Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ALA Fact Sheet 10
This fact sheet is a selective resource for libraries of all sizes and types. It contains information on organizations that can provide disaster assistance; disaster recovery resources available online; and a bibliography of print resources.
An extensive online resources is CoOL, Conservation OnLine: Resources for Conservation Professionals, which is operated by the Foundation of the American Institute for Conservation and is a full text library of conservation information, covering a wide spectrum of topics of interest to those involved with the conservation of library, archives and museum materials.
News & Updates
For Disaster Preparedness: Pack A Library Card?
In the wake of Hurricane Sandy, libraries in New York helped the storm's victims turn a new page. Librarians helped thousands of people fill out relief forms, connect to the Internet and make plans to rebuild. NPR.org August 12, 2013
Just In Time Disaster Training - Library
The purpose of this on-line video library is to provide a single, easy to search source in which individuals, agencies and organizations can access Just In Time Disaster Training videos. The videos found in this library cover disaster related mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery training for a wide variety areas.
Emergency Response/Disaster Assistance
The American Institute for Conservation - Collections Emergency Response Team (AIC-CERT)
For 24-hour assistance, call (202) 661-8068.
responds to the needs of cultural institutions during emergencies and disasters through coordinated efforts with first responders, state agencies, vendors and the public. Volunteers can provide advice and referrals by phone at the number above. Requests for onsite assistance will be forwarded by the volunteer to the AIC-CERT Coordinator and Project Director for response. Less urgent questions can also be answered by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
LYRASIS Preservation Services
A source for libraries, archives, and other cultural heritage organizations to obtain the services, information, and expert assistance they need to manage their physical and digital collections. Classes, local training, consulting, and information resources are all provided to help institutions address the long-term management of and access to collections being purchased, licensed, digitized, and created at local institutions.
Do you have a Collections Emergency? If so, please call 800.999.8558
Northeast Document Conservation Center Disaster Assistance
NEDCC staff members are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to provide telephone advice to institutions and individuals handling collection-related disasters. Information provided includes advice on drying wet collections and dealing with damage from fire, pests, and mold. This service does not normally include on-site assistance.
CALL (978) 470-1010
Delaware Disaster Assistance Team (DDAT)
DDAT has dedicated itself to its mission to “coordinate emergency preparedness planning, awareness, and disaster mitigation among the agencies, institutions, and repositories that create and manage the cultural heritage of Delaware.”
Delaware Emergency Management Agency (DEMA)
The Delaware Emergency Management Agency (DEMA) is the lead state agency for coordination of comprehensive emergency preparedness, training, response, recovery and mitigation services in order to save lives, protect Delaware's economic base and reduce the impact of emergencies.
Heritage Preservation is a mission-driven, independent, public policy organization dedicated to preserving the cultural, historic, and scientific heritage of the United States. By identifying risks, developing innovative programs, and providing broad public access to expert advice, Heritage Preservation assists the museums, libraries, archives, organizations, and individuals that care for our endangered heritage.
Ready is a national public service advertising (PSA) campaign designed to educate and empower Americans to prepare for and respond to emergencies including natural and man-made disasters. The goal of the campaign is to get the public involved and ultimately to increase the level of basic preparedness across the nation.
Disaster Information Management Research Center
The core purpose of the Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) is to develop and provide access to health information resources and technology for disaster preparedness, response, and recovery. Our intent is to connect people to quality disaster health information and foster a culture of community resiliency.
Libraries Are Essential After Disasters
Short trailer for the documentary-in-progress "Free for All: Inside the Public Library." April 2013.
Disaster response and planning for libraries by
Fire, water, mold, construction problems, power-outages-mishaps like these can not only bring library services to a grinding halt, but can also destroy collections and even endanger employees. Preparing for the unexpected is the foundation of a librarys best response. Expert Kahn comes to the rescue with this timely update of the best step-by-step, how-to guide for preparing and responding to all types of library disasters.
An Ounce of Prevention by
Publication Date: 2002-02-11
Fire, flood, earthquake, vandalism, a terrorist attack? the issues of safety measures, emergency response, and disaster recovery have now become an important part of the planning strategies for most organizations. For the information organization, such as a library, archives, or record center, this responsibility has taken on new dimensions with the proliferation of various forms of electronic media. The authors take the approach that disaster recovery planning must touch every department of an organization and that emergency response must be a carefully mapped strategy. This broad-based approach to "integrated disaster planning" explains each phase of disaster planning, with chapters covering prevention planning, protection planning, preparedness planning, response planning, and recovery planning. The authors consider collections, records, facilities, and systems and include a chapter on post-disaster planning as well. The authors also cover federal and local assistance programs and list other sources for financial assistance. Although the main thrust of the book is the protection of documents, human safety in case of disaster is stressed explicitly and implicitly throughout. Indispensable for every information organization.
Emergency Planning and Response for Libraries, Archives, and Museums by
Publication Date: 2012-09-20
Dadson draws on a decade of experience and award-winning training in this essential practical toolkit, enabling you to respond quickly and effectively to flood, fire and other emergencies. Expert advice is interwoven with cross-sectoral and international case studies drawn from high profile and smaller and medium-sized organizations offering a breadth of relevant experience and advice. Regardless of your time or cost constraints this text will outline exactly how to minimize risk, tackle real emergencies and ensure business continuity.
The Library Security and Safety Guide to Prevention, Planning, and Response by
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Libraries need to be open and inviting, yet safe for patrons, staff, and collections. How can you ensure your library is both accessible and secure? Security planning, part of disaster response and continuous operations planning, is the key to proactively addressing potential safety issues.Look over the shoulder of disaster expert Kahn as she walks through key safety and security issues step by step. This new book outlines hands-on plans to: identify potential security problems; put prevention strategies in place; create guidelines for libraries and staff in case something does happen; and, minimize risk, whether to building, collections, patrons, staff, or computers.Case studies, along with 20 checklists and 10 sample policies and forms, are the basis for organizing and evaluating security plans tailored to your institution. Library administrators, building managers, special collections and preservation staff, IT managers, and facilities directors at libraries and cultural institutions of all sizes and types can easily adapt the tools. Follow these proven strategies to keep problems small and manageable, and know what to do "in case of emergency."