Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the Catalog
Childhood Obesity by The At Issue series includes a wide range of opinion on a single controversial subject. Each volume includes primary and secondary sources from a variety of perspectives -- eyewitnesses, scientific journals, government officials and many others. Extensive bibliographies and annotated lists of relevant organizations to contact offer a gateway to future research. This volume examines childhood obesity.
Publication Date: 2016-01-07
Eating Disorders by It has been estimated that as many as 15 million people suffer or will suffer from anorexia and bulimia at some point in their lives. Additional statistics suggest that 25 million more suffer from binge eating and other related behaviors. The overwhelming majority of individuals who suffer from eating disorders are girls and young women between the ages of 12 and 25, but young males are not immune to these addictions--and the statistics grow more alarming every year. Eating disorders affect not only those who suffer from them, but family members and friends who feel powerless to help. In Eating Disorders: The Ultimate Teen Guide, Jessica R. Greene offers hope for the young women and men who have engaged in these self-destructive urges. In this book, Greene examines the causes and varieties of teen eating disorders and offers advice on how to overcome them. The author looks at how eating disorders are defined, how common they are, and how they are tied into behavioral addictions. In addition to explaining how and why certain people suffer from these compulsions, this book looks at: -Social and Cultural Pressures -High Risk Groups -Myths and Stereotypes -Health Repercussions -Methods of Prevention -Intervention Strategies -Treatment Options -Recovery Intended to serve as a comprehensive guide, this book also includes a list of resources for teens and their parents. Drawing on input from experts in the field, as well as real-life stories, Eating Disorders: The Ultimate Teen Guide will help young adults who are struggling with this devastating affliction.
Publication Date: 2014-08-14
The Truth about Exercise Addiction by Designed for individuals concerned about their workout habits, personal trainers, family and friends of folks with a problem, as well as working mental health professionals treating exercise addicts, The Truth About Exercise Addiction provides an easy-to-read, illuminating glimpse into the rising trend of over-exercise. Delving into the history of exercise addiction and the growing influence of "thinspiration," Katherine Schreiber and Heather A. Hausenblas illustrate the symptoms and dangers of obsessive exercise with true stories from sufferers, all while exploring why and how such a seemingly healthy behavior morphs into a dangerous means of self-destruction. Analyzing the causes and consequences of excessive physical activity alongside the influence of genetics, culture, and personality, this book allows readers to gain a greater understanding of what exercise addiction looks and feels like. The Truth About Exercise Addiction also provides an unprecedented list of resources to address exercise addiction, a snapshot of treatments currently available for sufferers, and to top it off: guidelines on how to confront and care for someone who may have a problem.
Publication Date: 2015-02-19
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook by Provides updated information about the numerous physical and emotional benefits of exercise and explores the relationship between nutrition, physical activity, and athletic performance.
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Addicted to Video Games by According to the World Health Organization, between four and five million people are addicted to video games in the United States alone. The emotional and financial costs of this problem are enormous. Addicted to Video Games presents a realistic picture of addiction, the effects of addiction on people's lives, and how addiction can be overcome.
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Girls and Sports by Focusing on topics of special concern to students, this series makes complex issues less intimidating and more accessible; each book presents 10 to 14 readings from a variety of perspectives that allow readers to better understand the topic.; This title in the Issues That Concern You series explores issues related to girls and sports. Through articles from a variety of sources, the book explores whether or not sports are good for girls' health, how girls are coached differently than boys, the ; Students must often make informed decisions about serious issues that will affect the course of their lives. Focusing on topics of special concern to students, the Issues That Concern You series helps make these complex issues less intimidating and more a
Publication Date: 2012-05-11
Nutrition for Sports and Exercise by The human body needs the right ""fuel"" in the form of nutritious foods and sufficient fluids to perform optimally. For the athlete or exercise enthusiast, the balance of nutritious foods and proper hydration is critical for peak performance and overall health. Nutrition for Sports and Exercise, Second Edition introduces readers to the science of nutrition for athletes and sports buffs. The book explores the dangers that athletes may face when they neglect their nutritional needs and provides valuable information about how athletes can best achieve optimal nutrition.
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Sprains and Strains by A collection of ten essays paired with substantial prefaces, this book chronicles and contextualizes Roger Cooter’s contributions to the history of medicine. Through an analysis of his own work, Cooter critically examines the politics of conceptual and methodological shifts in historiography. In particular, he examines the “double bind” of postmodernism and biological or neurological modeling that, together, threaten academic history. To counteract this trend, suggests Cooter, historians must begin actively locating themselves in the problems they consider. The essays and commentaries constitute a kind of contour map of history’s recent trends and trajectories—its points of passage to the present—and lead both to a critical account of the discipline’s historiography and to an examination of the role of intellectual frameworks and epistemic virtues in the writing of history.
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Teens, Sports, and Exercise by Health-care professionals say that teens need at least sixty minutes of exercise each day, which many get through sports involvement and exercise programs¿but a growing number of young people are inactive. Through objective overviews, primary sources, and full-color illustrations this title examines How Active Are Teens Today? What Are the Benefits of Sports and Exercise for Teens? What Are the Negative Aspects of Sports Participation for Teens? and Should Physical Education Be Mandatory in Schools?
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Total Teen by Ignite your muscles. Clear your mind. Fuel your body. In a world where no selfie gets snapped without a flawless filter and your Instagram idols could teach classes on how to master angles, lighting, and retouching, it's essential to create a rock-solid relationship with what's real and what's beautiful. Here's the truth: you are real. You are beautiful. You are unique. Fitness pioneer Tracy Anderson is here to be your guide as you fully come to that realization, and fortify yourself with the tools to be your best--physically, mentally, and emotionally. Total Teen gives you a solid foundation to lead a balanced life--with absolutely no calorie counting, no fad diets, and no unrealistic workout routines. It's a body-positive approach to taking care of and honoring your total self. Learning how to move, connect, and nourish yourself to let your light shine bright. Inside, you'll find exercises, activities, and recipes as well as prompts and questions to spark new ways of thinking and new ways of being. You'll be amazed at how good you can look and feel, and how powerfully you can show up for every aspect of your life. Begin now, and you'll have a head start that will be with you forever.
Publication Date: 2017-12-26
Video Games by
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
"Explores the pros and cons of several issues related to video games including; whether video games cause violence, discourage exercise, and require proper regulation. Text contains critical thinking components in regards to social issues and history. Describes common argumentative techniques such as evaluating the author's credibility, recognizing deceptive arguments, and logical fallacies. Contains essaywriting exercises. Includes bibliographic notes, timeline, glossary, index, and places to go for further research. Aligns with Common Core Language Arts Anchor Standards for Reading Informational Text and Speaking and Listening."
Diet and Nutrition
Center for Mindful Eating
Aims at helping people achieve a balanced, healthy, and joyful relationship with food and eating by providing an easily accessible source of information and opportunities to interact via the web and other ways. Includes resources in Spanish.
Choose My Plate
Offered by the US Department of Agriculture. Works to improve the health and well-being of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.
A wealth of information on healthy eating practices provided by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Features content ranging from articles, tips, videos, recipes, and online games to app reviews. Also includes a Find an Expert to assist consumers seeking the services of a registered dietitian.
Healthy You: Teen Nutrition
An article in pdf form published in the January 2016 issue of The Nation's Health aimed at addressing the nutritional needs of teenagers.
Find farmers' markets, family farms, and other sources of sustainably grown food in your area where you can buy produce, grass-fed meats, and many other goodies.
Provides easy access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
Off Your Mental Game? You Could Be Mildly Dehydrated
NPR's Health Shots discusses the effects of mild dehydration, means of detecting it, and the importance of proper hydration.
Take Charge of Your Health
An informational booklet from the National Institute of Health aimed at helping teenagers take charge of decisions affecting their health through healthy diet and exercise choices.
Warning Signs and Symptoms of Eating Disorders in Teens
Bayhealth's Community Health Blog discusses some positive ways parents can discuss and address food and eating to help their teens form healthy attitudes and practices.
Sports and Exercise
Choosing the Right Sport for You
A useful article from Nemours’ TeensHealth page on choosing a sport, finding non-scholastic leagues, types of sports beyond organized sports, and taking an off-season. Also in Spanish.
Effects of Puberty on Sports Performance
An article published on the American Academy of Pediatrics’ HealthyChildren.org website covering topics such as avoiding specialization before puberty and the types of injuries more likely to occur with puberty’s onset.
Physical Activity Facts
The CDC offers information on the benefits of physical activity to the health of young people, as well as the long-term consequences of physical inactivity and statistics on physical activity in teens and young people.
Rate of Youth Soccer Injuries More Than Doubled in 25 Years
An article describing the increase in soccer-related injuries, including concussions, and suggesting best practices for avoiding and treating sports injuries.
Safe Weight Loss and Weight Gain for Young Athletes
Information for teen and pre-teen athletes on the safest and healthiest ways to achieve a desired weight from the American Academy of Pediatricians’ HealthyChildren.org
Sport For All Initiative
The Sport for All initiative strives to educate all Americans on the benefits associated with sport participation. This effort focuses on emphasizing a core theme of “sport for all, play for life” through encouraging people of all ages, genders, ability levels, and backgrounds to participate in sports.