Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business First Steps
Index of State of Delaware licenses, certifications, registrations, and permits
Start with Why by
Publication Date: 2009-10-29
Drawing on a wide range of real-life stories, Sinek weaves together a clear vision of what it truly takes to lead and inspire. This book is for anyone who wants to inspire others or who wants to find someone to inspire them.
Change by Design by
Publication Date: 2009-09-29
This book introduces the idea of design thinking, the collaborative process by which the designer's sensibilities and methods are employed to match people's needs not only with what is technically feasible and a viable business strategy. In short, design thinking converts need into demand. It's a human-centered approach to problem solving that helps people and organizations become more innovative and more creative.
Thinking in Systems by
Publication Date: 2008-12-03
A concise and crucial book offering insight for problem solving on scales ranging from the personal to the global. Edited by the Sustainability Institute’s Diana Wright, this essential primer brings systems thinking out of the realm of computers and equations and into the tangible world, showing readers how to develop the systems-thinking skills that thought leaders across the globe consider critical for 21st-century life.
Business Model Generation by
Publication Date: 2010-07-13
Offers tools and techniques to systematically understand, design, and implement new business models and renovate and rework old models.
Green to Gold by
Publication Date: 2009-01-09
From the Publishers Weekly review: "Two experts from Yale tackle the business wake-up-call du jour-environmental responsibility-from every angle in this thorough, earnest guidebook: pragmatically, passionately, financially and historically.
The World Is Flat by
Publication Date: 2007-08-07
An account of the great changes taking place in the modern world as a result of swift advances in technology and communications, including an explosion of wealth in India and China.
Publication Date: 2005-01-11
Drawing on cutting-edge neuroscience and psychology, the author reveals that great decision makers aren't those who process the most information or spend the most time deliberating, but those who have perfected the art of filtering the very few factors that matter from an overwhelming number of variables.
Publication Date: 2008-04-17
A brilliant guide to one of the most profound changes of our time, Wikinomics challenges our most deeply-rooted assumptions about business and will prove indispensable to anyone who wants to understand competitiveness in the twenty- first century.
Disrupt Together by
Publication Date: 2013-12-12
Building on the award winning Philadelphia University curriculum redesign that is reshaping how innovation is taught worldwide, these experts highlight how to identify relevant opportunities more effectively than ever before. The team covers every facet of innovation, including design processes, team development, ethnography, audits and charrettes, opportunity shaping and assessment, business models, value delivery, systems thinking, and more.
The Innovator's Dilemma by
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
The Innovator's Dilemma eloquently demonstrates a shattering paradox: that the best of conventional good business practices can ultimately weaken a great firm. There is a certain type of technological innovation that Christensen labels disruptive technology, which mainstream customers initially reject. Following these customers causes well-managed firms to allow strategic innovations to languish. The solution? Create a subsidiary entirely focused on the emerging market, one that is free to be visionary while courting an unorthodox customer base and staying poised to catch the next great wave of industry growth.
The Complete Problem Solver by
Publication Date: 1989-03-01
Provides students and professionals with practical, tested methods of defining, representing, and solving problems. Each discussion of the important aspects of human problem solving is supported by the most current research on the psychology problem solving.
Make an appointment with a Business Manager from the Division of Small Business at delawarelibraries.org/businesshelp. They are available to help you:
- Take the first steps
- Obtain licenses & permits
- Provide connections to community resources
- And much more!
Haga una cita con $tand By Me Negocios en delawarelibraries.org/ayudaempresarial. $tand By Me Negocios pueden ayudarlo a que:
- Aprenda sobre programas, servicios y préstamos para ayudar a crecer su negocio
- Obtenga ayuda para calificar para certificaciones de negocios minoritarios
- Establezca y logre sus objetivos comerciales
- Entienda y maneje sus finanzas personales.
Additional Delaware Resources
Central Delaware Chamber of Commerce
The general purpose of the Central Delaware Chamber of Commerce is to advance the balanced economic development of Central Delaware by promoting civic, industrial, commercial, agri-business and social interests of the community, and by strengthening the freedom of private business to operate competitively for profit with minimal governmental regulation.
Delaware Center for Enterprise Development at DE State University
"The mission of the Delaware Center for Enterprise Development (DCED) is to educate current and prospective entrepreneurs and enterprise managers through training programs, technical and managerial assistance and by providing access to capital."
Delaware Financial Literacy Institute
In addition to The Money School, DFLI coordinates Bank At School, the Money Smart$ Conferences for Kids and Their Parents, Money Talk$ program, and From Purses to Portfolios: Delaware Women Take Charge of Their Money, targeting women's unique financial needs.
Delaware Manufacturing Extension Partnership
DEMEP provides training and services all intended to assist businesses innovate, profit, and grow.
Delaware Small Business and Technology Development Center
"The Delaware Small Business and Technology Development Center exists to strengthen Delaware's economic base by providing quality services, such as, management assistance, education programs, and resources to Delaware's business community and potential entrepreneurs."
Delaware State Chamber of Commerce
The Delaware State Chamber of Commerce is dedicated to promoting an economic climate that strengthens the competitiveness of Delaware businesses and benefits citizens of the state.
DelDOT Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Program
The Department reviews all federally funded transportation related projects for subcontracting opportunities, a Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) goal may be established based on the scope of work and size of each project.
Downtown Dover Partnership
A non-profit organization dedicated to revitalizing the Downtown Dover District. Downtown Dover Partnership works hand in hand with the National Trust for Historic Preservation's National Main Street Center and Delaware Main Street initiative to create a variety of programs that service to improve our downtown district.
Entrepreneurial Studies at the University of Delaware
"The Alfred Lerner College of Business and Economics is host to an interdisciplinary program in entrepreneurship.
Programs are offered at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and all programs involve experiential learning with the cooperation of our numerous business partners and supporting organizations."
Entrepreneurship Program at Delaware Tech
"The Entrepreneurship Program will prepare you to transform your business ideas into commercial products and services. Designed by successful entrepreneurs, the associate degree or credit certificate program provide the tools needed to launch your business venture."
First State Community Loan Fund
A non-profit Community Development Financial Institution that provides loan capital to small businesses, community organizations and developers of affordable housing throughout Delaware and Southeastern Pennsylvania (Chester and Delaware Counties).
Frequently Asked Questions
From the Delaware Division of Corporations.
Invest, Expand and Incorporate in Delaware.
Incorporate in Delaware
From Delaware.gov, a comprehensive list of links to information on why and how to incorporate in Delaware including: incentives, taxes, and licensing.
Junior Achievement of Delaware
"Junior Achievement programs help prepare young people for the real world by showing them how to generate wealth and effectively manage it, how to create jobs which make their communities more robust, and how to apply entrepreneurial thinking to the workplace."
Kent Economic Partnership, Inc.
A not for profit economic development organization serving all of Kent County.
This is the State of Delaware Procurement Portal, an all-inclusive site providing information on how to do business with the state.
Office of Minority & Women's Business Enterprise
"Our mission is to assist minority and/or women business enterprises in competing for the provision of commodities, services, and construction to State departments, agencies, authorities, school districts, higher education institutions and all businesses."
Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE) Delaware
"SCORE, the nation’s largest volunteer business counseling service, is a nonprofit association dedicated to helping America's small businesses.
Small Business Administration - DE District Office
"The Delaware District Office is responsible for the delivery of SBA's many programs and services to all counties in the state of Delaware."
Start It Up Delaware
Start It Up Delaware's goal is to be a catalyst for all dreamers and build a vibrant startup community in Delaware through partnerships with the State government, private industry and early-stage entrepreneurs.
Women's Business Center
The mission of the Women’s Business Center at First State Community Loan Fund (WBC) is to act as the catalyst for providing in-depth, substantive, outcome-oriented business services to women entrepreneurs. The WBC provides intensive business training that includes courses on business plans, business financing, social media, and marketing analysis. In addition, the WBC will provide the opportunity for new women-owned businesses to be mentored by existing, successful women business owners.
This panel at the Governor's Entrepreneurial Business Conference features successful Delaware entrepreneurs who share their journeys to inspire entrepreneurship in Delaware.
Visit. Get. Download. Connect.
Visit. Get. Download. Connect.
Read more on the topics of Starting a Business, Marketing, Business Plans, Market Research, Consumer Demographics, Venture Capital and more without leaaving your computer.
Free resource. Search the Deep Web that cannot be accessed by crawler search engines.
Free resource. The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications
Other LibGuides on Related Topics
600's Applied Science