What do you geek? Here you will find resources for starting and growing a new business. Browse the resources below or check your library shelves in the following areas: 338; 658
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2013
A Delaware Library Card number and PIN are needed to access these resources.
Read newspapers, journals, electronic books and more on the topics of Starting a Business, Marketing, Business Plans, Market Research, Consumer Demographics, Venture Capital and more.
- Small Business Reference Center
"Provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books."
- Regional Business News
Full text of regional business and trade journals and newspapers.
- Wall Street Journal
Resources for starting and growing a new business.
- Business Source Complete
Provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
The following organizations partner with Delaware Libraries through the Community Resources Exchange to provide programs and services to Delaware's entrepreneurs.
- Incorporate in Delaware
From Delaware.gov, a comprehensive list of links to information on why and how to incorporate in Delaware including: incentives, taxes, and licensing.
- Entrepreneurial & Small Business Development
"The Delaware Economic Development Office (DEDO) is the primary point of contact for entrepreneurial and small business development in the State."
- Frequently Asked Questions
From the Delaware Division of Corporations.
- Delaware Small Business and Technology Development Center
"The Delaware Small Business and Technology Development Center exists to strengthen Delaware's economic base by providing quality services, such as, management assistance, education programs, and resources to Delaware's business community and potential entrepreneurs."
- Office of Minority & Women's Business Enterprise
"Our mission is to assist minority and/or women business enterprises in competing for the provision of commodities, services, and construction to State departments, agencies, authorities, school districts, higher education institutions and all businesses."
- Small Business Administration - DE District Office
"The Delaware District Office is responsible for the delivery of SBA's many programs and services to all counties in the state of Delaware."
- Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE) Delaware
"SCORE, the nation’s largest volunteer business counseling service, is a nonprofit association dedicated to helping America's small businesses.
- Entrepreneurship Program at Delaware Tech
"The Entrepreneurship Program will prepare you to transform your business ideas into commercial products and services. Designed by successful entrepreneurs, the associate degree or credit certificate program provide the tools needed to launch your business venture."
- Entrepreneurial Studies at the University of Delaware
"The Alfred Lerner College of Business and Economics is host to an interdisciplinary program in entrepreneurship.
Programs are offered at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and all programs involve experiential learning with the cooperation of our numerous business partners and supporting organizations."
- Delaware Center for Enterprise Development at DE State University
"The mission of the Delaware Center for Enterprise Development (DCED) is to educate current and prospective entrepreneurs and enterprise managers through training programs, technical and managerial assistance and by providing access to capital."
- YWCA - Delaware Center for Women's Entrepreneurship
"The YWCA’s Delaware Center for Women’s Entrepreneurship focuses on helping women start and grow their own business. We nurture the entrepreneurial spirit into action by offering dynamic coaching, inspiring workshops and access to essential business resources."
- Delaware Business Blog
"The Delaware Business Blog (DBB) is a free community resource dedicated to being an informative website for business related news and happenings in and around the State of Delaware."
- Junior Achievement of Delaware
"Junior Achievement programs help prepare young people for the real world by showing them how to generate wealth and effectively manage it, how to create jobs which make their communities more robust, and how to apply entrepreneurial thinking to the workplace."
- Delaware Financial Literacy Institute
In addition to The Money School, DFLI coordinates Bank At School, the Money Smart$ Conferences for Kids and Their Parents, Money Talk$ program, and From Purses to Portfolios: Delaware Women Take Charge of Their Money, targeting women's unique financial needs.
- Delaware State Chamber of Commerce
The Delaware State Chamber of Commerce is dedicated to promoting an economic climate that strengthens the competitiveness of Delaware businesses and benefits citizens of the state.
- Coalition of Organizations for Delaware Entrepreneurship
CODE is a coalition that directs the small business community and the public to resources, organizations and companies that can provide the information, skill development, knowledge and support needed for small business development.
- Video Tutorials
Series of videos for entrepreneurs on financial management.
This panel at the Governor's Entrepreneurial Business Conference features successful Delaware entrepreneurs who share their journeys to inspire entrepreneurship in Delaware.