Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the Catalog
Addictive Personality by There is no right way to characterize an addictive personality. Some researchers consider the concept of addictive personality controversial, as there are no personality traits that predict addiction. Other researchers argue that an addictive personality is created from the illness of addiction. It is a change resulting from the addictive process that takes place within a person. The signs of change, such as depression, irritability, and paranoia, emerge from the addictive process in the same way other long-term illnesses can change a person s personality. Students learn about the forms of psychological and physiological addiction and their consequences. The book provides steps for treatment and recovery, too.
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Substance Abuse by This book provides readers with a basic understanding of substance abuse, especially as it relates to teens and young adults, plus resources and guidance for overcoming it. Whether it's alcohol, tobacco, recreational drugs, or prescription medications, substance abuse can have devastating consequences for an individual's short- and long-term health. It can also have far-reaching impacts on psychological well-being, relationships, and finances. A part of Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series, Substance Abuse: Your Questions Answered provides clear, concise information for readers interested in or struggling with this difficult subject. It explores the substances most frequently abused in the United States, the causes and effects of their abuse, treatment options, and the role that popular culture and the media have in shaping our understanding of these behaviors. Each book in this series follows a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&A format Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Publication Date: 2018-06-15
Drunk Driving by Examines the issue of drunk driving through a series of essays with varying perspectives.
Publication Date: 2006-08-17
E-cigarettes and Vaping by Does the popularity of e-cigarettes mark the end of smoking tobacco, or are they addicting a new generation to nicotine and exposing them to dangerous chemicals? Through a narrative-driven pro/con format--supported by relevant facts, quotes, anecdotes, and full-color illustrations--this title examines issues related to e-cigarettes and vaping. Topics include: Are e-cigarettes and vaping a health hazard? Does the e-cigarette industry target minors? Are e-cigarettes and vaping a gateway to tobacco products? How should e-cigarettes and vaping be regulated?
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Internet and Social Media Addiction by Researchers believe that between one and eight percent of people who use the Internet become addicted to it. Through objective overviews, primary sources, and full-color illustrations this title examines: Is Internet and Social Media Addiction a Serious Problem? What Causes Online Addiction? How Do Online Addictions Affect Health and Well-Being? and How Can People Overcome Internet and Social Media Addiction?
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Marijuana by Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This addition to the popular Opposing Viewpoints series focuses on the topic of marijuana. Through a balanced collection of articles from a variety of sources, the title examines whether or not marijuana is harmful, the possible medical benefits to using; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th"
Publication Date: 2012-04-20
Performance-Enhancing Drugs by "Opposing Viewpoints: Performance-Enhancing Drugs: Opposing Viewpoints is the leading source for libraries and classrooms in need of current-issue materials. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected sources and publications"--
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
Risky Teen Behavior by Focusing on topics of special concern to students, this series makes complex issues less intimidating and more accessible; each book presents 10 to 14 readings from a variety of perspectives that allow readers to better understand the topic.; This title in the Issues That Concern You series explores issues related to a variety of risky teen behaviors, as well as a discussion of whether or not risky teen behavior is a growing, serious problem. Topics covered include whether texting is a sign of; Students must often make informed decisions about serious issues that will affect the course of their lives. Focusing on topics of special concern to students, the Issues That Concern You series helps make these complex issues less intimidating and more a
Publication Date: 2012-02-10
Off the Rails by In this award-winning memoir, you'll meet Hannah, a young girl who has a promising future until she suddenly spirals into sex, drugs, alcohol, and other high-risk behaviors. Off the Rails: One Family's Journey Through Teen Addiction narrates Hannah's decline and subsequent treatment through the raw, honest, compelling voices of Hannah and her shocked and desperate mother―each one telling her side of the story. Fearing that they couldn't keep their teen safe, Hannah's parents make the agonizing decision to send her to a wilderness program, and then to residential treatment. Off the Rails tells the story of the two tough years Hannah spent in three separate programs―and ponders the factors that contributed to her ultimate recovery. Written for families facing challenges and those that wish to support them, Off the Rails is an inspiring story of love, determination, and a last-resort intervention, as a mother and daughter lose, and then try to find each other again.
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
Teens and Substance Abuse by From alcohol and marijuana to methamphetamine, heroin, and the popular club drug known as Molly, teens abuse a wide variety of substances¿and often put their health at risk. Through objective overviews, primary sources, and full-color illustrations this title examines, How Serious a Problem Is Substance Abuse Among Teens? Why Do Teens Use Alcohol and Drugs? What Are the Consequences of Substance Abuse? and What Can Be Done About Teen Substance Abuse?
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Tobacco Information for Teens by Provides basic consumer health information for teens on tobacco use, addiction, and related diseases, along with tips for quitting smoking. Includes index and resource information.
Publication Date: 2010-08-27
Underage Drinking by Explores the problem of underage drinking, signs to watch for, and how to deal with the problem.
Publication Date: 2007-12-14
About Drugs and Addiction
A list of resources compiled from the CDC, White House, SAMHSA, and NIDA about drugs, substance abuse, addiction, and communities at risk.
Internet Addiction Test
A self-administered likert-scale test created by Dr. Kimberly Young of the Center for Internet Addiction, designed to measure Internet use in terms of mild, moderate, to severe levels of addiction.
NIDA for Teens
Created for middle and high school students and their teachers, this website provides accurate and timely information for use in and out of the classroom.
SAMHSA – Substance Use
Get the facts on common substance use disorders such as those related to alcohol, tobacco, cannabis (marijuana), stimulants, hallucinogens, and opioids.
Treatment and Recovery
Provides information, tools and resources that make working a 12 Step program (or any program using 12 step principles for recovery) as simple and straightforward as possible.
DSAMH Treatment Options
A comprehensive list of treatment options provided by the Delaware Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, including Crisis Intervention Treatment Services, Inpatient Treatment Services, and Comprehensive Behavioral Health Clinics.
Faces & Voices
Committed to organizing and mobilizing the millions of Americans in long-term recovery from alcohol and other drug addiction, our families, friends, and allies to speak with one voice.
From SAMHSA, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. A behavioral health treatment services locator which neither collects nor keeps any personal information entered in the locator secure and anonymous.
NALGAP: The Association of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Addiction Professionals and Their Allies is a membership organization founded in 1979 and dedicated to the prevention and treatment of alcoholism, substance abuse, and other addictions in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer communities.
Recovery and Recovery Support
From SAMHSA, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Learn how recovery-oriented care and recovery support systems help people with mental and/or substance use disorders manage their conditions successfully.
Teen Rehab Centers
Aims to provide information for those suffering with substance abuse and behavioral addictions – either personally or through loved ones – and to connect those people with the treatment programs that can help them.
For Friends and Family
Drug Free Helpline
A toll-free national Helpline established to help parents whose children are abusing drugs or alcohol take effective action to support their loved one. Calls are free and confidential. Available in Spanish. Closed weekends and holidays.
The Delaware Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health's prevention page aims to reduce substance abuse and related problem behaviors by strengthening children, families and communities through prevention and early intervention training, education and services.
Guide to the Drug-Prevention Movement
A list of drug prevention organzations complied by National Families in Action, a nonprofit organization dedicated to providing a basic understanding of the science that underlies drug abuse and addiction and to educating the public about the impact of addictive drugs on the brain and behavior.
Kit for Parents
Articles and tips from the American Academy of Pediatrics for parents interested in preparing their children to refuse offers of alcohol and other drugs, as well as addressing what to do if that time has passed.
Teen Drug Abuse
Provides information from the Addiction Centerfor parents and caregivers about teen drug abuse and experimentation, including best practices, treatment options, and statistics. Also offers a 24/7 confidential helpline.