach life with gratitude and kindness. Practicing Mindfulness was created by the founder of One Mind Dharma. He developed these 75 essential exercises to offer practical guidance for anyone who wants to realize the benefits of mindful meditation. This book includes: EVIDENCE-BASED ADVICE: Find expert advice on dealing with distorted or wandering thoughts and how to handle mental blocks. MEDITATIONS THAT GROW WITH YOUR CONFIDENCE LEVEL: Early meditations in Practicing Mindfulness take just 5 minutes and are highly accessible. As they progress, exercises grow with the reader, building on previous lessons to develop a transformative mindfulness practice. MEDITATIONS TO HELP IN SPECIFIC SITUATIONS: With meditations designed for specific situations or emotions, even experienced practitioners who have trained their mind will have a continuing resource for mindfulness at every moment. Begin a journey of peace and patience today on the path to a calmer, more balanced life with Practicing Mindfulness.
The Self-Care Handbook by
Learn how to improve and maintain your health and wellbeing with a practical and achievable self-care guide Are you looking after yourself? For so for many of us, with so much to do and think about, self care - taking care of our mental, emotional and physical health and wellbeing - often falls by the wayside. The Self-Care Handbook equips you to make positive, helpful choices for incorporating self-care into your life. It explains how to take responsibility for your own wellbeing and provides ideas and practical advice on how you can better look after yourself. Bestselling author Gill Hasson shows you how to develop the mindset, routines and habits that can protect, maintain and improve your health and wellbeing. The Handbook presents straightforward approaches that can help you feel good about yourself, manage stress and anxiety, achieve a work-life balance, increase your physical health and much more. This book will help you: Encourage a positive, healthy relationship with yourself and strengthen your wellbeing Understand and implement the factors that can protect, maintain and improve your mental and physical health and wellbeing Manage overwhelm and simplify a busy life Know how best to relax, switch off and enjoy yourself Look after yourself when you're going through difficulties, setbacks or a crisis The Self-Care Handbook is an important resource for anyone wishing to integrate healthy behaviours and activities and look after their physical and mental wellbeing.
You Can Do All Things by
Mindfulness, drawings and meditationsFans of Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson, Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh, Introvert Doodles by Maureen Marzi Wilson, and the works of Liz Climo will love You Can Do All Things . Daily meditations to help with depression and anxiety: Mental health is a topic that affects everyone, though so few are eager to discuss it. You Can Do All Things is a compendium of knowing-yet-supportive illustrations from The Latest Kate, whose thoughtful quotations encourage the reader to be mindful of their own mentality and to take care of themselves, regardless of image or lifestyle. Calming and supportive, the illustrations are also candid about the internal problems many people face in this hectic modern world. Inspirational, gentle drawings of animals: The Latest Kate's inventive pairing of whimsical colors and friendly, smiling animals is the spoonful of sugar that makes the heavy subject matter approachable and non-threatening. You Can Do All Things is a welcome addition to any bookshelf or art wall, and its messages are equally applicable to adults and children. In this book you'll find: * Beautiful, whimsical, and colorful art * Expressions of encouragement for any hardship you face * A how-to guide for dealing with anxiety and depression * Understanding and validation for your struggles * Cute animals that believe in you! * Tips for every time you feel inadequate, overwhelmed, or down on yourselfAnxiety sucks, but you don't. This book will show you how to get through the worst of it. Art for mental health, relaxation and stress reduction. ?
Burnout by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * "This book is a gift! I've been practicing their strategies, and it's a total game-changer."--Brené Brown, PhD, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Dare to Lead This groundbreaking book explains why women experience burnout differently than men--and provides a simple, science-based plan to help women minimize stress, manage emotions, and live a more joyful life. Burnout. Many women in America have experienced it. What's expected of women and what it's really like to be a woman in today's world are two very different things--and women exhaust themselves trying to close the gap between them. How can you "love your body" when every magazine cover has ten diet tips for becoming "your best self"? How do you "lean in" at work when you're already operating at 110 percent and aren't recognized for it? How can you live happily and healthily in a sexist world that is constantly telling you you're too fat, too needy, too noisy, and too selfish? Sisters Emily Nagoski, PhD, and Amelia Nagoski, DMA, are here to help end the cycle of feeling overwhelmed and exhausted. Instead of asking us to ignore the very real obstacles and societal pressures that stand between women and well-being, they explain with compassion and optimism what we're up against--and show us how to fight back. In these pages you'll learn * what you can do to complete the biological stress cycle--and return your body to a state of relaxation * how to manage the "monitor" in your brain that regulates the emotion of frustration * how the Bikini Industrial Complex makes it difficult for women to love their bodies--and how to defend yourself against it * why rest, human connection, and befriending your inner critic are keys to recovering and preventing burnout With the help of eye-opening science, prescriptive advice, and helpful worksheets and exercises, all women will find something transformative in these pages--and will be empowered to create positive change. Emily and Amelia aren't here to preach the broad platitudes of expensive self-care or insist that we strive for the impossible goal of "having it all." Instead, they tell us that we are enough, just as we are--and that wellness, true wellness, is within our reach. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKRIOT "Burnout is the gold standard of self-help books, delivering cutting-edge science with energy, empathy, and wit. The authors know exactly what's going on inside your frazzled brain and body, and exactly what you can do to fix it. . . . Truly life-changing."--Sarah Knight, New York Times bestselling author of Calm the F*ck Down
Logged in and Stressed Out by
Logged In and Stressed Out teaches readers to feel happier and more confident by examining the ways in which social media is negatively affecting their lives and determining how they can develop healthier online habits.
Micro-Resilience by
Learn powerful, science-based techniques to boost focus, drive and energy hour-by-hour throughout the day -- every day. As leadership consultants and executive trainers, Bonnie St. John and Allen P. Haines have heard the same complaints from clients for years; periodic burnout, lack of focus and low energy. So they dug into the latest research on neuroscience, psychology and physiology looking for big answers. Instead they found small answers; proof that small adjustments in daily routines, including thought patterns, food and drink, rest and movement can fight the forces that sap our energy and store focus and drive. They call these amazing efficient restorative techniques "micro-resilience." Thousands of men and women from all walks of life have already found effortless ways to incorporate these little changes into the busiest of schedules. Dozens of entertaining anecdotes from real people using micro-resilience demonstrate that when our brains fire faster, our energy increases and we can cope with almost any surprise, pressure or crisis.
Self-Care in Healthcare by
Many of us are running on empty and on autopilot, neglecting our health. We are challenged by severe time constraints and great expectations to do more with less, resulting in strained tolerances, shortened and divided attention spans, and sudden injury, illness, or crisis that halt us in our tracks. THERE IS A BETTER WAY. Effective self-care is about recognizing our values, beliefs, influences, perspectives, and motivations that drive our behaviors and shape our outcomes.This book highlights the challenges faced in our healthcare system and offers insights and resources to support living a healthier and happier life. It is a guide for healthcare professionals, patients, caregivers, and organizations. It proposes that we explore how we define, manage, deliver, experience, and MODEL care. It calls for a paradigm shift to a more engaged, transparent, and collaborative model that has an emphasis on self-care.
Untangle Your Anxiety by
Do you struggle to understand your anxiety? Are your days often consumed by worries that have no clear answers? Perhaps you don't feel like your usual self? UNTANGLE YOUR ANXIETY was written by Psychotherapist and Best-Selling Author, Joshua Fletcher (@anxietyjosh), and the owner of Instagram's largest anxiety community, Dean Stott (@DLCanxiety), to help you overcome excessive anxiety. Having both been diagnosed in the past with anxiety disorders, then successfully overcoming them, Josh and Dean have written this honest and powerful self-help book as a reassuring aid in your recovery.