This guide provides resources with a specific focus on social services.
It is created and monitored by the DHSS Library.
DHSS Library databases and journals are only available to DHSS employees.
Books are available for anyone to check out with a Delaware library card.
Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.
 |
CINAHL® Complete, the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, provides fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules. |
 |
SAGE Journals produces over 1,000 publications on topics including health sciences, life/biomedical sciences, materials sciences/engineering, and social sciences/humanities. Browse Social Work & Social Policy journals. |
 |
Social Work Reference Center™ is an information resource for social workers and mental health professionals that covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity. Also provides continuing education opportunities. |
 |
Social Work Reference Center also provides access to SocINDEX with Full Text. The database features full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers. |
***NOTE: Our electronic resources are available 24/7.***
Access our databases and journal collections using the TDNet Discovery Search box below or individually through the links on the Databases tab. Resources may only be accessed by DHSS employees.
Each database has hundreds of journals available in their collections.
Use this tool from TDNet to search ALL of the library's journals and eBooks in one place.
Please do not use the search box at the top right section of the page. It will not give you any results as this is a private guide.
Don't forget to Limit to Full Text on your search results to only see materials available to you via the library's subscriptions or open access journals.
Note: DHSS Library databases are only available to DHSS employees. If you are not using a computer at a DHSS site or connecting through a VPN, you may be unable to access some content on these databases. Please feel free to browse and contact us for a copy of any article(s) you cannot access.
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by any Delaware Library cardholder.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pick up location.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
DHSS Library Book Collections
SELECTED GUIDES
Cultural Competence for Health Care
Designing Flyers and Presentations*
Disaster Planning and Recovery Nutrition*
Resources for Nurses*
Resources for Social Service Professionals*
*Guides with DHSS Library resources
Watch this brief video for general tips and tricks to make the most out of the DHSS Library's resources.
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by anyone with a Delaware library card.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pickup location.
Check out our collection on Social Work by clicking the icon to the left.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
The Changing Face of Health Care Social Work by
This practical guide provides the knowledge and skills social workers need when navigating the complex health care environment, while having to continuously adapt to change. Substantially revised and updated, the fourth edition delivers a wealth of new information reflecting the rapidly evolving health care landscape. Full of practice-oriented advice, it encompasses all aspects of professional health care social work in the U.S. health care system, across all key settings. Throughout the fourth edition there is a strong emphasis on the importance of developing best practices that are evidence-based, culturally-sensitive, supportive, and ethically accountable. The book is also a call to action for social workers, who must not only be therapeutically effective but also professionally competitive with other health care providers offering similar services. Each chapter contains professional profiles in diverse practice areas along with a glossary, reflective questions, and relevant websites. New to the Fourth Edition: Major updates on all recent changes in health care practice and the ACA and the role of the health care social worker, including an increased emphasis on the role of social justiceUpdated information related to the NASW Code of Ethics, including use of technology and evaluationIncreased emphasis on Evidence-Based Practice throughoutUpdated with the different roles of social workers, including medical social work in the military, VA hospitals and clinics, and advocacy for those who are serving or have servedNew sections on behavioral health and integrative practice, telehealth, Institutional Review Boards (IRBs), social work practice in emergency departments, and home health, intimate partner/domestic violence, mandated reporting, and duty to protect/duty to warnMajor changes to health and mental health assessment, including updated DSM-5 and WHO assessmentsExamining ethical dilemmas, including vaccinations and new sections on pain and spiritualityCompletely rewritten content on prevention, health, and wellness coaching Key Features: Encompasses all aspects of professional health care social work in the U.S. health care system, across key settings and patient populationsHighlights the need for more organizational and leadership knowledgeProvides tools for adapting to all major changes in health care with updated roles and functionsIncludes a wealth of advice through professional profilesSupplementary material for instructors includes PowerPoints and an Instructor's Manual with sample syllabus, course-related CSWE accreditation suggestions, classroom activities, and a test bank for each chapter
Essential Skills of Social Work Practice by
Essential Skills of Social Work Practice, Third Edition presents the basics of effective social work practice and helps students develop competence in assessment, intervention, and evaluation. Its broad coverage explores the counseling, case management, and research skills necessary toimplement evidence-based practice in contemporary social work. Part I of the text includes three chapters that address the core foundations of social work practice: how assessment, intervention and evaluation are linked; the role of theory and research in practice; and a chapter on ethics. Part II,in addition to explaining how to conduct sound assessments and treatment planning, also examines client supportive/engagement skills, cognitive-behavioral skills, and case management skills. Part III focuses on integrating these skills into evidence-based practices with common mental healthdisorders and problems-in-living with adults, children, and families. Case studies, inspired by real clients, are accompanied by a psychosocial assessment, intervention, and evaluation plan. Appendix B, "The Comprehensive Service Plan," is incorporated throughout the text.
Motivational Interviewing in Social Work Practice by
The definitive text on motivational interviewing (MI) written by and for social workers has now been updated and expanded with 60% new material, including a revised conceptual framework, cutting-edge applications, and enhanced pedagogical features. Melinda Hohman and her associates demonstrate what MI looks like in action, how it transforms conversations with clients, and how to integrate it into social work practice in a wide range of settings. Extensive new case examples and annotated sample dialogues bring the concepts to life, helping readers build their own repertoires of MI skills. The book also summarizes the research base for MI and shares expert recommendations for teaching, training, and professional development. New to This Edition *Expanded and restructured around the current four-process model of MI (engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning). *Content is explicitly linked to the Council on Social Work Education's Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) and the Grand Challenges for Social Work. *Chapter on MI through the lens of critical race theory. *Chapter on innovative applications in the areas of trauma, food insecurity, and environmental justice. *Additional pedagogical features--"Voices from the Field" boxes written by social workers in a variety of roles, and end-of-chapter reflection questions. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers.
Promoting the Health of the Community by
Community health workers (CHWs) are an increasingly important member of the healthcare and public health professions who help build primary care capacity. Yet, in spite of the exponential growth of CHW interventions, CHW training programs, and CHW certification and credentialing by state agencies, a gap persists in the literature regarding current CHW roles and skills, scope of practice, CHW job settings, and national standards. This collection of contributions addresses this gap by providing information, in a single volume, about CHWs, the roles CHWs play as change agents in their communities, integration of CHWs into healthcare teams, and support and recognition of the CHW profession. The book supports the CHW definition as defined by the American Public Health Association (APHA), Community Health Worker Section (2013), which states, "A community health worker is a frontline public health worker who is a trusted member of and/or has an unusually close understanding of the community served." The scope of the text follows the framework of the nationally recognized roles of CHWs that came out of a national consensus-building project called "The Community Health Worker (CHW) Core Consensus (C3) Project". Topics explored among the chapters include: Cultural Mediation Among Individuals, Communities, and Health and Social Service Systems Care Coordination, Case Management, and System Navigation Advocating for Individuals and Communities Building Individual and Community Capacity Implementing Individual and Community Assessments Participating in Evaluation and Research Uniting the Workforce: Building Capacity for a National Association of Community Health Workers Promoting the Health of the Community is a must-have resource for CHWs, those interested in CHW scope of practice and/or certification/credentialing, anyone interested in becoming a CHW, policy-makers, CHW payer systems, CHW supervisors, CHW employers, CHW instructors/trainers, CHW advocates/supporters, and communities served by CHWs.
Social Work Practice by
This primary social work practice text, built around the nine core 2015 CSWE competencies, is the only book available that provides students with the benefits of a fully integrated competency-based approach. Social Work Practice: A Competency-Based Approach immediately immerses students in the competencies required for social work practice at the micro, mezzo and macro levels. Designed for use in both upper level BSW and foundation level MSW social work practice courses, the book is uniquely structured to deliver the knowledge and skills students need to develop mastery of the professional social work competencies. Chapters provide a comprehensive overview of the theories, concepts, and practice components related to each competency. Engaging vignettes, chapter objectives that outline key concepts, abundant case examples, critical-thinking questions, and a detailed case summary with discussion questions in each chapter, help students deepen their understanding of practical applications of the nine core competencies. Each chapter uses the same case to perfectly illustrate the complexity of social work practice and the interconnections among the professional competencies. A robust supplementary instructor package includes PowerPoints, competency-based class assignments with grading rubrics, and sample syllabi. Print version of book includes free, searchable, digital access to entire contents.Key Features: Uniquely organized with a fully integrated competency-based approachDevotes one or more chapters to each of the nine CSWE professional competenciesDelivers abundant case studies that facilitate in-depth understanding and integration of competenciesProvides case vignettes, critical thinking and discussion questions, and chapter summariesIncludes supplementary instructor resources such as PowerPoints, group discussion questions, and competency-based written assignments with grading rubricsOffers sample syllabi for two separate one-semester courses and a seven-week online courseIncludes Student Resources, featuring online forms, templates, exercises, plans, and more to provide students with ample practice opportunities
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can
be checked out by anyone with a Delaware library card.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a
hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pickup location.
Check out our Graphic Medicine Collection by clicking the icon to the left.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on
campus.
The Best We Could Do by
National bestseller 2017 National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) Finalist ABA Indies Introduce Winter / Spring 2017 Selection Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Spring 2017 Selection ALA 2018 Notable Books Selection An intimate and poignant graphic novel portraying one family's journey from war-torn Vietnam, from debut author Thi Bui. This beautifully illustrated and emotional story is an evocative memoir about the search for a better future and a longing for the past. Exploring the anguish of immigration and the lasting effects that displacement has on a child and her family, Bui documents the story of her family's daring escape after the fall of South Vietnam in the 1970s, and the difficulties they faced building new lives for themselves. At the heart of Bui's story is a universal struggle: While adjusting to life as a first-time mother, she ultimately discovers what it means to be a parent--the endless sacrifices, the unnoticed gestures, and the depths of unspoken love. Despite how impossible it seems to take on the simultaneous roles of both parent and child, Bui pushes through. With haunting, poetic writing and breathtaking art, she examines the strength of family, the importance of identity, and the meaning of home. In what Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Viet Thanh Nguyen calls "a book to break your heart and heal it," The Best We Could Do brings to life Thi Bui's journey of understanding, and provides inspiration to all of those who search for a better future while longing for a simpler past.
Graphic Public Health by
As we confront the challenges of emerging diseases, environmental health threats, and gaps in health equity, medical professionals need versatile communication tools that help people make informed decisions and engage them in constructive conversations about the health of their communities. This book illuminates the power of comics to meet that need. Graphic Public Health demonstrates the range and potential of comics to address topics such as immunization promotion, outbreak prevention, gun violence, opioid addiction prevention, and climate change. It features the work of acclaimed cartoonists Ellen Forney, David Lasky, and Roberta Gregory, pieces by up-and-coming artists, and comics that Meredith Li-Vollmer produced as a communications specialist for Seattle's public health department. More than a collection of cartoons, this book connects comics with fundamentals of health communication and discusses why the form can be uniquely effective for these purposes. Each chapter focuses on the use of graphic public health in the context of four specific goals: health literacy, risk communication, health promotion, and advocacy. Li-Vollmer also includes guidance for practitioners getting started in creating comics for any form of public information, and especially for public health. Practical and purposeful, Graphic Public Health is a clarion call for the current era and an invaluable resource for public health professionals and advocates, scholars of comics and graphic studies, and fans of the graphic medicine genre.
Marbles by
Cartoonist Ellen Forney explores the relationship between "crazy" and "creative" in this graphic memoir of her bipolar disorder, woven with stories of famous bipolar artists and writers. Shortly before her thirtieth birthday, Forney was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. Flagrantly manic and terrified that medications would cause her to lose creativity, she began a years-long struggle to find mental stability while retaining her passions and creativity. Searching to make sense of the popular concept of the crazy artist, she finds inspiration from the lives and work of other artists and writers who suffered from mood disorders, including Vincent van Gogh, Georgia O'Keeffe, William Styron, and Sylvia Plath. She also researches the clinical aspects of bipolar disorder, including the strengths and limitations of various treatments and medications, and what studies tell us about the conundrum of attempting to "cure" an otherwise brilliant mind. Darkly funny and intensely personal, Forney's memoir provides a visceral glimpse into the effects of a mood disorder on an artist's work, as she shares her own story through bold black-and-white images and evocative prose.
Rx by
A graphic memoir about the treatment of mental illness, treating mental illness as a commodity. In her early twenties in New York City, diagnosed with bipolar disorder, Rachel Lindsay takes a job in advertising in order to secure healthcare coverage for her treatment. But work takes a strange turn when she is promoted onto the Pfizer account and suddenly finds herself on the other side of the curtain, developing ads for an anti-depressant drug. Overwhelmed by her professional life and the self-scrutiny it inspires, her mania takes hold. She quits her job to become an artist, only to be hospitalized by her parents against her will. Over the course of her two weeks in the ward, she tries to find a path out of the hospital and this cycle of treatment. One where she can live the life she wants, finding freedom and autonomy, without sacrificing her dreams in order to stay well.
Sensory: Life on the Spectrum by
A colourful and eclectic comics anthology exploring a wide range of autistic experiences - from diagnosis journeys to finding community - from contributors with autism. From artist and curator Bex Ollerton comes an anthology featuring comics from thirty autistic creators about their experiences of living in a world that doesn't always understand or accept them. Sensory: Life on the Spectrum contains illustrated explorations of everything from life pre-diagnosis to tips on how to explain autism to someone who doesn't have it, to suggestions for how to soothe yourself when you're feeling overstimulated. With unique, vibrant comic-style illustrations and the emotional depth and vulnerability of memoir, this book depicts these varied experiences with the kind of insight that only those who have lived them can have.
