Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the Catalog
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Sexually Transmitted Diseases by An invaluable tool for the differential diagnosis of STDs, this atlas features one to two color photographs for each disorder and accompanie s those with the salient points of epdemiology, clinical signs, physic al exam, diagnosis and management. Therapy is expanded in this editio n and new photographs are provided for HIV, AIDS, opportunistic infect ions, and more.
Publication Date: 2000-12-11
How Can Teen Pregnancy Be Reduced? by The In Controversy series examines the complex, controversial issues of the day by breaking them into smaller pieces. By studying a specific issue, for example the ethics of embryonic stem cell research, rather than the entire stem cell research debate, students gain a more solid and focused understanding of a topic as a whole. Each book in the series provides a clear, insightful discussion of the issues, integrating facts and a variety of contrasting opinions for a solid, balanced perspective. Personal accounts and direct quotes from academic and professional experts, advocacy groups, politicians, and other enhance the narrative. Sidebars add depth to the discussion by expanding on important ideas and events. For quick reference, a list of key facts concludes every chapter. Source notes, an annotated organizations list, bibliography, and index provide student researchers with additional tools for papers and class discussion. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
I'm Pregnant, Now What? by Provides information on teenage pregnancy, including health risks and procedures, the fundamentals of childbirth, alternatives to raising the baby, and coping with friends and family members.
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Pregnancy and Parenting by More than 900,000 teenage girls face pregnancies each year. Almost all of these pregnancies are unplanned, leaving teen moms and dads unprepared for the emotional, physical, and psychological journey ahead of them. What most parents find as a memorable and positive change in their lives, teens and their families often see as catastrophic and devastating. In Pregnancy and Parenting: The Ultimate Teen Guide, Jessica Akin guides teens through the unique issues and struggles of a life-changing event that can be overwhelming even for a fully mature adult. Once a teen decides what course to take between parenting, adoption, or abortion she must deal with the consequences of her decision, often alone, but sometimes with the father-to-be and other family members. Topics covered in this book include .breaking the news .choosing the next step .dealing with judgments and criticism .coping with loss .co-parenting .finishing school .life beyond the baby This book is filled with stories from teen mothers and fathers who faced their unplanned pregnancy head on. Written without bias or judgement, Pregnancy and Parenting: The Ultimate Teen Guide emphasizes and encourages teens to empower themselves with knowledge and make the best choices and decisions for their individual futures."
Publication Date: 2016-06-09
Pregnancy Information for Teens by Comprehensive information on teen pregnancy, including the associated risks for mother and child. Includes information about prenatal care, nutrition, fetal development, labor and delivery, and issues that must be addressed after the child is born, as well as facts about abortion and adoption. Also includes directories of relevant resources.
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
You Do You by Teen sex. STIs. Sexting. Rape. Sexual harassment. #MeToo and #YesAllWomen. Today's teens launch into their sexual lives facing challenging issues but with little if any formalized learning about sex and human reproduction. Many of them get their sex ed from online porn. Through this authoritative, inclusive, and teen-friendly overview, readers learn the basics about sex, sexuality, human reproduction and development, birth control, gender identity, healthy communication, dating, relationships and break ups, the importance of consent, safety, body positivity and healthy lifestyles, media myths, and more. Advice-column-style Q&As and real-life stories add human drama and authenticity.
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
Sexuality and Teens by Sexual attitudes and behaviors changed a great deal over the last half century. Today's teens are faced with information, images, and messages that can be confusing and overwhelming. In Sexuality and Teens: What You Should Know About Sex, Abstinence, Birth Control, Pregnancy, and STDs, author Stephen Feinstein covers these complex and sometimes controversial topics in a way that will help readers understand and make informed choices. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Sexually Transmitted Infections by Myth...or truth? Only people who have sex with many partners get sexually transmitted infections (STIs). If I always use a condom, I can't catch an STI. Using two condoms is even safer than one. Oral sex is safe without a condom. If I don't have any symptoms, I don't have an STI. Do you know if these statements are true or false? Are you certain? Don't be too embarrassed to find out about STIs. These infections are avoidable-and most are treatable. This book will give you the information you need to make good decisions-and stay safe. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Everything You Need to Know about Birth Control by Navigating the world of birth control can be overwhelming. Many teens don't know where to turn for factual information without judgment. This book lays out the facts about the many forms of birth control, including condoms, the Pill, IUDs, abstinence, and more. It includes vital information about the effectiveness of the various methods and tips on how to maximize their effectiveness. Readers will also learn about the history of birth control and the politics surrounding it. This insightful resource provides readers of all genders with the knowledge they need to make smart, informed choices about their bodies and their lives.
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Teenagers, HIV, and AIDS by In this volume, experts who work with HIV/AIDS-infected teenagers examine the psychological and social fallout compounding the frightening medical issues faced by adolescents who've received the diagnosis. Readers share the challenge with teens as they face the stigma of HIV/AIDS and the tough decisions about who to tell of their infection and when to do it. We learn the hard truth about health care, self care, and new treatment options for affected teens. And we read about the heartbreaking end-of-life care issues for dying adolescents. Perhaps most important, the authors offer resources teens and their families can turn to for information and support. And they explain what family, friends, teachers, and other professionals can do to help infected teens maximize their mental health and their quality of life.
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Teen Pregnancy by This title examines how teen pregnancy affects individuals and society around the globe, investigates how people are working to educate and support teens, and analyzes the controversies and conflicting viewpoints surrounding the issue. Features include a glossary, selected bibliography, websites, source notes, and an index, plus a timeline and essential facts. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Adolescent Resource Center
A comprehensive counseling, education, and medical service program by Children and Families First DE, to help reduce risk-taking behaviors, especially related to sexual health. Aims to help teenagers and young adults create and sustain healthy, responsible attitudes, behaviors, and choices about their sexuality.
Supports those with HIV/AIDS in Delaware and works to prevent the spread of HIC through comprehensive services, education, and advocacy.
An interactive online map using data from the CDC to illustrate the prevalence of HIV in the United States. Offers critical resources as well as the ability filter maps by various demographic data.
Delaware HIV Consortium
Statewide non-profit organization established to ensure that quality, non-duplicative HIV treatment and prevention services are available throughout Delaware.
STD Free Clinics in Delaware
Information about free Delaware STD clinics
HIV Prevention Program
It is the mission of Delaware’s HIV Prevention Program to provide statewide management, education, and training for the prevention and treatment of HIV/AIDS.
A website to assist people who have STDs/STIs in telling partners they may have been exposed, finding clinics and information about specific STDs and how they can be treated or cured.
Sexually Transmitted Disease Program
It is the mission of Delaware's Sexually Transmitted Disease Program to provide statewide management, education, and training for the prevention and treatment of sexually transmitted diseases.
STD Free Clinics
Source for locating clinics that offer free or low cost STD testing throughout the USA and many other parts of the world. They also provide current information on STD symptoms and treatment as well as real life STD photos.
Winder Laird Porter State Service Center
Currently offers client services administered by Delaware Health and Social Services, including a sexually transmitted diseases clinic, birth control and pregnancy testing, HIV counseling and testing, and an HIV wellness clinic.
Safe Sex Resources
Be Your Own Baby
Be Your Own Baby is a privately funded project by Upstream USA, a nonprofit organization working to ensure all women have easy and free access to the full range of contraceptive methods as part of Delaware Contraceptive Access Now. This site helps Delaware women find access to free contraception, regardless of insurance status.
Birth Control FAQ
A PDF frequently asked question sheet from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists about birth control.
Health care, family planning, and STD services as well as resources for pregnant and parenting teens from the Office of Adolescent Health
One of the nation’s leading providers of high-quality, affordable health care for women, men, and young people, and the nation’s largest provider of sex education.
A comprehensive range of federal resources on adolescent reproductive health compiled by the Office of Adolescent Health, including general resources, contraceptive and condom use, STDs, and teen pregnancy and parenting.
Offers teens and parents a wide variety of information about teen health, including information on safe sex, pregnancy, LGBTQ, drugs and alcohol, and body image for guys and girls.
Safer Sex for Trans Bodies
A comprehensive sexual health guide from the HRC Foundation for transgender and gender expansive people and their partners. Written for and by members of the transgender community, offers a resource on potential life-saving and affirming practices, from respectful terminology and definitions to helpful practices for sexual health following transition-related care.
Sexual Activity and Contraceptive Use Among Teenagers in the United States, 2011-2015
A National Health Statistics Report from the CDC representing national estimates of sexual activity and contraceptive use among males and females aged 15-19 in the United States in 2011-2015, based on data from the National Survey of Family Growth.
Sexual Activity and Contraceptive Use Among Teenagers in the United States, 2015–2017
A National Health Statistics Report from the CDC representing national estimates of sexual activity and contraceptive use among males and females aged 15-19 in the United States in 2015-2017, based on data from the National Survey of Family Growth.
A guide designed by the CDC for teenagers to educate them on the importance and practice of safe sex habits. Includes resources for parents and guardians as well as social media tools.