This guide provides health and medical information on nutrition.
It is created and monitored by the DHSS Library.
DHSS Library databases and journals are only available for DHSS and State of Delaware employees.
Books are available for anyone to check out with a Delaware library card.
Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.
Cookbooks and nutrition eBooks are available to you from the Delaware Libraries Libby app. Use your public library card to sign-in.
HerbList App from the National Institutes of Health
Use the app to explore what the science says about over 50 common herbs and herbal products. It features an alphabetical list of herbs with a picture of the plant next to each name. Click on an herb to learn specific facts about it. You’ll find background knowledge, safety problems like drug interactions that may arise, side effects, and links to more information.
You can also save your favorite herbs for easy recall or offline access. There are many popular herbs and herbal supplements to explore, like aloe, chamomile, ginger, and turmeric.
HerbList is available to download to your phone or tablet from the Apple Store or Google Play.
Use this tool from TDNet to search ALL of the library's eBooks in one place.
Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any resource(s) you cannot access.
The DHSS Library subscribes to the journals listed below.
To get a full listing of all journals on this topic, select your desired database (ex. EBSCO-CINAHL Complete). Click on the publications tab, enter "Nutrition" in the Browsing Publications tab, and press enter.
***NOTE: Our electronic resources are available 24/7.***
Access our databases and journal collections using the TDNet Discovery Search box below or individually through the links on the Databases tab. Resources may only be accessed by DHSS employees.
Each database has hundreds of journals available in their collections.
Use this tool from TDNet to search ALL of the library's journals and eBooks in one place.
Please do not use the search box at the top right section of the page. It will not give you any results as this is a private guide.
Don't forget to Limit to Full Text on your search results to only see materials available to you via the library's subscriptions or open access journals.
Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by any Delaware Library cardholder.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pick up location.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
DHSS Library Book Collections
SELECTED GUIDES
Cultural Competence for Health Care
Designing Flyers and Presentations*
Disaster Planning and Recovery Nutrition*
Resources for Nurses*
Resources for Social Service Professionals*
*Guides with DHSS Library resources
Watch this brief video for general tips and tricks to make the most out of the DHSS Library's resources.
Advanced Human Nutrition by
Written for the upper-level undergrad or graduate level majors course, Advanced Human Nutrition, Fourth Edition provides an in-depth overview of the human body and details why nutrients are important from a biochemical, physiological, and molecular perspective. Through it's writing style and clear figures and illustrations, the text clearly outlines metabolism and the molecular functions of nutrients. A variety of pedagogical elements within the text, such as "Here's Where You Have Been" and "Here's Where You Are Going," help clarify key points from the chapter and provide real-world examples to bring the content to life.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, the full Student Study Guide, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.New & Key to the Fourth Edition - NEW - Each chapter now concludes with "Clinical Insight" which presents the clinical relevance of the nutritional science topics covered within the chapter - NEW - Chapter 2 now discusses bariatric surgery procedures used to treat obesity, as well as diseases of the gastrointestinal track that have nutritional relevance in health and disease - NEW - Includes the latest algorithms used by the American Heart Association and American College of Cardiology in determining the risk of a cardiac event - NEW - Incorporates controversy brought about by some scientists on protein requirements as it relates to the RDA - NEW - Includes coverage of the role of the fat-soluable vitamins in Alzheimer's disease
Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2015-2020 by
Every 5 years since 1980, a new edition of the Dietary Guidelines for Americans has been published. Its goal is to make recommendations about the components of a healthy and nutritionally adequate diet to help promote health and prevent chronic disease for current and future generations. Although many of its recommendations have remained relatively consistent over time, the Dietary Guidelines has evolved as scientific knowledge has grown. These advancements have provided a greater understanding of, and focus on, the importance of healthy eating patterns as a whole, and how foods and beverages act synergistically to affect health. The Dietary Guidelines is designed for professionals to help all individuals ages 2 years and older and their families consume a healthy, nutritionally adequate diet. The information in the Dietary Guidelines is used in developing Federal food, nutrition, and health policies and programs. It also is the basis for Federal nutrition education materials designed for the public and for the nutrition education components of HHS and USDA food programs. It is developed for use by policymakers and nutrition and health professionals. Additional audiences who may use Dietary Guidelines information to develop programs, policies, and communication for the general public include businesses, schools, community groups, media, the food industry, and State and local governments. Previous editions of the Dietary Guidelines focused primarily on individual dietary components such as food groups and nutrients. However, people do not eat food groups and nutrients in isolation but rather in combination, and the totality of the diet forms an overall eating pattern. The components of the eating pattern can have interactive and potentially cumulative effects on health. These patterns can be tailored to an individual's personal preferences, enabling Americans to choose the diet that is right for them. A growing body of research has examined the relationship between overall eating patterns, health, and risk of chronic disease, and findings on these relationships are sufficiently well established to support dietary guidance. As a result, eating patterns and their food and nutrient characteristics are a focus of the recommendations in the 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines.
Global Health 101 by
Global Health 101, Fourth Edition is a clear, concise, and user-friendly introduction to the most critical issues in global health. Drawing from his 40 years of experience working in international development and global health as well as teaching, the author illustrates key themes through an extensive set of case studies, examples, and the latest evidence. The fourth edition offers a significant amount of new and updated information, while maintaining the clarity, simplicity, and ease of use that has made this text so popular. Global Health 101, Fourth Edition builds in unique ways on evidence from fundamental sources, including the Global Burden of Disease Studies, Disease Control Priorities, Third Edition, (DCP3), and Millions Saved. This edition includes an enhanced emphasis on Universal Health Coverage, ethical priority setting, health disparities, and the quality of care. In addition, this thorough update now presents substantial data by World Bank region and World Bank country income group.Other noteworthy updates to the Fourth Edition include:* UPDATED COVERAGE of the global burden of disease and risk factors and of recommended interventions, at different parts of the health system, to address key health burdens. * ENHANCED COVERAGE of the determinants of health; the health of women; the health of children, adolescents and young adults; immunization; undernutrition and obesity; and, the growing prevalence of noncommunicable diseases.* A FULLY INTEGRATED CHAPTER on intersectoral approaches to improving health.* EXPANDED DISCUSSION of KEY THREATS such as climate change, antimicrobial resistance, and emerging and reemerging infectious diseases.* MORE THAN 70 CASE STUDIES - 15 of which are brand new to this edition - help illustrate critical issues.* NEW ILLUSTRATIVE PHOTOS, most from an award-winning photographer, bring global health concepts and themes to life.* TWO CHAPTERS ON CAREERS, included on the Navigate 2 platform, help guide readers on career opportunities in Global Health and offer 24 profiles of key global health actors.* THE NAVIGATE 2 ONLINE LEARNING PLATFORM, including the comprehensive and interactive e-Book, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools, bonus chapters on careers, additional case studies, and more. * ADDITIONAL LEARNING RESOURCES FOR FACULTY AND STUDENTS, including model syllabi, lists of key global health resources, global health videos, global health websites, and global health massive open online courses, and additional cases for classroom discussion.
Nutrition in Clinical Practice by
Designed for busy clinicians struggling to fit the critical issue of nutrition into their routine patient encounters, Nutrition in Clinical Practice translates the robust evidence base underlying nutrition in health and disease into actionable, evidence-based clinical guidance on a comprehensive array of nutrition topics. Authoritative, thoroughly referenced, and fully updated, the revised 4th edition covers the full scope of nutrition applications in clinical practice, spanning health promotion, risk factor modification, prevention, chronic disease management, and weight control – with a special emphasis on providing concisely summarized action steps within the clinical workflow. Edited by Dr. David L. Katz (a world-renowned expert in nutrition, preventive medicine, and lifestyle medicine) along with Drs. Kofi D. Essel, Rachel S.C. Friedman, Shivam Joshi, Joshua Levitt, and Ming-Chin Yeh, Nutrition in Clinical Practice is a must-have resource for practicing clinicians who want to provide well-informed, compassionate, and effective nutritional counseling to patients.
Pediatric Nutrition by
The new eighth edition of this bestselling AAP policy manual on pediatric nutrition has been significantly updated and includes many new contributing authors. This valuable reference covers how nutrients influence and direct growth and development, as well as immediate and long-term health, from birth through adolescence. This evidence-based manual reflects the current policies and practices recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Nutrition. New in the eighth edition: New chapter on Pediatric Global Nutrition Other chapters have been completely reorganized, based on new information from publications in nutritional science and new evidence based guidelines recommending changes in practice. New policy statement on sugary drinks, and new clinical reports on food insecurity, fruit juice consumption, non-nutritive sweeteners, fish and shellfish consumption, and use of donor human milk for the preterm infant Updated growth charts for preterm infants after birth including BMI.
