Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the Catalog
Accident and Safety Information for Teens by Provides basic consumer health information for teens about health hazards, traumatic injuries, and emergency preparedness including facts about motor vehicle accidents, burns, poisoning, firearms, natural disasters, national security threats, and more.
Publication Date: 2008-12-02
Adolescent Health Source Book, 4th ed. by This print and online resource provides information about the growth and development of adolescents and issues which impact them as they move from childhood, through puberty, to adulthood.
Publication Date: 2017-12-29
Body Piercing and Tattoos by Body modification such as piercing and tattoos has become a mainstream way of expressing individuality or community. At some point, teen readers will be considering their own ideas about expression through body modification. This collection of essays will help readers make intelligent choices. They'll learn why people choose tattoos and body piercing. They'll learn about risks, such as ink-related infections. They'll learn about regrets and removing modifications later in life, and about how this expression impacts employment and job experiences. Essay sources include the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
Publication Date: 2015-03-05
Chronic Illnesses, Syndromes, and Rare Disorders by While medical conditions that affect large populations are familiar to most people, there are lesser-known afflictions that do not get attention simply due to the fewer number of those affected. Literature and online resources about these conditions are not only limited but primarily aimed at adults. Consequently, teens who are susceptible to these disorders are often unable to find information that speaks directly to them, which can prove both frustrating and discouraging. In Chronic Illnesses, Syndromes, and Rare Disorders: The Ultimate Teen Guide, Marlene Targ Brill looks at conditions that affect thousands of young adults. Though not quite as common as other medical issues, these afflictions are no less threatening to teens who want to know more. Chapters in this book address .Celiac disease .Crohn's disease .Down syndrome .Hemophilia .Melanoma .Multiple sclerosis .Phenylketonuria .Sickle cell disease .Tourette syndrome In addition to providing specific information about each of these conditions, this book also offers general advice to teens who face medical challenges in general. An invaluable resource for young adults and their families, Chronic Illnesses, Syndromes, and Rare Disorders: The Ultimate Teen Guide offers hope to the many thousands of people looking for answers."
Publication Date: 2016-08-04
How Do Cell Phones Affect Health? by Cell phones have become indispensable for many people, but some experts say that heavy cell phone use is harmful to physical, social, and psychological well-being. This book examines various topics related to the ways in which cell phones can impact health, including whether cell phones can cause cancer or interfere with medical devices and how texting while driving can threaten lives.
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
I Have a Food Allergy, Now What? by According to the World Allergy Organization, between 220 and 520 million people across the globe suffer with food allergies. Many foods can elicit an allergy, so this book introduces several of the most predominant triggers--including wheat--their effects, and some surprising places where they might be lurking. It covers treatments and preventive measures, which should help readers who are dealing with an allergy or who want to understand what a friend or family member is going through. Food allergies can be daunting, but this book helps readers know what to expect and take control.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Keeping Healthy by These FAQs introduce the issues and concerns teenagers have about keeping healthy in an unhealthy world. The book has a magazine style, and an advice column format. Teenagers ask questions, and practical advice is offered. Feature boxes, entitled "It happened to me", provide examples from teenagers' personal experience. Where relevant, "Health Warning" boxes are included containing information about health risks associated with the topic.
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Living with Asthma by This is an insightful guide for teens with asthma. Asthma is a chronic life-threatening lung disease that affects nearly 5 million teens, causing episodes of wheezing, coughing, and breathing difficulty. It affects about 1 or 2 teens out of 10, and is the most common reason teens miss school in this country.""Living with Asthma"" is a straightforward guide offering authoritative information on coping and living with the disease. This accessible book features dramatized, real-life examples that allow readers to fully grasp the impact asthma can have on everyday living. Appendixes contain such useful information as organizations, support groups, online resources, and further reading.
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Diabetes by Diabetes can affect anyone from children to teens, and even to Olympic athletes, and famous performers. This informative book will answer questions about diabetes: what it is and what it does to the body, how glucose and insulin work, why not every diabetic has to inject insulin, how a healthy diet and exercise can help people avoid Type 2 diabetes, and how amazing advances in treatment may someday make insulin injections a thing of the past.
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Owner's Manual for Teens by We’ll talk to you about the biological changes that are happening in your brain and your body. We’ll show you how to get more energy, improve your grades, protect your skin, salvage more sleep, get fit, eat well, maximize your relationships, make decisions about sex, and so much more. In fact, in these pages, we answer hundreds of your most pressing health-related questions. And you know what else? We are going to treat you like adults in one very important way: We’re not going to preach. We’re going to give you straight-up information that you can use to make smart choices about how to live the good life—and enjoy every second of it. Starting right now.
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Skin Health Information for Teens by Health Tips about Dermatological Concerns and Skin Cancer Risks Including Facts about Acne, Warts, Allergies, and Other Conditions and Lifestyle Choices, Such as Tanning, Tattooing, and Piercing, That Affect the Skin, Nails, Scalp, and Hair
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Vaccines by This title examines the current issues surrounding vaccinations, such as the benefits and risks of vaccinations, the growing anti-vaccination movement, and the efficacy of vaccines for HPV and HIV.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Living a Healthy Lifestyle by
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
A healthy lifestyle entails not just the absence of disease but a physical and psychological state that keeps each person feeling fit and well and able to bounce back quickly from illness or injury. It is a general state of wellbeing and one that for teens can have a major lifelong impact. Real-world examples, relevant facts, and fully documented quotes from teens and experts bring concepts to life.
The Pride Guide by
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
The Pride Guide is an indispensable resource written explicitly for the almost 10 percent of teenagers who identify as gay, lesbian, bisexual, trans, or any of the unique identities that are not heterosexual/cisgender. It explores sex, dating, relationships, puberty, and both physical and online safety. The issue today is not whether or not queer youth will get sex education; the issue is how and where they will gather information and whether or not the information they gather will be applicable, reliable, or exploitative. Equipping teens and their families with knowledge and self-confidence, this book provides the best protection against the unfortunate backlash that is sometimes encountered by those who grow up queer. Book jacket.
Delaware Adolescent Health Facts
Factsheets from the Office of Adolescent Health based on federal data for adolescents in Delaware, covering reproductive health, mental health, physical health & nutrition, substance abuse, and healthy relationships.
Diabetes in Children and Teens
Information from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases about diabetes, including information for teens, parents, and health care professionals.
Food Allergy Research & Education
An organization that works on behalf of Americans with food allergies, including those at risk for life-threatening anaphylaxis. Its mission is to improve the quality of life and the health of individuals with food allergies.
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
The National Library of Medicine’s MedlinePlus provides an overview of the specific health concerns that affect gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender individuals beyond the usual concerns that affect most men and women. On thisp age you’ll find information about these specific health issues.
Getting Covered Under 30
Information about the Affordable Care Act (ObamaCare) for potential subscribers under the age of thirty, from HealthCare.gov. Some areas may require the creation of a HealthCare.gov account.
Guide to Good Posture
Good posture is about more than standing up straight so you can look your best. It is an important part of your long-term health. Making sure that you hold your body the right way, whether you are moving or still, can prevent pain, injuries, and other health problems.
A government website where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.
Factsheets from the Office of Adolescent Health based on federal data for adolescents in Delaware, covering reproductive health, mental health, physical health & nutrition, substance abuse, and healthy relationships. Also available in Spanish.
How to Understand Your Lab Results
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's MedlinePlus provides an overview of what a lab test is, how it is used, what results mean, and factors that can affect results.
The National Institutes of Health’s web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in understandable language.
Solve the Outbreak
In this fun, interactive app you get to try your hand at becoming a Disease Detective. You’ll travel the world chasing outbreaks like the ones real-life CDC Disease Detectives help fight.
A write up on the National Library of Medicine's MedlinePlus site offering a summary of the health impact of tanning as well as recent news on the subject, research, resources, and clinical trials.
Tattoos and Permanent Makeup
An information sheet from the Food and Drug Administration Office of Women’s Health about tattoos and permanent makeup, covering types of tattoos, risks, and removal.
Teen Health and Wellness
Provides middle and high school students with up-to-date, nonjudgmental, straightforward curricular, and self-help support. Articles are correlated to state, national, and provincial standards. Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, LGBTQ issues, and more.
A safe, private place for teens who need honest, accurate information and advice about health, emotions, and life, run by the nonprofit Nemours Center for Children’s Health Media. All content is regularly reviewed by a team of pediatricians and other medical experts.
Young Adults and Skin Cancer
A press release from the CDC addressing the prevalence of high-risk behaviors for skin cancer among young adults. Includes findings and recommended steps for protecting yourself from ultraviolet light that could lead to skin cancer.
Adolescent Health Library
The US Office of Adolescent Health has identified a number of federal adolescent health resources, including tips, fact sheets, and other publications on healthy relationships, mental health, physical health and nutrition, positive youth development, reproductive health, and substance abuse.
America's Children in Brief
The 2019 report from ChildStats.gov on the well-being of children and families in the United States. This is a comprehensive report covering demographics, family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
Information and updates from the American Academy of Pediatrics on a wide variety of adolescence-related topics, including recent research publications, parenting tips, and more. Also available in Spanish.
HPV Vaccine for Preteens and Teens
Information from the CDC regarding the necessity of the HPV vaccine and further information about the vaccine’s coverage and side effects, as well as information about finding financial aid in paying for vaccination and links to several HPV fact sheets.
If Your Child Wants Contact Lenses
Consumer information from the US Food and Drug Administration about the pros and cons of wearing contact lenses and safety tips to consider.
Immunization Schedules for Preteens and Teens
The CDC recommended immunizations schedules list the age or age range when each vaccine or series of shots is recommended. If your teen or preteen has missed any shots, check with a doctor about getting back on track.
Keeping Your Teen Focused on the Road
A reminder to parents about the dangers of distracted teen driving and the examples set for teens by their parents when it comes to distracted driving.