Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Delaware Legislature : Delaware General Assembly

Resources on: Laws, Bills, General Assembly, Government etc.


The Senate consists of 21 members who represent their respective districts in Delaware.

The Lieutenant Governor presides over the Senate as the President. A President Pro Tempore is elected by resolution and presides over the Senate in case of the absence of the President and will appoint members to all standing committees and assign said legislation to said committees.

Senators are usually elected to 4 year terms except when there has been reapportionment or redistricting, when some may be elected to 2 year terms.


Every ten years (on years ending in 2), the districts are redrawn to reflect any changes shown in the U.S. Census, to ensure everyone receives representation.


The House of Representatives consists of 41 members, who are elected to two year terms to represent their district in Delaware's General Assembly.

The Speaker of the House presides over the House. The Speaker is elected by resolution and will appoint members to standing committees and assign bills to said  committees.


Each General Assembly lasts for two years. The first year is known as the first leg, the second as the second leg.

The first day of a Legislative Session is the second Tuesday in January, they then meet on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays with breaks for budget hearings. Wednesday is typically when committee groups meet.

The last day of Session is always June 30th which goes into the early morning hours of July 1st.