What do you geek?

Comments (0)
Licensed Resources
A Delaware Library Card number and PIN are needed to access these resources.
Ask a Librarian
- Ask a Librarian DelawareAsk a Librarian Delaware is a FREE, 24/7 online information service.
Partners
The following organizations partner with Delaware Public Libraries through the Community Resources Exchange to provide information, programs and services.
Other LibGuides on a related topic
State of Delaware
- The Civil War in Delaware: The Sesquicentennial CommemorationThe theme of the State of Delaware's commemoration of the sesquicentennial anniversary of the Civil War is "Ensuring a More Perfect Union with Liberty and Justice for All." It will focus on life in Delaware during the War, and the contributions of individual Delawareans on both the battlefields and the home front.
DE Public Archives
Civil War Records at the Delaware Public Archives
- Civil War RecordsDigitized records related to Delaware's involvement in the American Civil War.
- Civil War Records
Delaware Division of Libraries
- Delaware Heritage CollectionDigitized records from the DE Heritage Collection relating to the Civil War
University of Delaware Library Digital Collections
- Letters and DiariesPersonal correspondence from Delawareans who served in the war on the side of the Union, which are outlined below on this page. It also contains the Personal diary of the Reverend Samuel Tupper, a relief worker for the U.S. Christian Commission, a Union relief organization during the Civil War. The diary includes the Commission's regulations.
- Autograph of Abraham Lincoln DocumentsThis small digital collection includes thirteen images of documents in the University of Delaware's Lincoln Collection that are either handwritten by Abraham Lincoln or contain his original signature. Hiighlights include the Emancipation Proclamation, the Thirteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution and documents related to Civil War veteran and Delaware native Ashland B. Swigget.
- Alexander Gardner Photgraphs of Lincoln ConspiratorsConsist of 10 photographs, most of them taken during the execution of four of the men who were involved in the plot to assassinate President Abraham Lincoln. Alexander Gardner worked for the well-known photographer, Matthew Brady, and is known for his photographs of President Abraham Lincoln, the American Civil War, and and the execution of Lincoln's conspirators. Gardner was the only photographer allowed to photograph the execution of these four conspirators on July 7, 1865.
- Pierce Family PapersWritten between 1833 and 1954, most of the forty-eight items provide an excellent portrait of military life for two brothers, George and Enos Pierce. The core of the collection is a group of letters written by George and Enos to their parents and siblings. Beginning in February 1862, following their arrival at Fernandina, Florida, as part of the 97th Regiment of the Pennsylvania Volunteers, the two brothers corrresponded until their deaths in 1864.
- Rosenthal Lithographic Prints of Civil War EncampmentsComprises 23 color lithographs printed by Rosenthal's Lith. of Philadelphia between 1861 and 1865.The views are a part of a large number of Civil War battle and camp scenes published by the company. Over one hundred and fifty views of specific battles and encampments were made from pencil drawings and hand-colored after printing. Although not signed, the images are credited to Max Rosenthal, who had a pass that gave him access to every camp of the Army of the Potomac.
Fort Delaware
- Fort Delaware During the Civil WarFrom DE State Parks. Information about what took place both during and as a result of the Civil War at Fort Delaware. Includes: Timeline; Camp trail; Garrisons stationed at the fort.
- Fort Delaware Civil War PrisonFort Delaware was completed in 1859 on the marshy island known as Pea Patch Island. This stout Union fortress constructed in the shape of a pentagon and covering approximately 6 acres was used as a prison for Confederate prisoners of war during the Civil War.


Loading...
