Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the Delaware Library Catalog
Addiction and Mood Disorders by Millions of individuals diagnosed with severe mental illness also suffer from an equally powerful substance use disorder. If you or someone you love has been diagnosed with dual disorders, this book can help. Addiction and Mood Disorders: A Guide for Clients and Families is designed primarily to educate individuals with dual disorders and their families about mood and addictive use disorders. It not only gives a message of hope, but also provides practical suggestions on ways to manage these disorders. The author provides guidelines and strategies for recovery from dual disorders based on, and adapted from various treatments that have proven effective for addiction, mood disorders, or both. This book is filled with case examples that show growth and positive change, as well as the difficulties many individuals struggling with a dual diagnosis face. Advocating a recovery model in which the affected individual takes responsibility for getting the most out of professional treatment and self-help programs, this book shows that being an active participant is the key to getting the most out of your recovery. This book is for use not only by those individuals who suffer from addiction and mental illness, but also by their family, friends, and other members of their support system. Professionals who work with these individuals will find this book to be a useful guide in their clinical work as well.
Publication Date: 2006-07-20
Girlfriend of Bill by Being in a new relationship is hard enough, but if the person you're dating is a recovering alcoholic or addict, there may be more to consider than just mutual interests and attraction. For Karen Nagy, dating a recovering alcoholic felt, in some ways, like she was seeing someone "from another planet”--with his own language, culture, and social behaviors. With humor, compassion, and a great respect for what it takes to recover from an addiction, this first-of-its-kind field guide offers an "inside scoop" on what people do in all those Twelve Step meetings, why they need a sponsor, what is a sponsor and why phrases like "Live and Let Live” and "Easy Does It” keep creeping into your conversations. Nagy offers twelve key points that you need to know about dating a person in recovery. She also helps you identify the warning signs of developing your own codependent tendencies by playing into your partner’s addictive thinking and behavior--and what to do about it. By gaining a greater understanding of your companion's recovery program, you can help them stay sober, learn how to deal with character flaws, and also build your confidence in the potential for a healthy, successful relationship.
Publication Date: 2014-04-22
It Takes a Family by Most books on recovery from addiction focus on either the addict or the family. While most alcoholics and addicts coming out of treatment have a recovery plan, families are often left to figure things out for themselves. In It Takes a Family, Debra Jay takes a fresh approach to the recovery process by making family members and friends part of the recovery team, beginning in the early stages of sobriety. Through straightforward, compassionate language, she outlines a structured model that shows families how to work collaboratively and as individuals to find an appropriate balance between personal responsibility and building a circle of support to meet the challenges common to the first year of recovery. Together, family members will address the challenges of enabling, denial, and pain, while developing their communication skills through practical, easy-to-follow strategies and exercises designed to create transparency and accountability. With this invaluable guide, family members work together as they reinvent their relationships without the all-consuming dysfunction of active addiction.
Publication Date: 2014-12-02
Parenting and Teen Drug Use by Teen drug use is a critical and timely health issue that deeply affects adolescent development in a number of important areas, including social, cognitive, and affective functioning, as well as long-term health and wellbeing. Trends indicate that drug use is starting at an earlier age, thepotency of several drugs is much stronger than in the past, and more new drugs are illegally being manufactured to provide faster, heightened effects. In addition, illegal use of prescription drugs and drug diversion or the sharing of prescription medication is also on the rise amongst teens. Parenting and Teen Drug Use provides comprehensive coverage of the most current research on youth drug use and prevention, carefully and meticulously presenting empirical evidence and theoretical arguments that underlie the mechanisms linking parental socialization and adolescent drug use. Writtenby leading experts, chapters examine the causes and consequences of drug use, the myriad ways to prevent it, and the latest findings from the prevention research community regarding what works, with a specific emphasis on parenting techniques that have shown the most promise for reducing orpreventing drug use in teens. Parenting and Teen Drug Use will provide valuable insight to a wide audience of clinicians, treatment providers, school counselors, prevention experts, social workers, physicians, substance abuse counselors, students, and those who work with youth on a day-to-day basis to influence positive youthadaptation.
Publication Date: 2014-01-31
Why Can't I Stop? by At some point in our lives, we all engage in behaviors that are risky, irrational, or unwise. We might find it exciting and temporarily rewarding to gamble on the lottery or impulsively buy an expensive gadget. But just as substances like alcohol and narcotics have the potential to become addictive, so do certain behaviors. A person addicted to gambling, shopping, the internet, food, or picking at their skin may suffer shame in the shadows while their behavior consumes time and energy and disrupts their life. Some people with behavioral addictions lose their family, job, savings, and home. With a physical basis in the brain, behavioral addictions are serious illnesses-but simply willing yourself to stop is usually not enough. Why Can't I Stop? is for anyone who has a behavioral addiction, as well as their supportive families and friends. Examining seven of the most common and serious addictions-gambling, sex, stealing, internet use, shopping and buying, hair pulling and skin picking, and food-the authors bring together cutting-edge research to describe behavioral addiction, its causes, and how it can be diagnosed and treated. Featuring patient stories of behavioral addiction and recovery, as well as information about treatment centers, this compassionate guide will help readers better understand the complicated issues surrounding these addictions and teach family members how to help the addicted person while helping themselves.
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
High by Just Say Know! With drug education for children more important than ever, this nonfiction book draws on the experiences of the NY Times bestselling father/son team of David and Nic Sheff to provide all the information teens and tweens need to know about drugs, alcohol, and addiction. From David Sheff, author ofBeautiful Boy (2008), and Nic Sheff, author ofTweak: Growing Up on Methamphetamines (2008), comes the ultimate resource for learning about the realities of drugs and alcohol for middle grade readers. This book tells it as it is, with testimonials from peers who have been there and families who have lived through the addiction of a loved one, along with the cold, hard facts about what drugs and alcohol do to our bodies. From how to navigate peer pressure to outlets for stress to the potential consequences for experimenting, Nic and David Sheff lay out the facts so that middle grade readers can educate themselves.
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Guide to the Drug-Prevention Movement
A list of drug prevention organzations complied by National Families in Action, a nonprofit organization dedicated to providing a basic understanding of the science that underlies drug abuse and addiction and to educating the public about the impact of addictive drugs on the brain and behavior.
The Delaware Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health's prevention page aims to reduce substance abuse and related problem behaviors by strengthening children, families and communities through prevention and early intervention training, education and services.
Kit for Parents
From the National Association for Children of Alcoholics
NIDA for Teens
Created for middle and high school students and their teachers, this website provides accurate and timely information for use in and out of the classroom.
National Association for Children of Alcoholics
A national nonprofit organization working on behalf of children of alcohol and drug dependent parents.
InterNational Association of Peer Supporters
A non-profit organization dedicated to growing the peer support movement worldwide. Includes free webinars, guidelines, and training manuals for peer support providers.
WHAM – Whole Health Action Management, peer support training
A training program and peer support group model developed by the SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions to encourage increased resiliency, wellness, and self-management of health and behavioral health among people with mental illnesses and substance abuse disorders.
Help is Here
From DE Division of Public Health. One-stop source of information about prevention, signs of addiction, treatment services, sober-living options, and community support. Includes information for teens.
The Delaware Council on Gambling Problems is a nonprofit health agency founded to provide programs and services for problem gamblers and their families. Provides Delaware 1-800-Helpline service as well as texting or online chat support.