Resources with an asterisk (*) are provided to DHSS employees by the DHSS Library. They are not accessible to the public.
|
I NEED: |
EXAMPLE: |
RESOURCES TO CONSIDER: |
| The definition for a medical term | What does akathisia mean? | |
|
Point-of-care resources or a practice guideline |
What’s the latest on the management of panic disorder? What’s the best method of pain control in children? |
|
|
Background information
|
What’s the difference between depression and bipolar disorder? I have a new patient with sickle cell anemia; I need an overview of this condition.
|
|
|
An answer to a narrower, focused clinical question
|
In a 70-year-old woman with primary insomnia and a previous adverse reaction to hypnotics, can cognitive behavior therapy improve sleep quality and duration?
In a toddler with croup, do glucocorticoids reduce symptoms better than standard supportive care? |
|
|
Drug information |
What is the pediatric dosage of erythromycin for strep throat? What drugs have been approved by the FDA for the treatment of Alzheimer’s? |
|
|
Evidence-based information about alternative therapies
|
Is melatonin safe and effective for treating insomnia?
Does music therapy help surgical patients heal faster?
|
|
|
Information to share with patients
|
Where can I find some nutrition information for my newly-diagnosed patient with diabetes? |
|
|
Print and eBooks |
Where do I find a book about culturally competent care? |
|
|
Clinical trials |
Where can I find clinical trials on occupational asthma? |
|
|
Healthcare administration, evaluation, or quality assurance resources |
What framework should I use to measure the quality-adjusted cost of care? What methods should I consider when measuring long-term systems change? Where can I read health policy briefs? |
|
|
Health information for pediatrics |
What is the association of labor induction with autism spectrum disorder? |
|
|
A calculator, rule, table, lab result, procedure, or test |
How can I calculate a patient’s diabetes risk score? Where can I find a decision tree to use for smoking cessation and intervention? |
|
|
Continuing education/professional development |
Where can I get free continuing education (CE) credits? Where can I take a free course on using Microsoft Office products? |
|
|
Systematic Reviews |
Where can I find a literature review that collects and critically analyzes multiple research studies on a topic? |
|
|
Recommended resources on a topic |
Where do I find websites, journals, books, etc. on a topic? |
|
|
Tutorials on using databases and search strategies |
Where do I find information on how to navigate the library's databases? |
|
***NOTE: Our electronic resources are available 24/7.***
Access our databases and journal collections using the TDNet Discovery Search box below or individually through the links on the Databases tab. Resources may only be accessed by DHSS employees.
Each database has hundreds of journals available in their collections.
Use this tool from TDNet to search ALL of the library's journals and eBooks in one place.
Please do not use the search box at the top right section of the page. It will not give you any results as this is a private guide.
Don't forget to Limit to Full Text on your search results to only see materials available to you via the library's subscriptions or open access journals.
If you experience problems using the electronic resources in Internet Explorer, try again using Chrome or another browser.
The DHSS Library is a member of the Delaware Library Catalog. All books owned by the DHSS Library can be checked out by any Delaware Library cardholder.
You can check out the books at the DHSS Library or have them sent to your local public library by placing a hold on the item and choosing the public library as your pick up location.
You can also send public library books to the DHSS Library and check them out there while you're on campus.
DHSS Library Book Collections
SELECTED GUIDES
Cultural Competence for Health Care
Designing Flyers and Presentations*
Disaster Planning and Recovery Nutrition*
Resources for Nurses*
Resources for Social Service Professionals*
*Guides with DHSS Library resources
Watch this brief video for general tips and tricks to make the most out of the DHSS Library's resources.
OpenAthens will allow you to access DHSS Library resources when you're not at a DHSS site or using a VPN.
Contact the library to sign up for a free account.
Once you have an account, just log in to https://my.openathens.net and access databases, journal articles, and eBooks without needing to use any other passwords.
If you are already on a database, look for a button saying, “Access through OpenAthens,” “Institutional Access,” or something similar. Clicking on that button will allow you to log in to OpenAthens and access the item.
OpenAthens accounts from the DHSS Library are limited to DHSS employees.
If you are unable to access a specific resource, please contact the library for assistance:
We can request almost any article from our many partner libraries.
