Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you are experiencing a medical emergency, have taken an overdose, or have harmed yourself in any way
DIAL 9-1-1 IMMEDIATELY!
In the Catalog
Anger and Anger Management by Everyone gets angry, but some are able to handle their anger in healthier, more constructive ways than others. How do they do it? This expert-reviewed book in the Teen Mental Health series offers young readers valuable guidance in dealing with anger, stress, frustration, and failed expectations.
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
The Anxiety Survival Guide for Teens by Do you have problems with anxiety? The Anxious Teen Survival Guide is a much-needed, go-to guide to help you finally break free from the worry and ruminations that can get in the way of reaching your goals. If you have anxiety, your fears and worries can keep you from feeling confident and independent. Teen milestones such as making friends, dating, getting good grades, or taking on more mature responsibilities, may seem much more difficult. And if you're like countless other anxious teens, you may even avoid situations that cause you anxiety altogether--leaving you stuck in a cycle of worry and avoidance. So, how can you take control of your anxiety before it takes control of you? Based in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) and acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), this book helps you identify your monkey mind --the primitive part of the brain where anxious thoughts arise. You'll also be able to determine if you suffer from generalized anxiety, phobias, social anxiety, panic and agoraphobia, obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), or separation anxiety. Full of powerful yet simple cartoon illustrations, this book will teach you practical strategies for handling even the toughest situations that previously caused you to feel anxious or worried. If you're ready to feel more independent, more confident, and be your best, this unique book will show you how.
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
ASMR by BRAND NEW TOPIC AND TITLE IN ONE COLOURASMR stands for Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response, and it's a relaxed, tingling feeling that many people report having as a response to particular stimuli, such as close personal attention, tapping or whispering. Although its experiencers say they have been aware of the sensation all their lives, it has only recently come together as a public phenomenon thanks to YouTube, where ASMRtists now post thousands of videos that simulate the ASMR experience and help viewers fall asleep when no other remedies work. The ASMR community is generous and connected, and often viewers will become content producers themselves in an effort to give back to those who have helped them. In this book readers get- -- A clear explanation of what ASMR is, its benefits, and how to experience it. -- The most recent theories and evidence as to why and how ASMR works, and how it's connected to other established methods of relaxation. -- Extensive exploration of the various ASMR trigger types. -- Tips for discovering the triggers that work for each individual and ways of finding and adapting to new ones. -- What to do when one becomes desensitised to their favourite artist or trigger type. -- Exclusive interviews with the top ASMR artists from all over the world, discussing their strange celebrity and their own ASMR experiences. -- How-to content on creating ASMR videos, including equipment, props, script writing, editing and uploading. -- Online extras will include exclusive video content from one of the top ASMR artists.
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Chill by Feeling overwhelmed? This easy-to-follow guide to stress management is the perfect solution for teens in desperate need of downtime. With schedules packed full of obligations ranging from academic to athletic to social, today's teens know all too well the heavy toll that stress can take. And with the ever-present pull of technology, the idea of unplugging feels practically impossible. But there's a way to relax without sacrificing productivity, and Chill will show you how. Explore a variety of techniques-including time management, visualization, exercise, and other creative outlets-that can take away tension and help organize your life. From de-cluttering your desktop to declining unimportant invites, the info, insight, and tools offered in Chill will leave you with less stress, more happiness, and a blissfully balanced life. So take a deep breath, get ready to feel better, and Chill.
Publication Date: 2015-01-20
Meditation by According to a recent report by HiFX, the United States is the second most stress-ridden country in the world. This book can help. In a simple, step-by-step format, this book helps beginners increase focus and decrease stress through the art of meditation. You will learn what meditation is, why you get stressed out in the first place and how meditation can truly help calm your nerves. You will also learn the answers to common questions: How is meditation different from relaxation, concentration, and self-hypnosis? Which techniques are right for you? This book offers a natural way to ease stress, focus your mind and balance your life.
Publication Date: 2015-10-30
Don't Sweat the Small Stuff for Teens by Now the #1 bestselling author of the Don't Sweat the Small Stuff Series, Richard Carlson, Ph.D., offers teenagers simple, helpful wisdom for coping with everyday issues Anyone who thinks teens have it easy hasn't been to a high school recently. As the headlines remind us almost daily, America's teenagers deal with stress in just about every facet of their lives: academics, sports, social situations, family life, money matters, even work. Now Richard Carlson, author of the Don't Sweat series, with sales of 12 million copies, applies the same techniques to teens that have made his other books required reading for anyone coping with life's everyday challenges. In simple, straightforward language, Dr. Carlson addresses common teen concerns with chapters such as: "Make Peace with Your Mistakes," "Be Creative in Your Rebellion," "Be Okay with Your Bad Hair Day," "Turn Down the Drama Meter," and "Notice Your Parents Doing Things Right." As with his other Don't Sweat the Small Stuff titles, teens and their parents will find that Richard Carlson's positive approach helps to minimize the impact stressful situations have on their lives.
Publication Date: 2000-09-06
Living with Anxiety Disorders by Living with Anxiety Disorders features fictional narratives paired with firsthand advice from a medical expert to help preteens and teenagers feel prepared for dealing with anxiety disorders during adolescence. Topics include causes and risk factors, complications, tests and diagnosis, treatment methods, coping strategies, and giving and getting support. Throughout the book, Ask Yourself This questions encourage discussion. Features include a selected bibliography, further readings, Just the Facts summary of medical facts about anxiety disorders, Where to Turn summary of key advice that includes contact information for helpful organizations, a glossary, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Meditation by Meditation is a tool individuals can use to deepen their understanding of their body, mind, and spirits. This expert-reviewed book in Rosen's Teen Mental Health series answers questions about how meditation is practiced in its different styles and methods, affects on self-awareness, and health benefits.
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder by Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder strikes one in fifty adults. However, the disorder often remains untreated in young adults, despite advances in diagnostics. Though so many people suffer from OCD, very few seek professional help. Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder: The Ultimate Teen Guide helps teens understand OCD in greater detail. The guide explains different forms of OCD (checking, cleaning, scrupulosity) and related disorders (such as Obsessive-Compulsive Personality Disorder, Tourette's Syndrome, and Asperger's Disorder). Author Natalie Rompella voices many common concerns teens have when confronted with OCD, including how to deal with school, work, and friends. The book also discusses uncomfortable topics, such as obsessions with sexuality and other unwanted thoughts. The book features insights from teens who suffer from OCD, letting others know they are not alone. The book also encourages teens to seek help through treatment and provides details of different treatment options.
Publication Date: 2009-04-23
Out of Order by This is a manual for teens and young adults to help them understand mental illness and recovery. It covers such topics as mental illnesses, suicidal thoughts, personality disorders, learning problems, intellectual disabilities, treatment, and recovery. This book will help answer questions like: What is mental illness? What are the symptoms? Do you need help? How do you find the right kind of help? How can you take responsibility yourself for understanding and recovery. It discusses treatments, therapies, medications, support groups, and contains a disorders dictionary, resources for help, relevant websites, and an index.
Publication Date: 2014-01-13
Rage by The teen writers in Rage have plenty street violence, peer pressure, feeling powerless, and more. The writers give honest advice and talk about their anger management skills as they struggle to gain control of their emotions and stop hurting others - and themselves.
Publication Date: 2012-07-16
The Shyness and Social Anxiety Workbook for Teens by Wouldn’t it be nice if you could just flick a switch and make your shyness go away? No more worrying about what others think about you, no more embarrassment in front of other people. You could just relax and feel comfortable and confident, the way you probably think everyone else feels. If you struggle with shyness, you’re all too familiar with the feeling of not knowing what to do or say, and you’ll do anything to avoid feeling that way. But, most likely, you also know that you’re missing out on a lot--friendships, potential relationships, and fun. You’ve chosen this book because you’re ready to stop hiding behind your shyness and start enjoying everything life has to offer. The worksheets and exercises in The Shyness and Social Anxiety Workbook for Teens will help you learn to handle awkward social situations with grace and confidence, so you can make real connections with people you want to get to know. Based in proven-effective cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), the skills you learn will also help you speak up for yourself when you need to and stop dreading class projects that put you on the spot. Actually, there’s no aspect of your life that this workbook won’t help. So why let shyness rule your life one day longer? Let this workbook guide the way to a more confident, outgoing you.
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Stress-Related Disorders Sourcebook by Provides basic consumer health information about the physical and mental health effects of stress and trauma, related therapies and stress management techniques, and coping tips for adults and children. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Publication Date: 2015-11-13
Stress 101 by Tests, rules, team tryouts, dating, injuries, illnesses, bullies--stress is with young adults every day. This highly readable book looks at the causes and consequences of stress, covering topics such as the health effects of stress, stresses specifically faced by teens, and practical advice on how to manage stress.
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
What You Must Think of Me by We've all felt occasional pangs of shyness and self-consciousness, but for the 15 million Americans with social anxiety disorder, the fear of being scrutinized and criticized can reach disabling proportions. Such was the case for Emily Ford, who shares her firsthand experiences in these pages.Emily's true story of fear, struggle, and ultimate triumph is sure to resonate with other socially anxious teenagers and young adults. Emily's frank, often witty, sometimes poignant account of how she negotiated all the obstacles of social anxiety--and eventually overcame them with the help of therapy and hard work--makes for compelling reading. Yet this book is more than just a memoir. Emily's story is coupled with the latestmedical and scientific information about the causes, diagnosis, treatment, and self-management of social anxiety disorder (or SAD). Readers will find a wealth of solid advice and genuine inspiration here. In engaging, accessible language--and with the help of psychiatrist Michael Liebowitz--shediscusses what is known and not known about social anxiety disorder in adolescents. She outlines the various psychotherapies available for those with SAD and explains how to seek professional help, how to talk to family and friends about the illness, and how to handle difficult social situations.The result is both an absorbing story and a useful guide that will help to ease the isolation caused by SAD, encouraging young people to believe that, with commitment and hard work, they can overcome this illness. Part of the Adolescent Mental Health Initiative series of books written specifically for teens and young adults, What You Must Think of Me will also be a valuable resource for friends and family of those with SAD. It offers much-needed hope to young people, helping them to overcome this illness andlead healthy, productive lives.
Publication Date: 2007-07-10
- Child Mental Health Crisis Hotline: 1-800-969-HELP (4357)
Delaware Guidance Services offers Child Priority Response Services which include a 24-hour crisis hotline, community and school crisis intervention, and short term crisis stabilization.
- Christiana Care Psychiatric Crisis Hotline: 1-800-273-TALK (8255)
Psychiatric Crisis Team is a group of specially trained registered nurses who are available 24 hours a day for emergency response. The team offers immediate intervention for those in crisis because of psychiatric illness.
- Crisis Intervention Services, Northern Delaware: 1-800-652-2929
Crisis Intervention Services, Southern Delaware: 1-800-345-6785
Crisis Intervention Service staff are available 24 hours a day to assist people, 18 years and older, with severe personal, family, or marital problems, including depression, major life changes, anxiety, feelings of hopelessness, thoughts of suicide, delusions, paranoia, and substance abuse.
- Crisis Text Line: 741741
A US not-for-profit organization providing free crisis intervention via SMS message, available 24 hours a day, every day, throughout the US.
- National Hopeline Network: 1-800-442-HOPE (4673)
People across the nation can access crisis center services 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-TALK (8255)
Text: 1-800-799-4TTY (4889)
Provides 24/7 free and confidential support for people in distress, prevention and crisis resource for you or your loved ones. Also available in Spanish and for the deaf and hard of hearing.
An overview of anxiety and anxiety disorders from Nemours’ TeensHealth page. Discusses various aspects of anxiety and includes links to related issues including Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder and Posttraumatic Stress Disorder. Available in Spanish.
Anxiety and Depression Association of America Resources
The Anxiety and Depression Association of America offers several podcasts and webinars to address some of the most frequently asked questions about psychological and pharmacological treatment of anxiety disorders, depression, and related disorders for adults as well as children.
The National Institute of Mental Health offers a comprehensive overview of several anxiety disorders, including generalized anxiety disorder, panic disorder, and social anxiety disorder, symptoms, risk factors, and treatment options. Also includes several informational brochures.
A brief information piece from Nemours’ TeensHealth page discussing everyday stress, difficult life situations, and serious stress. Includes helpful links to related topics. Also available in Spanish.
A factual overview of social phobia, or social anxiety, its effects and causes, and methods of treatment from Nemours’ TeensHealth page. Also available in Spanish.
Types, Diagnosis and Treatment [of Anxiety]
An article in the National Institutes of Health’s MedlinePlus magazine covering various treatment options for several of the major types of anxiety disorders.
Understanding Anxiety Disorder for Young Adults
SAMHSA provides an infographic on understanding anxiety disorder. It addresses anxiety disorder, treatment, and recover, as well as providing resource to learn more and find support.
Anger Management Worksheet
A worksheet from Therapist Aid intended for therapists to use as a guide in teaching clients new anger management techniques or remind them of skills they have learned in therapy. Also in Spanish.
Controlling Anger - Before It Controls You
Serious information guide from the American Psychological Association regarding the difference between normal anger and out of control anger, aimed at helping readers to understand and control their anger. Also in Spanish.
Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder
The National Institute of Mental Health offers a guide to disruptive mood dysregulation disorder in childhood and adolescence, including its definition, signs and symptoms, risk factors, and treatment options.
Strategies for Controlling Your Anger
Suggestions from the American Psychological Association on the importance of controlling anger as well as relaxation techniques such as cognitive restructuring, problem solving, communication, humor, environmental change, and the benefits of seeking professional help.
Cat Purring ASMR
A soothing YouTube video with over an hour of the sound of a cat purring. No talking.
Inner F*cking Peace: A Guided Meditation
Guided meditation with spoken positive affirmations to stop negative thinking and anxiety. Audio contains explicit language!
Paper Folding ASMR
A soothing YouTube video with over an hour of the sounds of paper moving and being folded, with a segment of felt pen writing at the end. No talking.
Relaxation Techniques for Health
An informative resource from the National Institutes of Health about a variety of relaxation techniques, their effectiveness in clinical studies and research, and further resources for more information.
Review of the Effects of Martial Arts Practice on Health
An article appearing in the Wisconsin Medical Journal (Woodward, Thomas. 2009. WMJ, vol. 108 (1) 40-43). It discusses the risks and benefits of practicing martial arts on one’s physical and mental health. Touches upon the aggression-lowering effects on young practitioners. The article is available through PubMed.