Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are in immediate danger, call 9-1-1.
In the Catalog
Are Social Networking Sites Harmful? by *Greenhaven Press's At Issue series provides a wide range of opinions on individual social issues. *Enhancing critical thinking skills, each At Issue volume is an excellent research tool to help readers understand current social issues and prepare reports. *Extensive bibliographies and annotated lists of relevant organizations point to sources for further research.
Publication Date: 2014-10-23
Blogging and Tweeting Without Getting Sued by What you post on a blog or tweet to your followers can get you arrested or cost you a lot of money in legal battles. This practical guide shows you how to stay out of trouble when you write online.
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Bullied Kids Speak Out by True stories from New York Times bestselling author Jodee Blanco's tours Have you ever felt alone, as if no one understands what you're going through, and that no matter how hard you try, you're scared things may never get better? Do you wish your classmates would give you a break? I felt that way often in school. I was bullied and excluded for the same reason maybe you or someone you know has been--simply for being different. There were days when all I wanted was to stay in my room. Back then, I would have given almost anything to meet the kids you're going to meet here. Autumn dreaded recess. Joshua was afraid to trust anyone at home or at school. Taylor had lots of friends until her BFF turned them all against her. Gabe's online gaming world was turned upside down when other players started humiliating him. A teacher was bullying Brianna. Eric's Asperger's made him the butt of cruel jokes. The cool crowd beat up Tiffany and videotaped it for YouTube. Zach got punched and stomped on because of his weight. Trinity felt invisible. Aamina was harassed because of her family's religious beliefs. Riley had to live with the soul-crushing weight of mental illness as well as the other students who jeered at her plight. These are some of the brave teens who will be talking to you in this book. They--and others they inspired--found the courage to stand up to their bullies and reclaim their lives, and you'll hear exactly how they did it. You're not alone anymore.
Publication Date: 2015-01-13
Dear Bully by Don't miss this excellent catalyst for one-on-one and classroom discussion Today's top authors for teens and young people come together to share their stories about bullying--as bystanders, as victims, and as the bullies themselves--in this moving and deeply personal collection. Lauren Oliver, R. L. Stine, Ellen Hopkins, Carolyn Mackler, Kiersten White, Mo Willems, Jon Scieszka, Lauren Kate, and many more contributed 70 heartfelt and empathetic stories from each corner of the schoolyard. In addition, Dear Bully includes resources for teens, educators, and parents, and suggestions for further reading. For those working to support social and emotional learning and anti-bullying programs, Dear Bully can help foster reflection and empathy.
Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Fast Girls by "The American high school is a tribal place - and often a cruel one. Divisions are drawn between jocks, cheerleaders, nerds, drama geeks, goths. But there is one person who exists outside of the cliques, who is never welcomed into any group. She is the girl with the reputation, the one boys are drawn to and other girls avoid. Many people remember her from their high school days - some can even recall her name - but few have thought about her significance: Why is she such a universal figure? Has she done the things of which she is accused? How is her reputation created in the first place? She is the high school slut, and Fast Girls explores her experience and her legacy." "In this fusion of reportage, criticism, and memoir, Emily White provides an in-depth look at the girls who were labeled high school sluts and the culture that perpetuates the myth."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Publication Date: 2002-03-05
How to Survive Mean Girls by Dealing with mean girls, cliques, and other obstacles on the social scene is one of the minefields of adolescence for girls. This title provides the advice and support girls need for weathering changing friendships, handling feeling like an outsider, and making new and healthy friendships as they grow. A variety of issues, including bullying and cyberbullying, are sympathetically and practically treated. Diary entries, flowchart quizzes, and hip photos will draw in reluctant readers and many others.
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
Living with Peer Pressure and Bullying by There are many different forms of peer pressure, including hurtful comments, being influenced by others to buy material items, or feeling pressured to behave in a certain way or engage in a particular activity. Bullying is different from peer pressure because there is a direct threat of physical or emotional harm for not doing something, which is repeated over time by the same person. With an emphasis on situations that are common among teens, Living with Peer Pressure and Bullying examines the nature of these two common behaviors, the effects they have, and how teens can combat them. Chapters cover the coercive power of peer pressure, the risks and rewards of telling the truth, cyberbullying, and helping others cope with bullying. This helpful guide provides a wealth of practical information in clear, straightforward language.
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Mass Shootings by The Thinking Critically series introduces students to the complex issues that dominate public discourse and challenges them to become discerning readers, to think independently, and to engage and develop their skills as critical thinkers. Chapters are organized in a pro/con format, in which a single author synthesizes the predominant arguments for and against an issue into clear, accessible discussions supported by details and evidence including relevant facts, direct quotes, current examples, and statistical illustrations. All volumes include focus questions to guide students as they read each pro/con discussion, a list of key facts, source notes, and an annotated list of related organizations and websites for conducting further research. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Online Bullying by Describes online bullying and the law, how to identify it, how to prevent it, and how to document it.
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Racism and Prejudice by Racism and Prejudice teaches tweens and teens about diversity and acceptance without badgering or insulting their intelligence. This clearly-written book deals with delicate, sensitive issues and answers questions such as: Is it ever okay to hate or discriminate against a person because of their race, gender, ability, or sexual orientation? Obviously it is never okay, and this book provides coping and resistance tools to those who have experienced racism and prejudice, and advice on how to examine and stop hateful behavior to those who have perpetrated acts of prejudice. Quotes from people who have fought prejudice make the topic "real." Stories from people who have experienced prejudice and people who have displayed prejudice both shed light on this difficult issue
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Thinking Critically by More than one-third of the world's population now uses social networking, which is having a huge impact on the way people think, communicate, and interact. Through a narrative-driven pro/con format¿supported by facts, quotes, anecdotes, and full-color illustrations¿this title examines issues related to social networking. Topics include: Does Social Networking Benefit Society? Does Social Networking Weaken People¿s Social Skills? Is Social Networking Harming Young Adults? Does Social Networking Facilitate Crime and Violence?
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Social Bullying by Social bullying involves hurting someone's reputation or relationships. Also called relational bullying, it includes acts such as social exclusion, spreading rumors, and embarrassing a person in public. It also includes nonverbal acts such as staring, pointing, and making gestures. This revealing title examines why social bullying occurs and provides effective strategies to confront it
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
The Survival Guide to Bullying by The Survival Guide to Bullying covers everything from cyber bullying to how to deal with fear and how to create the life you dream of having. From inspiring "roems" (rap poems), survival tips, personal stories, and quick quizzes, this book will light the way to a brighter future. This updated edition also features new, never-before-seen content including a chapter about how to talk to parents, an epilogue, and an exclusive Q&A with the author.
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
Teen Cyberbullying Investigated by How do teens know when they might be "one click away from the clink"? In Teen Cyberbullying Investigated, Judge Tom Jacobs presents a powerful collection of landmark court cases involving teens and charges of cyberbullying, which includes: sending insulting or threatening emails, text, or instant messages directly to someone; spreading hateful comments about someone through emails, blogs, or chat rooms; stealing passwords and sending out threatening messages using a false identity; and building a Web site to target specific people. Each chapter features the seminal case and resulting decision, asks readers whether they agree with the decision, and urges them to think about how the decision affects their lives. Chapters also include related cases, important facts and statistics, and suggestions for further reading. With an ever-increasing number of serious cases of cyberbullying and school violence, this book is needed more urgently than ever.
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
Words Wound by Teens everywhere deal with cyberbullying - whether they are targeted themselves, have bullied others, or simply know it happens around them. This book speaks directly to those teens about what they can do to prevent and respond to cyberbullying. It provides them with numerous peer anecdotes and strategies they can use to make their schools, and communities, places where cyberbullying simply doesn't happen.
Publication Date: 2013-12-03
A website dedicated to providing both qualitative and quantitative data about bullying statistics, bullying help and facts, and the effects of bullying.
The 74, a non-profit, non-partisan news site covering education in America.
DEletebullying.com provided information, helpful tools and useful links about bullying prevention in Delaware for teens, parents and educators. Resources were created to help teens and their families talk about bullying and how to handle it.
As of September 2017, Prevent Child Abuse Delaware has given this important information a permanent home, and incorporated the use of these materials into their mission of providing resources and training to make sure every child has a safe and nurturing childhood, free of abuse and neglect.
It Gets Better
The It Gets Better Project’s mission is to communicate to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender youth around the world that it gets better, and to create and inspire the changes needed to make it better for them.
PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center answers some of the most frequently asked questions about bullying.
To anonymously report an incident of bullying use the Delaware Attorney General’s School Crime and Bullying Hotline: 1-800-220-5414
A federal government website managed by the US Department of Health & Human Services designed to provide information from various government agencies on what bullying is, what cyberbullying is, who is at risk, and how you can prevent and respond to bullying.
Teens Against Bullying
A website created for and by teens where middle and high school students can find ways to address bullying, take action, be heard, and own an important social cause.
Youth Truth Student Survey
The results of an anonymous online survey conducted in nearly 80,000 US public schools grades 5-12 directly asking students about their experiences with school climate and culture, including bullying.
Are You a Cyberbully?
StopCyberbullying.org offers teens a quick points-based test to determine whether their online and texting behavior falls into the category of cyberbullying.
StopBullying.gov offers information on why cyberbullying is different from traditional bullying, what you can do to prevent it, and how you can report it when it happens.
Cyberbullying Research Center
A website dedicated to providing up-to-date information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents.
National Crime Prevention Council
Resources, training, information, and training about cyberbullying from the National Crime Prevention Council for teens, parents, and educators. Also links to sections on general bullying.
Fact sheets and information guides for teens on a wide variety of technological and social media topics from sexting and cellphone safety to cyberbullying prevention and personal publishing advice. Provided by the Cyberbullying Research Center.
Gang Violence Prevention
The National Crime Prevention Council’s resources for gang violence prevention, including fact sheets, tips, and bulletins.
Home and Neighborhood Safety
Information and printable brochures from the National Crime Prevention Council.
School Bully Prevention
Bullying is frequently noted as an example of disrespectful and aggressive behavior. The majority of bullying and harmful behavior happens in order to get attention, praise, or social status from by-standers, peers, or even the victim. An effective social culture has a formal process for limiting the social rewards available for bullying, and harmful behavior. We call this bullying prevention. From the U.S. Department of Education
Statistics on Bullying and School Shootings
A report for SchoolShooters.info delving into the statistics on bullying and school shootings and examining whether there is a connection between bullying and school shootings.
Stopping School Violence
National Crime Prevention Council detailing things students can do to stop school violence.
Thresholds of Violence
A piece written by Malcolm Gladwell for The New Yorker in 2015 about how school shootings catch on, citing specific examples of the evolution of school shootings in the modern era.
Teen Violence Statistics
A website dedicated to educating the public on teenage violence issues such as gang violence, school shootings, school bullying, anger issues, date rape, and more. Offers information on how to seek therapy or treatment for teens and families.
Tolerance in Schools
From the National Crime Prevention Council.