This is the "Home" page of the "Genealogy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genealogy  

Here you will find information to assist you in your search for family records. Browse the resources below or check your public library shelves in the following area: 929.1
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.de.us/genealogy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Genealogy

Delaware Resources

Local Genealogy Groups

Other LibGuides on Related Topics

 

Where to find Ancestry.com

Several libraries and organizations in Delaware subscribe to organizational or library versions of Ancestry.com.  This version of Ancestry.com must be used in-person, at the library.  Free and open to the public. 
 
Sussex County
  • Bridgeville Public Library
  • Lewes Public Library
  • Rehoboth Beach Public Library
  • South Coastal Library
Kent County 
  • Delaware Public Archives
  • Smyrna Public Library
  • LDS Family History Center, Dover
New Castle County
  • Appoquinimink Community Library
  • Bear Library
  • Brandywine Hundred Library
  • Claymont Library
  • Corbit-Calloway Memorial Library
  • Delaware City Library
  • Elsmere Library
  • Garfield Park Community Activity Center
  • Hockessin Library
  • Kirkwood Library
  • New Castle Public Library
  • Newark Free Library
  • Woodlawn Library
  • LDS Family History Center, Newark
  • LDS Family History Center, Wilmington

Start Here

  • FamilySearch
    Largest genealogy organization in the world. Search from the free databases of over 1 billion names, as well as digitized images of birth, marriage, death, census, church, military, immigration and other records. Create a family tree, add photos, and access 24/7 phone support. Census records are free, some census images are not available on FamilySearch.
  • United States Census (1790-1930)
    The Internet Archive has a complete set of the available U.S. Census back to the first one in 1790 available for download. Free.
  • Finding Census Images
    When images are not available in Familysearch.org, free images can be accessed from home via the Internet Archive. Steve Morse has created a free way to easily find the images in the Internet Archive. http://www.stevemorse.org/census/freesearch.html

Research & Resources

  • Olive Tree Genealogy
    More than 1,500 free ships passenger lists. These lists have been transcribed for Olive Tree Genealogy visitors. Browse our immigrant ships passenger lists at the Ships Passenger Lists Section. Search for immigrant passengers on ships list by country of arrival, by state of arrival, or by ethnic group and find your family tree. Free.
  • Internet Archive Genealogy
    Resources include books on surname origins, vital statistics, parish records, census records, passenger lists of vessels, and other historical and biographical documents.
  • National Archives Resources for Genealogists
    Topic guides, links, tips and tools for where to start research.
  • RootsWeb
    Free genealogy community that uses online forums, mailing lists, and other resources to help people research their family history.
  • Ellis Island/Port of New York Records
    Searchable database and copies of passenger manifests of ships arriving at Ellis Island from 1892 through 1924.
  • Serial Set
    The United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. Free.
  • Revolutionary War Pension Records and Bounty Land Warrants
    Guide with links via FamilySearch.org. Many Pension Rolls from the 1800's available free via New Horizons Genealogy.
  • Freedman's Bank Records, 1865-1874
    Name index and images of registers for 67,000 people who opened accounts in the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company. Available free via FamilySearch.org
  • 1940 Census
    Full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions.
  • Genealogy Guide at the University of Delaware
    Research guide including links, resources, how-to's, and more.

Individual Subscription Resources

  • Ancestry.com
    A subscription Website encompassing other sites like Genealogy.com and Fold3.com, contains over 6 billion digitized records, including census, military, immigration, land, and vital records.
  • Findmypast.com
    1.7 billion international family history records from the U.S., Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand and beyond with records going back to 1200. Now includes PERSI hhttp://search.findmypast.com/search/periodical-source-index
  • WorldVitalRecords
    A subscription site, contains over 4 billion names and thousands of genealogy databases
  • Global Alliance of Genealogy Professionals
    Listing of professionals in genealogy related fields who can: retrieve records, perform custom research, present a lecture to your group, or provide expert advice

News & Updates

 

New & Notable in the Catalog

Cover Art
Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques - George G. Morgan; Drew Smith
ISBN: 007181650X
Publication Date: 2013-08-20
Break through brick walls in your genealogical research Learn how to use innovative methods to unearth hard-to-find ancestors. Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques shows you, step by step, how to uncover elusive details by taking advantage of specialized tools and software programs and using proven best practices for breaking through the brick walls that have hindered your progress. You'll get professional advice on formulating a research strategy, understanding the details you discover, keeping careful track of your data, analyzing the evidence, and developing hypotheses. Real-world case studies demonstrate how you can apply the systematic procedures presented in this practical guide to your own research--and achieve success!

Cover Art
The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy - Kimberly Powell
ISBN: 9781440570681
Publication Date: 2014-01-08
Guides you through the process of finding your ancestors, helping you: Effectively search various websites Decipher census data and other online records; Choose the best way to share data with family members; Connect with other genealogists through social media. Packed with tips on using free databases, new websites, and a growing number of genealogy apps, The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy, 3rd Edition has everything you need to scour the Internet and find your ancestors, going back generations!

Cover Art
Mastering Online Genealogy - W. Daniel Quillen
ISBN: 9781593601898
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Mastering Online Genealogy covers the use of computers and the Internet to successfully do your own genealogical research. The book includes information on: genealogy databases-what they are, where they are, and how to use them; free genealogy websites: who they are, strengths and weaknesses; subscription services: who they are, what they cost; pitfalls to watch out for, pratfalls to avoid the value of message boards, blogs, etc.; and what kind of computer and software to buy.

Cover Art
Mastering Family, Library and Church Records 2nd Edition - Daniel Quillen W.
ISBN: 9781593601843
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
Helps genealogists locate, explore and extract the most relevant information from these records. Family records often supply genealogists with far more information than most individuals are aware. Sources such as family bibles, legal papers, letters, and even old photos can provide great data. Church records in particular are routinely overlooked but can provide a wealth of genealogical information, often extending family trees back-and forward-several generations.

Cover Art
The Troubleshooter's Guide to Do-It-Yourself Genealogy - W. Daniel Quillen
ISBN: 9781593601881
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
Tells readers how to overcome those difficult roadblocks that frequently crop up. Investigative techniques, research insights and new websites are highlighted to assist with more advanced genealogical research. Areas covered include in-depth census research; mortality schedules; extensive section on military records; US region-by-region research assistance; global research tips; and when to engage the services of a professional genealogist and what you can expect.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip