A library’s collection of materials is never static. Collection development librarians not only select and deselect materials for the collection, but also develop and implement policies and procedures and ensure that staff are trained on their proper execution. Collection development staff:
The Competency Index for the Library Field includes Collection Development/Management on pages 16-18.
Collection Development/Management was identified as a CORE training need in the Training Needs Assessment. It ranked #10 out of 51 self-identified urgent training needs. It also ranked #10 out of 60 topics staff would like training in. 42% (55) of respondents indicated they would like training at the Beginner level, 25% (33) would like training at the Intermediate level, and 32% (42) would like training at the Advanced level.
ABLE Collection Development Sequence (Idaho Commission for Libraries)
Practical training in how to perform collection development activities in public libraries, including helpful Internet sites, lists of books and articles for further reading, and definitions of key terms. Intended primarily for library staff working in small and rural public libraries.
A 4-week course that addresses the basic components of collection development and management.
Annotated bibliography of resources.
Professional tips, including general guidelines and resources and sample collection development policies.
Collection Management Section, ALCTS/Association of Library Collections & Technical Services, ALA
Supports library professionals who perform collection management and development while selecting and evaluating all types of library materials in all types of institutions.