Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the Catalog
100 Questions You'd Never Ask Your Parents by Teens have questions about sex. This simple manual answers their questions--honestly, simply, and reliably. What does an orgasm feel like? Does masturbating have any long-term negative effects? Does alcohol kill brain cells? Teens have questions about sex; it's a matter of who they ask and how reliable the answers are. Collected directly from teens and presented in a simple and accessible Q&A format, 100 QUESTIONS YOU'D NEVER ASK YOUR PARENTS provides information about sex, drug, body, and mood in a way that's honest, nonjudgmental, and responsible.
Publication Date: 2013-08-27
Being a Teen by This thorough, concise guide offers straight talk about: nbsp; * The male and female body as it changes and matures. * Teen relationships: what it takes to create happy, supportive, positive, and meaningful connections with family, friends, and others. * Identity empowerment: how to be authentic and thrive in today's world. * Sex and sexuality for boys and girls: how teens should take care of their bodies, embrace their experiences, and strengthen self-esteem. * Strategies for working through the toughest challenges, including bullying, sexual abuse, eating disorders, pregnancy, and more. nbsp;
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Body Double by Body Double features fictional narratives paired with firsthand advice from a licensed psychologist to help preteen and teen boys feel prepared for physical changes during adolescence. A table of contents, additional resources, a glossary, and an index are included. A Guy's Guide is a series in Essential Library, an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
The Boys Body Book: Fifth Edition by The updated fifth edition of the #1 bestselling Boy's Body Book includes everything you need to know about growing up, even the embarrassing stuff. Things can get rocky during puberty. That's why we made the Boy's Body Book. The updated fifth edition of this #1 bestselling book made just for boys contains everything you need to know about growing up, even the embarrassing stuff; it also includes topical issues like school safety and consent. Author and nurse Kelli Dunham covers everything from body changes to planning for college, giving pre-teen boys the answers they need to prepare for puberty and beyond.
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Frequently Asked Questions about Puberty by This book defines puberty, describes the physical changes of puberty for both boys and girls, and discusses a healthful diet and exercise for adolescents.
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Girling Up by Mayim Bialik, star of The Big Bang Theory, puts her Ph.D. to work as she talks to teens about the science of growing up and getting ahead. A must-have book for all teenage girls. Growing up as a girl in today's world is no easy task. Juggling family, friends, romantic relationships, social interests and school...sometimes it feels like you might need to be a superhero to get through it all! But really, all you need is little information. Want to know why your stomach does a flip-flop when you run into your crush in the hallway? Or how the food you put in your body now will affect you in the future? What about the best ways to stop freaking out about your next math test? Using scientific facts, personal anecdotes, and wisdom gained from the world around us, Mayim Bialik, the star of The Big Bang Theory, shares what she has learned from her life and her many years studying neuroscience to tell you how you grow from a girl to a woman biologically, psychologically and sociologically. And as an added bonus, Girling Up is chock-full of charts, graphs and illustrations -- all designed in a soft gray to set them apart from the main text and make them easy to find and read. Want to be strong? Want to be smart? Want to be spectacular? You can! Start by reading this book. Praise for Girling Up: "Bialik is encouraging without being preachy . . . many teens will be drawn to this engaging and useful book." --Booklist "Ultimately, the author stresses that "Girling Up" does not end with adulthood--it is a lifelong journey. Thanks to Bialik, readers have a road map to make this trip memorable." --School Library Journal
Publication Date: 2017-05-09
Girls and Sex by NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The author of the New York Times bestseller Cinderella Ate My Daughter offers a clear-eyed picture of the new sexual landscape girls face in the post-princess stage—high school through college—and reveals how they are negotiating it. A generation gap has emerged between parents and their girls. Even in this age of helicopter parenting, the mothers and fathers of tomorrow’s women have little idea what their daughters are up to sexually or how they feel about it. Drawing on in-depth interviews with over seventy young women and a wide range of psychologists, academics, and experts, renowned journalist Peggy Orenstein goes where most others fear to tread, pulling back the curtain on the hidden truths, hard lessons, and important possibilities of girls’ sex lives in the modern world. While the media has focused—often to sensational effect—on the rise of casual sex and the prevalence of rape on campus, in Girls and Sex Peggy Orenstein brings much more to the table. She examines the ways in which porn and all its sexual myths have seeped into young people’s lives; what it means to be the “the perfect slut” and why many girls scorn virginity; the complicated terrain of hookup culture and the unfortunate realities surrounding assault. In Orenstein’s hands these issues are never reduced to simplistic “truths;” rather, her powerful reporting opens up a dialogue on a potent, often silent, subtext of American life today—giving readers comprehensive and in-depth information with which to understand, and navigate, this complicated new world.
Publication Date: 2016-03-29
The Girls Body Book: Fifth Edition by The updated fifth edition of the #1 bestselling Girl's Body Book includes everything you need to know about growing up, even the embarrassing stuff. From periods to peer pressure, puberty can be a confusing time for pre-teens and parents alike. The newly updated fifth edition of the Girl's Body Book helps prepare girls and their parents for the ups and downs of puberty, middle school, and everything in between, including topical issues like school safety and #MeToo. Covering body changes, personal hygiene, self-confidence, and leadership, the Girl's Body Book helps prepare girls for puberty and beyond.
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Will Puberty Last My Whole Life? by This book contains informative, honest, and reassuring answers to questions that preadolescents have about puberty--from friendships and feelings, to pimples, babies, body hair, menstruation, bras, and much more. Straightforward, age-appropriate answers are provided by an experienced nurse-and-physician team who have been giving seminars to preteens and their parents throughout the Pacific Northwest and Bay Area for more than 25 years. Each question in the book has been asked by kids during their classes (many of them frequently). This new edition also contains updated language throughout and additional questions and answers regarding sex, sexuality, consent, and gender identity and norms. The book is also filled with lighthearted and often humorous full-color illustrations throughout.
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
It's Perfectly Normal by The definitive book about puberty and sexual health for today’s kids and teens, now fully updated for its twentieth anniversary. For two decades, this universally acclaimed book on sexuality has been the most trusted and accessible resource for kids, parents, teachers, librarians, and anyone else who cares about the well-being of tweens and teens. Now, in honor of its anniversary, It’s Perfectly Normal has been updated with current and correct information on subjects such as safe and savvy Internet use, gender identity, emergency contraception, and more. Providing accurate and up-to-date answers to nearly every imaginable question, from conception and puberty to birth control and STDs, It’s Perfectly Normal offers young people the information they need — now more than ever — to make responsible decisions and stay healthy.
Publication Date: 2014-08-08
The New Puberty by What happens when a girl has the brain of an 8-year-old and the body of a 13-year-old? A sea change is underway among many of today's girls: They are developing faster and entering puberty earlier than ever before. Just a generation ago, fewer than 5 percent of girls started puberty before the age of 8; today that percentage has more than doubled. Early puberty is not just a matter of physical transformation—it's deeply psychological too, with effects that can put a girl at higher risk for behavioral problems as well as long-term health challenges such as obesity, depression,eating disorders, and even cancer. Why is this happening, and what does it mean for our girls' futures? What can we do to help lead them through this major transition to live happy and healthy lives? In their groundbreaking book,The New Puberty, Louise Greenspan, MD, and Julianna Deardorff, PhD—two leading experts on the root causes and potential consequences of early puberty in girls—have written a reassuring and empowering guide that will forever change the way we view puberty and parent the next generation. Drawing on original cutting-edge research and years of clinical experience, Drs. Greenspan and Deardorff explain why girls are developing earlier and identify both established and surprising triggers—from excess body fat and hormone-mimicking chemicals to emotional stressors in a girl's home and family life. They offer highly practical strategies that can help prevent and manage early puberty, including how to limit exposures to certain ingredients in personal care and household products,which foods to eat and which to avoid, and ways to improve a child's sleep routine to promote healthy biology. Moreover, the authors—both mothers of young girls—offer parents, teachers, coaches, and caretakers guidance to initiate and continue the conversation about puberty in an age-appropriate way in order to support girls as they navigate this complex stage of their lives. Impeccably researched, engaging, and urgently needed,The New Puberty provides a roadmap to help young girls move forward with confidence, ensuring their future well-being.
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Size Matters by In Size Matters, Dr. Harry Fisch, an expert on the male reproductive system, and writer Kara Baskin team up to introduce you, metaphorically speaking, to the penis. Clearing up mysteries about male anatomy, orgasm, masturbation, STDs, testosterone, impotence, sexual response, and much more, Size Matters is the first women’s user manual for male sexuality—a guidebook that will answer all your questions and lead you to a better sex life. Size Matters is a fun, prescriptive, easy-to-understand troubleshooting guide for women who have questions about male sexuality or who want to have better sex. You might not always understand what’s going on in his mind, but now you can know what’s going on in his pants.
Publication Date: 2008-07-15
BAM! Body and Mind
A resource for young teenagers from the CDC covering many topics relating to adolescence, including puberty, safety, illness, and life issues.
Information for teens from Nemours about delayed puberty, its causes, what doctors can do about it, and dealing with it.
Health information for teens, especially girls, about changing bodies, birth control, sex, and taking care of your health. Provided by the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.
Information from the University of Michigan about early onset puberty, its identification and impact on those who experience it, as well as resources and links to more information.
The Office of Adolescent Health provides basic, no-nonsense facts about the physical changes which occur in both sexes during puberty.
A site written by teen volunteers for GovTeen.com dedicated to providing a place on the web for adolescents and teens to ask questions and get honest and open answers about puberty.
A brief overview of puberty published by Answer, a national organization that provides and promotes unfettered access to comprehensive sexuality education for young people.
Nemours offers a comprehensive guide to the facts about sexual health with articles about puberty, menstruation, infections, and just about everything else you wanted to know, for guys and girls.
WebMD’s teen health page, divided into different sections for young men and women, presenting the same quality information expected from WebMD users.
Dating & Sex
A guide for parents about how to provide their teens with information about sex, sexuality, dating, and love, as well as giving “the Talk” and more. Provided by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
Information and updates from the American Academy of Pediatrics on a wide variety of adolescence-related topics, including recent research publications, parenting tips, and more. Also available in Spanish.
KidsHealth for Parents
Nemours offers a comprehensive guide to child health, behavior, and development from birth through the teen years, free of “doctor speak.”
A “one-stop” source of news, information, and advice on parenting and family life from University of Illinois Extension. Provides feature articles with research based information, video clips, news and commentary, newsletters, and recommendations.
Positive Parenting Tips
Tips for parents from the CDC, including milestones in children's lives from birth through the teenage years, health recommendations, and more.