This is the "Home" page of the "Affordable Care Act" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This libguide can help consumers find information to understand the new health care options.
Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.de.us/aca Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Choose Health Delaware

Licensed Resources

Read newspapers, journals, and more on the topics of the Affordable Care Act, health care reform, health care marketplace, and more without leaving your computer.

  • Medline
    A Delaware Library Card number and PIN are needed to access this resource.
    Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    A Delaware Library Card number and PIN are needed to access this resource.
    Designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
  • Masterfile Premier
    Provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information.
  • Newspaper Source
    Newspaper Source Includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing nearly 31 million full-text articles.
  • Academic Search Complete
    A Delaware Library Card number and PIN are needed to access this resource.
    An exhaustive collection of scientific publications in a wide variety of disciplines.
  • Student Research Center
    A Delaware Library Card number and PIN are needed to access this resource.
    Makes it easy for students to search the EBSCO databases by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type – magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

Ask a Librarian Delaware

Partners

These organizations partner with Delaware Public Libraries through the Community Resources Exchange to provide information, programs, and services.

Other LibGuides On Related Topics

News & Updates

 

The YouToons Get Ready for Obamacare

Explains the basic changes in the way Americans will get health coverage and what it will cost starting in 2014, whether it's through their employer, Medicaid, Medicare, or buying insurance on their own with the help of federal tax credits.

Affordable Care Act Assistance

Attend an ACA presentation or get one-on-one assistance enrolling

Click here for a calendar of ACA programs in libraries

Presentations: Learn more about the Affordable Care Act and the different enrollment options. No registration needed

Enrollment Assistance: Receive one-on-one assistance in selecting options and enrolling in the Affordable Care Act. Registration preferred but not necessary.

Presentations and enrollment assistance are provided by certified Delaware Marketplace Guides.

 

      

    Delaware Resources

    • Choose Health Delaware
      Your official resource for finding out how the new healthcare reform law can benefit you as a Delaware resident or business owner.
    • Delaware Health Insurance Exchange
      A Health Insurance Exchange will be implemented in the State of Delaware as a central place to shop for health insurance. The exchange will create a central place for purchasing health insurance and will make the process of purchasing insurance easy to understand.

    Resources

    • Health Care Reform:Health Insurance & Affordable Care Act
      From WebMD. Includes: Learn the basics; Understand the costs; Know your state plan; Get ready.
    • Health Reform in Action
      From the White House, what the new health law means for you and your family.
    • Healthcare.gov
      When open enrollment starts on October 1, 2013, you’ll be able to use this site to apply, compare plans, and enroll.
    • Subsidy Calculator
      With this calculator, you can enter different income levels, ages, and family sizes to get an estimate of your eligibility for subsidies and how much you could spend on health insurance. As premiums and eligibility requirements may vary, contact your state’s Medicaid office or exchange with enrollment questions.
    • Affordable Care Act LibGuide
      LibGuide from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine.
    • Smart Choice Health Insurance Workbook
      This workbook offers definitions and worksheets to help you decide you the smart choice for your health insurance.

    Other Government Resources

    • Affordable Care Act
      From US Department of Labor
    • Affordable Care Act
      From Medicaid.gov
    • Affordable Care Act Tax Provisions
      From the Internal Revenue Service
    • Health Care Costs
      From Congressional Budget Office.
      Since its founding in 1974, the Congressional Budget Office (CBO) has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. The agency is strictly nonpartisan and conducts objective, impartial analysis, which is evident in each of the dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates that its economists and policy analysts produce each year.
    • Key Features of the Affordable Care Act
      Year by year overview of the features of the ACA.
    • The Affordable Care Act & Medicare
      Top 5 things to know about the Affordable Care Act (ACA) if you have Medicare.
    • The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act
      From GPO (Government Printing Office), HR 3590.
      Full text of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.
    • Health Care
      From Sen. Carper
    • Medline+
      The US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health provide this consumer-friendly ad-free site, which explains health issues simply and clearly.
     

    In the Catalog

    Cover Art
    Obamacare survival guide : the patient protection and affordable care act and how it affects you and your healthcare - Tate, Nicholas
    ISBN: 9780893348625
    Publication Date: 2013
    Provides an easy-to-read guide to the law and its implications for every American. The ObamaCare Survival Guide: The Affordable Care Act and What It Means for You and Your Healthcare is the first guide book to help Americans understand the intricacies of ObamaCare. It serves as a valuable resource for those currently insured, those who are not, and the tens of millions of seniors, youth, business people and others who will be affected by the new law.

    Cover Art
    Health care reform simplified : guide your family and your business through health care reform - Parks, Dave
    ISBN: 9781430236986
    Publication Date: 2013
    Health Care Reform Simplified describes the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010. It translates the law's complex language into terms that are easy to understand, explaining what the new law does, when its provisions take effect, and how to plan for individual, family, and business health coverage. This book outlines the financial impact of the law and how it affects businesses, insurers, hospitals, and doctors.

    Cover Art
    Introduction to U.S. health policy : the organization, financing, and delivery of health care in America - Barr, Donald A.
    ISBN: 9781421402178
    Publication Date: 2013
    Health care reform has dominated public discourse over the past several years, and the recent passage of the Affordable Care Act, rather than quell the rhetoric, has sparked even more debate. Donald A. Barr reviews the current structure of the American health care system, describing the historical and political contexts in which it developed and the core policy issues that continue to confront us today.

    Cover Art
    The new health care system : everything you need to know - Nather, David.
    ISBN: 9780312649340
    Publication Date: 2013
    Now that the health care reform bill has become the law of the land, millions of Americans will need help figuring out exactly how the new system will work and how it might affect their lives.
    This guide will teach people how the new health care exchanges are supposed to work. In an easy, conversational manner, David Nather makes a complicated system easier to understand by answering all your questions.

    Cover Art
    Landmark : the inside story of America's new health care law and what it means for us all - Washington Post Company
    ISBN: 9781586489342
    Publication Date: 2013
    Despite the rancorous, divisive, year-long debate in Washington, many Americans still don't understand what the historic overhaul of the health care system will - or won't - mean. In Landmark, the national reporting staff of The Washington Postpierces through the confusion, examining the new law's likely impact on us all: our families, doctors, hospitals, health care providers, insurers, and other parts of a health care system that has grown to occupy one-sixth of the U.S. economy.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip