NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 51,000 open access digital images up to 4,000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
This resource curates a collection of images, books, films, and audio files that are available in the public domain. The collection can be browsed by medium, time period, tag, and source. Once you are in a collection, you can also sort by the type of public domain rights that apply to the items (for example, whether it is in the public domain everywhere in the world).
Images on the Rijksmuseum website are fully searchable and downloadable. Each item that has entered the public domain includes this information in the section of the item description. Over 300,000 images are available.
The USDA Pomological Watercolor Collection documents fruit and nut varieties developed by growers or introduced by USDA plant explorers around the turn of the 20th century. Technically accurate paintings were used to create lithographs illustrating USDA bulletins, yearbooks, and other series distributed to growers and gardeners across America.
Run by a non-profit with an aim of making music freely and openly available, Musopen provides access to public domain music and allows users to upload music that is in the public domain. The site also offers access to public domain sheet music.
"This checklist is meant to be used as a diagnostic guide to identify elements of evaluation reports that could be enhanced using graphic design best practices and/or the assistance of a graphic design expert. Suggestions are best suited for those using standard Microsoft Word software."
This article provides "pointers for non-color blind designers on how to consider a color blind audience, and tips for color blind designers on how to keep your colors straight."
Books From the Catalog
Give Great Presentations by Bloomsbury PublishingEssential reading for anyone who has been asked to make a presentation, including advice on speech, using visuals, audience engagement, and how to deal with presenting online. Speaking in front of other people can be daunting if you've never had a lot of practice. Even if you know your stuff, it can be hard to get everything together in time, look confident, speak clearly, and get your message across well. And that's before you consider things like presenting online or hosting a Zoom conference. This practical book contains a self-assessment quiz, step-by-step guidance, top tips, common mistakes and advice on how to avoid them, summaries of key points, and lists of the best sources of further help. At the same time, it comes with strategies to help you cope if things don't go to plan, and special sections on how to manage nerves and boost your message with your body language. Give Great Presentations is full of advice on how to prepare and deliver a knock-out speech - whether that's in person and in front of colleagues, or online with an audience of 'virtual' strangers.
Publication Date: 2022-03-08
Graphic Design for Everyone by Cath CaldwellTransform your ideas into powerful visuals--to connect with your audience, define your brand, and take your project to the next level. This highly practical design book takes you through the building blocks of design--type, photography, illustration, color--and shows you how to combine these tools to create visuals that inform, influence, and enthral. Grasp the key principles through in-depth how-to articles, hands-on workshops, and inspirational galleries of great design. Find out how to create a brand plan, discover how a typeface sets the mood, and learn how to organize different elements of a layout to boost the impact and meaning of your message. Then apply your skills to do it yourself, with ten step-by-step projects to help you create your own stunning designs--including business stationery, invitations, sales brochure, website, online newsletter and e-shop. There's also plenty of practical advice on publishing online, dealing with printers, commissioning professionals, finding free design tools, and much more. If you're ready to use powerful design to take your pet project or burgeoning business to the next level, Graphic Design for Everyone is your one-stop resource to help you become an effective, inspirational visual communicator.
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Graphic Design Play Book by Sophie Cure; Barbara Seggio'Truly something that's just a beautiful, slick, and very enjoyable little publication' - CreativeBoom "Graphic Design Play Book features a variety of puzzles and challenges, providing a fun and interactive way for young visual thinkers to engage with the world of graphic design" - Eye Understand how graphic design works and develop your visual sensibility through puzzles and activities! An entertaining and highly original introduction to graphic design, the Graphic Design Play Book uses puzzles and visual challenges to demonstrate how typography, signage, logo design, posters and branding work. Through a series of games and activities, including spot the difference, matching games, drawing and dot-to-dot, readers are introduced to graphic art concepts and techniques in an engaging and interactive way. Further explanation and information is provided by solution pages and a glossary, and a loose-leaf section contains stickers, die-cut templates, and coloured paper to help readers complete the activities. Illustrated with typefaces, poster design and pictograms by distinguished designers including Otl Aicher, Pierre Di Sciullo, Otto Neurath and Gerd Arntz, the book will be enjoyed both by graphic designers, and anyone interested in finding out more about visual communication. An excerpt from the book: How many ways are there of saying 'hello'? Probably a zillion. And there are surely just as many ways of writing it. In CAPITALS, and with an exclamation mark ! Or with a question mark ? Or maybe both ?! As a tiny black word in the middle of a white page; or with large, multi-coloured, dancing letters ; maybe with a simple shape or an image. Being interested in graphic design means looking at and understanding the world around us. And being aware of the multitude of signs that shape our daily life day after day and freight it with meaning - whether it's a stop sign, a cornflakes packet, a psychedelic album cover, a seductive headline on the cover of a magazine, the more subtle typography of a page in a novel, a flashing pharmacy sign or the credits of a sci-fi film. Thinking about this plethora of signs was what led us to conceive this introduction to graphic design as a collection of beacons and benchmarks - as a toolbox for exploring and learning in a simple and intuitive way through play, alone or with others, whether you're a child or an adult. These are experiments, a series of suggestions, with no right or wrong answers. The four sections of this book - typography, posters, signs, identity - are all invitations to dive in, explore and let your eyes and your hands take you on a voyage of discovery! - Sophie Cure and Aurélien Farina
Publication Date: 2019-06-25
How to use graphic design to sell things, explain things, make things look better, make people laugh, make people cry, and (every once in a while) change the world by Michael BierutA revised and expanded edition of the world-renowned graphic designer's classic and bestselling monograph, using examples from a portfolio spanning his full career to date. Protégé of design legend Massimo Vignelli and partner in the New York office of the international design firm Pentagram, Michael Bierut has had one of the most varied careers of any living graphic designer. The projects in How to illustrate the breadth of activity that graphic design encompasses today and demonstrate Bierut's enthusiastically eclectic approach that has been a hallmark of his career. This revised and expanded edition of his bestselling monograph examines more than three dozen projects from start to finish--including new projects for major clients such as Mastercard, The Poetry Foundation, the International Center for Photography, and Bierut's brand design for Hillary Clinton's 2016 presidential campaign--providing insights into the creative process, his working life, his relationship with clients, and the challenges that all creatives face in bringing innovative work into the world today. It also features a new afterword on the role of the designer in the post-Covid era.
Publication Date: 2021-09-07
Scientific Writing and Communication by Angelika H. HofmannPractical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Resource for Scientific Communication, Fourth Edition, presents students with all of the techniques and information they need to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries. Angelika H. Hofmannintroduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines of professional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication. Ideal as a free-standing textbook for courses on writing in the biologicalsciences or as reference guide in laboratories, this indispensable handbook gives students the tools they need to succeed in their undergraduate science careers and beyond.