LibGuides: STEM (Science Technology Engineering Math): Research

Resources

Informal Science
A resource and online community for informal learning projects, research and evaluation.
WorldWideScience.org
A global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Science Daily
Latest research news.
National Science Foundation
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…"
Resources for STEM Education
Resources and findings generated through educational research and development projects funded in part by the National Science Foundation can help inform states and school systems that are developing strategies for improving K-12 STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education.
Research.gov
Led by the National Science Foundation (NSF), Research.gov improves customer service for the research community by increasing access to information and services while streamlining and standardizing business processes among partner agencies. Research.gov is also a transparent source for information about federal research spending and outcomes for the general public.
Science.gov
Includes over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
A to Z index of research topics, activities, programs, products, and services.
PubChem
From the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
PLOS - Public Library of Science
All material published by Public Library of Science, whether submitted to or created by PLOS, is published under an open access license that allows unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.
National Human Genome Research Institute
With the human genome sequence complete since April 2003, scientists around the world have access to a database that greatly facilitates and accelerates the pace of biomedical research.
AIP Scitation
Scitation is the online home of leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies
E-Print Network
A vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels.
MedlinePlus
Health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine.

Science into Art

A documentary, produced by the Hagley Museum and Library, chronicling the life of Dr. Wesley Memeger, Jr. Memeger, a long-time DuPont chemist at the Pioneering Research Laboratory. He played a crucial role in streamlining the production of Kevlar by discovering a faster polymerization process. Memeger holds fourteen patents for his discoveries. In addition, he is an accomplished artist, taking inspiration from the geometric shapes found in molecular compounds.