LibGuides: Department of Health and Social Services Library: Home

Monday to Thursday: 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Virtual assistance only afternoons: 1:30 to 4:00 pm & Fridays: 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Herman M. Holloway Sr. Health and Social Services Campus, Springer Building

203 Mitchell Lane, New Castle, DE 19720

Our electronic resources are available 24/7. Contact us at dhsslibrary@delaware.gov.

Search Our Databases | Learn How to Use Our Website | View the Library Orientation

What's New at the DHSS Library Blog

Read@DHSS: Social WorkMarch 27, 2025
For Social Work Month, the library would like to highlight three titles from its local print collection. Each of these books can be checked out with a DE library card and sent to any public library location.
TOMORROW - "Transgender Day of Visibility: Celebrate Joy and Resilience"March 26, 2025
This inclusive conversation, hosted by the Delaware Department of Human Resources (DHR) and co-sponsored by the Delaware State Housing Authority Local Diversity Committee, will celebrate International Transgender Day of Visibility.
Featured Resource: Brain Injury ProfessionalMarch 25, 2025
March is Brain Injury Awareness Month, and the library has a specific academic journal just for the occasion! Brain Injury Professional is the largest circulating publication on the subject of brain injury and available for DHSS employees through CINAHL.
DHSS Library Featured on "Cemetery Chronicles" PodcastMarch 24, 2025
The podcast "Cemtery Chronicles: Stories Unearthed" interviewed the DHSS Library regarding the Spiral Cemetery on the Herman Holloway Campus. Learn about the history behind this hidden gem with the latest episode and the library's virtual tour.
Friday Funny Pages: ClutterMarch 21, 2025
How do you deal with spring cleaning?

Search Our Resources

***NOTE: Our electronic resources are available 24/7.***

Access our databases and journal collections using the TDNet Discovery Search box below or individually through the links on the Databases tab. Resources may only be accessed by DHSS employees.

Each database has hundreds of journals available in their collections.
Use this tool from TDNet to search ALL of the library's journals and eBooks in one place.

Please do not use the search box at the top right section of the page. It will not give you any results as this is a private guide.

Don't forget to Limit to Full Text on your search results to only see materials available to you via the library's subscriptions or open access journals.

Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.

The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by any Delaware Library cardholder.

You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pick up location.

You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.

DHSS Library Book Collections