by Michelle Wynne-Feigin on 2024-05-30T09:00:00-04:00 | 0 Comments
The DHSS Library has over 10,000 journal titles, eBooks, print books,
and DVDs available to you as a DHSS employee.
Each week we will highlight three book titles of particular interest
to help you learn more about our collection.
"This book offers a quick and effective guide to review and self-evaluate the key aspects of the common 'not-to-miss' diagnoses in day-to-day practice." Abhishek Lenka, MD, PhD, Doody's Review Service "In arriving at a clinical diagnosis, think of the five most common findings (either historical, physical findings, or laboratory) found in a given disorder. If at least three of these five are not present in a given patient, the diagnosis is likely to be wrong." C. Miller Fisher Building on this precept from the great 20th-century neurologist C. Miller Fisher, Drs. Ilya Kister and José Biller have identified the five most common findings for the 'top 100' most common and important neurologic syndromes and disorders. The unique format of Top 100 Diagnoses in Neurology includes synopses that tie together the core disease features, illustrations and study questions for each entry, making this book an excellent tool for building a firm knowledge base in neurology and a quick reference for clinicians - neurologists and general practitioners alike. Covers the five core features of 100 of the most important neurologic syndromes and disorders, including polyneuropathies, neurologic vision disorders, movement disorders, epilepsy syndromes, multiple sclerosis, autism spectrum disorder, cerebral palsy, opioid overdose, brain tumors, and much more. Icons are used to identify neurologic emergencies and specify disease prevalence (common, rare, very rare). Includes brief introductions to each section that provide an essential clinical context for each area. Features helpful learning tools for each entry, including illustrations of key concepts, mnemonics, clinical pearls; and carefully chosen study questions to encourage further study and test your knowledge. Each entry contains free online references. Helps you quickly refresh your knowledge of specific disorders and ascertain whether your patients' diagnoses satisfy Fisher's "three-of-five" rule. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Clear and concise, The Only Neurology Book You'll Ever Need provides a straightforward and comprehensive overview of neurology. It covers all of the important neurologic diagnosis and management issues, along with clinically relevant anatomy and physiology. Written by Drs. Alison I. Thaler and Malcolm S. Thaler, this new title is packed with full-color illustrations, real-world clinical scenarios, and up-to-date guidelines and recommendations --giving you all the practical advice you need to master the challenging world of neurology. Features a lighthearted, lively writing style that is compelling and gets right to the heart of what you need to know. Discusses the elements of the neurologic exam and what symptoms do and don't suggest a neurologic disorder. Covers key topics such as stroke, headache, concussion, dizziness, seizures, dementia, meningitis, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, and much more. Abundant illustrations, charts, and tables, help you easily understand and retain complex material. Ideal for medical students, medicine and neurology residents, nurses, and PAs, as well as any and all practitioners who need a concise, easy-to-read review of clinically- relevant neurology. This book covers everything you need for the medical student shelf exam in neurology. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), including computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
The essential "neurotransmitter" for assimilating the basics of clinical neurology The second edition of this practical guide provides a thorough introduction to the essential concepts of clinical neurology. Coverage includes history-taking; the neurological examination and ancillary tests; topical diagnosis and differential diagnosis of typical syndromes; the diseases of the central nervous system, peripheral nerves, autonomic nervous system, and muscles; epilepsy; and inflammatory diseases such as multiple sclerosis. Central to the book are the lucid structuring of complex contents allowing efficient learning, even without prior knowledge of the subject; and the vital link between theory and clinical practice, with essential information on history-taking, the clinical examination, and additional tests, all supported by informative graphics and appropriate computed tomography or magnetic resonance imaging studies. Key Features: Complete revision of contents and an enhanced layout from the first edition Brilliant format and structure, making the assimilation of complex information easy and efficient Clear color illustrations and graphics, many new or revised for the second edition Comprehensive tables expand and organize information on many topics Vast clinical experience of two highly respected university teachers Fundamentals of Neurology: An Illustrated Guide, Second Edition, is the ideal introduction to clinical neurology for medical students, physical therapists, and other professionals involved in patient care.
Top 100 Diagnoses in Neurology by
The Only Neurology Book You'll Ever Need by
Fundamentals of Neurology by
0 Comments.